We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extra help” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmichael Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carmichael Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Extra help”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

In additio to being friendly and helpful generally, they helped take care of my special diet needs. Very helpful. Very nice to sit outside in the garden - they served us tea outside even though it was not dinner time. Special time for me and my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Laurie,

Thank you for having stayed with us. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay.
Your review is much appreciated.
Look after yourself.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
65
24
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were visiting from the United States in April 2013. Our daughter was on a semester abroad in Cape Town (she is in college in New York) and we had the pleasure of booking our stay at The Carmichael Guesthouse. Yves and Valerie were outstanding proprietors and hosts. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Beds are comfortable, towels and sheets are just like home. Breakfasts were fresh with plenty of choices (fruit, eggs, muffins, etc.).
We stayed a total of about 7 nights. First for 5 nights then headed up to Kruger National Park and came back and stayed another 2 nights. And by the way, Yves who worked in the airline industry for many years (Air France) made many of our accomodations for us, and was more than happy to do so.
Our experience was more in line with a well run hotel, but, had a warm B&B feeling to it. There is no doubt that I RECOMMEND Carmichael Guesthouse for those looking to get a friendly, clean and upbeat experience and not pay the $300-$500 per night for the big name hotels in downtown Cape Town.
Dennis Q - San Antonio, Texas

Room Tip: My preference would be a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Dennis,

I am delighted and proud to receive such wonderful review from you. Thank you!
I am so glad you had such an exquisite time in the KNP. I was very jealous when I saw some of your pictures...
Thank you for booking your daughter with us for her last night in Cape Town.

Keep well and please don’t forget to send us some news from Texas!
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Carmichael's guesthouse was the best guest lodge I have ever stayed in. Just walking into it, the first time, it felt like home and a home I'd love to be raised in. Val and Yves are the best hosts ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neesha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Neesha,

A warm thank you for those very kind and comforting words, always highly appreciated.
Valerie & I would be delighted to host you again.
All the best / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Carmichael. Yves and Valerie are warm, welcoming and friendly. The house is absolutely gorgeous and every detail is perfectly attended to, from the beautiful furnishings and linens to the stocked minibar, flat-screen TV, hairdryer and even hot water bottle available in the room. The house, room and bathroom were immaculately clean; the gardens lovely. The neighborhood is excellent, just tucked under Table Mountain and near the U of Cape Town, so I could walk for quite a while. I would definitely stay there again if I go back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Mary Anne,

Thank you so much for such rewarding comment. It has been such a pleasure hosting you. Thank you for your sharp eye, noticing all these small details put in place by Valerie making what our guest house is: not only a beautiful place but a cosy home with character, and this is what our guests tell us. We could not expect better reward!

Wishing you all the best and why not, see you in the near future together with your companion.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Our stay at the Carmichael Guesthouse was totally delightful. Our room was really charming. The outdoor sitting areas were very sweet. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the staff and owners were accomodating, friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Abby,

Many thanks for your delightful comment. Valerie & I are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Keep well. Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

My daughter was a student at UCT and we wanted to stay close by. I cannot recommend highly enough. Our room was spacious and elegant. Hot breakfasts were cooked to order and super yummy. Fruit salad a delicious start to the day. Hosts and staff all smiles and helpfulness. We would return without hesitation. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank judith94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Judith,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I must say that we are regularly blessed with the stay of US parents visiting their children whilst @ UCT for a semester. It has always been such a pleasant experience and you are no exception to the rule.
I am sure that your daughter had a great time in CPT and amongst all activities I guess that she managed to study a bit...
Keep well and all the best.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Carmichael House was highly recommended to us and now we know why! We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay there. The second floor 2 bedroom suite was perfect for us. The sunroom nestled between the rooms was perfect for reading and planning the day's excursions. Mostly though, we were so impressed with the owners-Yves and Valerie, They are most friendly and helpful. They also were very accomodating to our daughter who is studying in CT and the reason for our visit. We felt so pampered by their hospitatliy and knowledgable suggestions regarding the city's attractions. Breakfast each morning included fresh fruit, imported croissants and made to order eggs-a huge hit with all of us. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Cape Town, we will definitely stay at Carmichael House again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tlhunt3871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Tracy,

Our warmest thank you for this wonderful comment, we are overwhelmed!
Valerie & I are so attached to our guests satisfaction that we are so glad when we get such pleasant feedback.
Thank you for having stayed with us. All the very best to all five of you

Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
5.0 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
5.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
4.0 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
3.9 mi away
Parker Cottage
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Property: Carmichael Guesthouse
Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Rosebank, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing