We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living the dream at the Crax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Living the dream at the Crax”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I left Cape Town to stay at Salty Cracks for 3 days. I ended up staying there for 4 weeks. Tableview is a magnificent place with mesmerising views of Table Mountain. There is constant waves here for beginners to intermediate surfers as well as one of the best Kite boarding spots i have found. There are also many surf schools around to learn new things for cheaper than anywhere else i have found in the world. But at the end of the day, there is nothing like coming home to Salty's. The staff are all incredibly friendly and even showed us around some days on their time off. There are regular Braii's and always awesome people to meet. The Bar is a few steps away from the Dorms, where you wont be disturbed at night but close enough for a few drinks at night. And with tons of activities to do, you'll have a hard time not finding awesome stuff to do. The one problem i had with this place was the dish clothes in the Kitchen, but before i left they bought tons of new ones. Take my advice, come check out Salty's. Ill probably still be here. And tell Julian Canada sent ya ... he will buy you a Beer. happy travelling!

Room Tip: Make friends with Freddy, the long weiner dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaulk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
good to know you enjoyed your stay, safe travels

cheers
julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    29
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
14
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Howick
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Rooms clean, bathroom clean - service mediocre - not enough coffee mugs for everyone - would not cook in kitchen - dirty wash up cloths and drying towels - fridge in main kitchen stunk of old stale food - (we never used it so not worried) . Luckily lots of restuarants and entertainment nearby - so i would recommend it just for a place to sleep and wash up. Staff were friendly, need to give the place a little TLC. Definately not 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Dear Natalie

I am sorry to hear you where not 100% satisfied with your experience as this is what we strive for.
Some how the old dishcloths got mixed up with the new ones and us, as management overlooked this. We have removed them all from the premises to ensure this does not happen again.
The fridges are cleaned out weekly and there is mini fridges in all the private rooms that you can make use of. We do try our best to ensure that guests label their food and remove it from the communal fridge.
Thankyou for bring to our attention the coffee mugs and we have ordered lots more so we should not have this issues any time soon.
We hope to see you in the near future again.

Regards Julian Lello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I have never been made more welcome. Saltycrax is the perfect place to discover the Western Cape, and a short walk to the beach gives you a post card view of Table Mountain an Robben Island. As soon as we arrived we just felt at home. Staff were friendly, helpful and even took us out to some of the local pubs on their time off and introduced us to some of the locals. there is an abundance of activities to do in the area and the staff are more than willing to organize a shark cage dive, a trip to robben island or take people up the west coast to see some of the coastal villages and have a seafood BBQ. I don't make a habit of going to the same place again but I certainly look forward to going back to SaltyCrax again. Fond Memories and a trip never to forget.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_R_Raffiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
thanks for those kind words, we happy to know you enjoyed your time here

cheers
julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Fantastic people and a lovely vibe at the backpackers. Expended my stay because I felt at home!
The minus is that it is a long Way from City centre but Table View is a cozy place!
Good tours and cool arrangements with brie for new visitors.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjubada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltycrax B, Manager at SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
you always welcome back mate, safe travels

julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms are so nice, the bar is cool, the staff is incredibly nice and so helpfull. The location is perfect, with the beach as the nextdoor-neighbour (almost) and a safe city surrounding the backpackers. If you want to go to Cape Town, the staff shows you how to take the bus etc. and the bus is easy and cheap. It just gets very buisy ind rushhours, so try and take your trips at other times than 07 and 16.
If the weather is bad and you feel like staying in you can relax in the comfy couches with a disney-VHS. Or you can go down to the mall and go to the movies or shop arund.
For us it was a great great place to stay.
We only had two complaints: It took us four days to actually get our room cleaned, but that seemed to be just a small misunderstanding - and there was a very very annoying guy who stays here permenantly it seems.. But of course thats not the SaltyCraxs fault. So still a great place to stay...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SorenDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paternoster, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Saltys has become a mother hen to so many travelers, spending time with old friends or making new ones. Tanning on the green lawns or hanging out in the hammock under the palm tree listening to the doves sing or braaing in a neat little boma with friends around the fire. yes they even have a outdoor jacuzzi, on site bar for residents and inside braai for them rainy days.
The tv room has a huge selection of movies on video to set the perfect vegging stage, kitchen is fully equipped and clean to cook up a storm. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are super comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: any rooms good sorry great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peetbeachcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

A great place to meet other people when youre backpacking. The staff is really nice and they will make you feel like home. You can book some awesome trips and everything is perfectly organized. Definitely a good place to go!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneetjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Table View
0.3 mi away
Aquarius Luxury Suites
Aquarius Luxury Suites
#2 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
Bloubergstrand Sunset Lodge
#8 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
Dolphin Inn Guesthouse-Blouberg
#1 of 52 in Bloubergstrand
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Surf Shack
The Surf Shack
#1 of 1 in West Beach
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sir David Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Property: SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
Address: 20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Table View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Table View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 5 star accommodation situated close to the beautiful white beaches of Blouberg and the famous Kite beach. We provide affordable accommodation for tourists wanting to visit the Blaauwberg area and have an experience of a lifetime! Our facilities include a Jacuzzi, self catering kitchen, entertainment area etc. We are rolling distance from the beach, restaurants, bars, transport terminals etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge Cape Town, South Africa - Table View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing