We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, Surroundings, Supper are ALL Superb!”
Review of Banksia Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banksia Boutique
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service, Surroundings, Supper are ALL Superb!”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I've traveled to Cape Town nearly a dozen times over the past 3 years. One 4-5 of those occasions I bring along 6-8 US Business Execs. I'VE NEVER ENJOYED THE STAY at any of the branded hotels we've stayed-in while in Cape town, especially that Westin. It is the worse. Nonetheless, I searched long and hard for Banksia and while the pics looked good online, I was still very skeptical. I sent the 6 execs this year prior to my arrival 2 weeks later. I held my breath and awaited the reviews. All 6 raved about the rooms and the service. They spoke about the attention to detail and the relaxing, sophisticated environment. No Kids, which is great! I arrived 2 weeks later and felt the exact same way. I truly felt like the King of my own castle. One day I went for a run nearby and upon my return the staff noticed me limping...just simply over did it. They recommended a massage for my leg, I said sure. I went up, showered and slow returned to the opulent front porch ....and there waiting....towel in hand, a masseuse. I could not believe it. The food was amazing, the sleeping quarters were heavenly and the SERVICE, OMG...like none other. I will never stay anywhere else in Cape Town. NEVER! Finally, Cape Town has a hotel that provides service to match the beautiful views!

Room Tip: Room 5 is billed as the best, BUT allow them to assign your room They are ALL Different & Uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LEADerPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
62
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Our trip in South Africa started in Johannesburg and ended in Cape Town. In Cape Town, we decided to stay at Banksia Luxury Boutique Hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and treated like royalty. Our room was spacious and exquisitely furnished. The hotel is located in a very quiet area, ideal for those who want to unwind, but still close to the city centre and waterfront. The breakfast deserves a special mention. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I was in Cape Town on a consulting engagement and the client had booked me into Banksia. The stay had the pluses and the minues. It is a very unique experience - almost like stepping into a Manor House in the English countryside, with a very courteous host - Ms Shelley who own and runs the place. The 100+ year old place is very well maintained with very authentic dining rooms, sitting rooms, wooden staircases, rooms with long wide balconies with a fantastic view of the Table Mountain. There is also a pool and a jacuzzi if you are so inclined. The breakfast spread matches a Five Star's. For cat lovers, there is a resident kitty as well, who is very visitor friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijit_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
252 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2008

This is a serene gem in the suburbs of Cape Town. Every detail is cared for. The staff are not just warm - they border on loving and are genuine about it. The food is lovely. The furnishings are comfortable and stunning. Each room is unique and a delight. If you are looking for a venue to run an event that is in a beautiful and private setting, this is the place. This is the second training I have held here (I live in the USA) and would come back in a heart beat. The staff are on top of everything and care that your stay is tops.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaljoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2007

We had an enjoyable & relaxing stay. Treated like royalty. Breakfasts were really something. Great selection. Located 10 minutes from the waterfront.

  • Liked — The breakfast was superb; also very quiet & peaceful; upmarket
  • Disliked — TV volume was limited a little low
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosebank
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
83 reviews
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banksia Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banksia Boutique

Property: Banksia Boutique
Address: 14 Banksia Road, Rosebank 7100, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Banksia Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a luxury boutique hotel & Spa,Banksia Boutique is a lifestyle showroom housed in a grand Victorian mansion. This eight room hotel showcases the very best in corporate and leisure accommodation in the leafy Southern Suburbs of Cape Town. The hotel's luxurious suites are individually designed and boast beautiful fully equipped en-suite bathrooms. Banksia Boutique offers two conference rooms, providing a stylish, intimate and highly individual corporate experience. The hotels spacious interiors offer an ideal location for product launches and small corporate functions, including private dining and intimate cocktail evenings. Also, we are very excited to announce the opening of our new day spa - consisting of three beautifully appointed treatment rooms, Rasul Chamber and Steam Room. Banksia Boutique has been awarded a Four Star Grading. The hotel was also awarded second place/highly commended in the AA Accommodation Awards for Best Boutique Hotel in the country 2009, 2010 & 2011. We are also a Decorex Designer Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Banksia Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing