We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmichael Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I spent eight days in September, 2012 visiting our daughter who was doing her semester study abroad at the University of Cape Town. We chose the Carmichael Guesthouse because of its proximity to her housing. We would choose the Carmichael again, and recommend it highly, for a long list of exceptional reasons. The house is a lovely, beautifully restored home, surrounded by wonderful gardens and filled with incredible aromas before the dinner hour. Our large, lovely room was complete with working fireplace, comfortable beds and a pullout sofabed for our unexpected guest. Its location is ideal for visiting the university, walking to restaurants and interesting sights and accessible to all manner of public transportation.

However, the house is not really what makes it such a special place, it is the owners Yves and Valerie. They made us feel like special friends and provided all manner of suggestions and assistance. We had wonderful conversations over breakfast and taxis called to our door.

But as we were leaving they offered to be our daughter's home away from home should the need arise. Kind of unnecessary? No, within a month they became the receivers of a package from the states that was too complicated to mail to the university and then helped track our daughter and her lost phone down after an unsettling 2:00 a.m. phone call caused to us worry (unnecessarily) about her welfare. Yves made calls, met a stranger at the police station to retrieve the lost phone and called every number he could find to track her down and reassure me that all was well. SHE was fine. HE was a life-saver to a concerned mother. That kind of above and beyond kindness and thoughtfulness really epitomizes our wonderful stay at the lovely Carmichael Guesthouse. You really can't ask for more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksb_georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for your overwhelming comments. I was glad I could be of some help.
Our warmest regards to you and George.
Valerie & I would be happy to hear from you every now and then, either by sending us a brief e-mail or through our Facebook page.
Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

My colleague and I had an absolutely outstanding experience here. It is located in a very quiet side street that is a block from the University of Cape Town. The house is beautifully restored with spacious and nicely decorated rooms. The owners, Yves and Valerie, are extremely pleasant, very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Breakfasts are in a very pleasant sun room that include if desired cooked egg dishes.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for your comforting comments. Valerie & I would be grateful if we could host you in the near future should you come back to Cape Town.
Keep well and our best regards to Lalita.
Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had the pleasure of spending over a week at the Carmichael Guesthouse while visiting our daughter who is attending UCT. Yves and Valerie were the perfect host and hostess and made us feel welcome and like we were at home. The rooms were cozy, nicely decorated and spacious. The house charmed us as we stepped into the garden, walked to our room up the grand stair case with stained glass windows, and as we sat each morning in the sunshined filled breakfast room. The breakfast meal was made to order and was of gourmet quality. In addition, they shared very helpful tour tips and helped make sure our days were only enjoyable and well spent, and provided us with great dinner suggestions. We were additionally appreciative of their understanding of our daughters time with us----who also very much enjoyed and alternative to the dorms close to campus. We have traveled extensively and have never stayed in a guesthouse as nice as this.Outstanding in ever way!

Room Tip: Every room was as well appointed as the next, with their own unique charm. We enjoyed Room #4 with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chemistandnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Laura & Ed,

Thank you so much for your grateful comments. Valerie and I have at heart to ensure our guests an overall pleasant experience.
We would love to hear from you every now and then via Facebook or just a few words by e-mail
.
All the best / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

A wonderful, comfortable stay in a charming place. The beds were comfy, the room was spotlessly clean. the staff were friendly. the breakfasts were superb. Yves and Valerie are kind and considerate hosts. I was quite reluctant to leave! A perfect place to stay if visiting kids at UCT.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Lynda,
Dear Colin,

Thank you very much for such warm encouraging comments! I must says that it is always a real pleasure hosting such pleasant and considerate guests. Needless to say that we are looking forward to host you in the future.
Keep well and all the best.
Yves and Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Carmichael Guesthouse is a home - a magnificent home hosted by a warm family. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast is wonderful and the neighborhood is easy by foot, mini-bus or taxi. The end of my day (during winter) included a toasty fire in my room's fireplace - how perfect is that! It's a quiet and relaxing way to visit the intense city of Cape Town. You'll be at the foot of UCT and around the corner from the Irma Stern Museum, former home of Stern and a site not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKReviewSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your kind comment. Valerie & I are pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us and the fire in your room almost every evening.
Keep well and keep us posted!
Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We chose this Guesthouse for its location, a safe area near Cape Town and the Airport. Loved our roon, great decoration, pure luxury. Great having separate adjoining room for our teenagers. Breakfast was lovely and they made a special effort to have it ready early so we could leave in time to catch our flight. Yves very helpful sorting out our flight check-in. Perfect end to our stay in the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Cathy,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write those valued comments. We are so proud of our guest house as we put all our hart and soul in here and that is why we value so much our guests comments.
We are glad you got to enjoy the space of one of our Family Suite. Shortly you will be able to enjoy a 360deg virtual tour of this room and of 5 others on our website. It will be uploaded soon. Let us know what you think of it.
Keep well and good luck for your first week back at work.
Yves & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The very friendly, service minded and helpful hosts, Yves and Valerie, have created a place with luxurious rooms in an old house in Rosebank area. The breakfast is perfect and personally served by the hosts themselves and every morning Yves will give his recommendations to the plans you have for the day. They call for a cab when you need it, they book tickets for you over the internet, they check you in on your flight, you name it! There is a cozy and calm atmosphere and a sense of Yves an Valerie's sincere wish to do the best for their visitors. Very recommendable guest house!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lahajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael-Guesthous, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2012

Dear Lars,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Valerie & I are alway sensitive to those.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it was only a pleasure for us to ensure it was a pleasant and relaxing holliday for both of you.
Keep well.
Best regards / Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
692 reviews
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
587 reviews
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
406 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Cape Town, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range: £72 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing