We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best B and B stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmichael Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A wonderful, comfortable stay in a charming place. The beds were comfy, the room was spotlessly clean. the staff were friendly. the breakfasts were superb. Yves and Valerie are kind and considerate hosts. I was quite reluctant to leave! A perfect place to stay if visiting kids at UCT.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Lynda,
Dear Colin,

Thank you very much for such warm encouraging comments! I must says that it is always a real pleasure hosting such pleasant and considerate guests. Needless to say that we are looking forward to host you in the future.
Keep well and all the best.
Yves and Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Carmichael Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Carmichael Guesthouse is a home - a magnificent home hosted by a warm family. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast is wonderful and the neighborhood is easy by foot, mini-bus or taxi. The end of my day (during winter) included a toasty fire in my room's fireplace - how perfect is that! It's a quiet and relaxing way to visit the intense city of Cape Town. You'll be at the foot of UCT and around the corner from the Irma Stern Museum, former home of Stern and a site not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKReviewSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your kind comment. Valerie & I are pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and the fire in your room almost every evening.
Keep well and keep us posted!
Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We chose this Guesthouse for its location, a safe area near Cape Town and the Airport. Loved our roon, great decoration, pure luxury. Great having separate adjoining room for our teenagers. Breakfast was lovely and they made a special effort to have it ready early so we could leave in time to catch our flight. Yves very helpful sorting out our flight check-in. Perfect end to our stay in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Cathy,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write those valued comments. We are so proud of our guest house as we put all our hart and soul in here and that is why we value so much our guests comments.
We are glad you got to enjoy the space of one of our Family Suite. Shortly you will be able to enjoy a 360deg virtual tour of this room and of 5 others on our website. It will be uploaded soon. Let us know what you think of it.
Keep well and good luck for your first week back at work.
Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The very friendly, service minded and helpful hosts, Yves and Valerie, have created a place with luxurious rooms in an old house in Rosebank area. The breakfast is perfect and personally served by the hosts themselves and every morning Yves will give his recommendations to the plans you have for the day. They call for a cab when you need it, they book tickets for you over the internet, they check you in on your flight, you name it! There is a cozy and calm atmosphere and a sense of Yves an Valerie's sincere wish to do the best for their visitors. Very recommendable guest house!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lahajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Lars,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Valerie & I are alway sensitive to those.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it was only a pleasure for us to ensure it was a pleasant and relaxing holliday for both of you.
Keep well.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We visited Cape Town with another couple as we were making our way around South Africa. After a wonderful (rustic!) camping safari experience in Botswana, the elegant comfort of the Carmichael Guesthouse was truly special! Yves and Valerie are delightful hosts, the breakfasts are amazing and the entire atmosphere is incredibly welcoming. We hope to be able to return some day!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank margret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Margie,

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor comment. Valerie and I are always sensitive to our guests feedback. No need to say that we would be so glad should you come back and pay us another visit in the near future. There is so much to be seen in Cape Town!
Keep well. Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Valerie and Yves run a truly magnificent guesthouse. They own a beautiful place and have taken care of every detail to make your experience perfect. From the moment you step inside you feel at home. My husband and daughters stayed with them in the summer and enjoyed the the pool and the lovely gardens. My husband and I came back in the winter and enjoyed the coziness of their home. Between the two visits they arranged dinner reservations, a driver for a trip into the wine country, a good itinerary for visiting the sights in town and a lovely day to Cape Point. They are very helpful and friendly and very professional. They rooms are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The wide selections for breakfast are delicious and they are eager to accommodate your tastes and needs. You can't beat the location. They are situated on a quiet street just off of the main road so that you do not hear any noise, but you can drive to the center of town, the waterfront, Kirstenbosch, or be on your way to the surrounding coastal towns within a few minutes. It is an easy walk to a number of dining options near the University. We look forward to returning many times.

Room Tip: When my husband and daughters were there in the summer they had a room upstairs that had a lovely sl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleTNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Louise,
Valerie & I were glad to get to know you after Donald and your daughters had previously stayed with us. Well, since Donald is such a good guide, I hope we'll get to see you again for another visit to Africa!
Thank you so much for your rewarding comments and we'll make sure that we keep up with our standards to satisfy our valued clientele.
Keep well and we are already looking forward to host you again anytime soon!
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I had the pleasure of being hosted by yves and Valerie at Carmichael house and found their hospitality absolutely wonderful! From the beauty of the surroundings to the exquisite decor and the friendly and efficient service offered, I felt as if I was right at home! Thank you for everything!
Bernadette

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berniebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Bernadette,

Valerie and I would like to thank you for your kind comment. It has been a pleasure hosting you and we are hoping that we will get the opportunity to have you back sometime soon.
Keep well and all the best.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,056 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Cape Town, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing