We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Medindi Manor
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Mowbray(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
97
27
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
27
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape townold victorianwrap around balconykirstenbosch gardensexcellent breakfaststar serviceevery staff memberquiet areaclose to the airportother guestsstaff went out of their waysouth africafull kitchenmain buildinghome away from homeperfect place to staycomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed 10 days at Medindi Manor while on a working trip to Cape Town. We loved everything about it. The attractive Edwardian house is situated in a quiet suburban area. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and pleasantly furnished.

There are restaurants and a bar within 2 minutes walk . Rondebosch Common 200m away is a lovely place for an early morning stroll with its views of Table Mountain. The city centre and Waterfront are 10-15 minutes by car or a 7-8 euro taxi journey.

The two things that set Medindi apart for us were the staff and the beautiful gardens. We found all of the staff to be friendly and efficient. They created a very welcoming atmosphere and took a real interest in making their guests' stay a happy one. There was never a moment in the 10 days that we felt anything other than right at home.
The lush garden is a delightful place in which to be. We enjoyed the tranquility of sitting on the stoep for a coffee or a sun-downer.

Luckily our schedule allowed us to take in some tourist activities and a few good hikes. The staff always pointed us in the right direction when it came to restaurants, hikes and other attractions. All of their recommendations were spot on.

Highlights were a visit to Kirstenbosch Gardens and hikes up Table Mountain and Lion's Head. Restaurants that we enjoyed outside the immediate area were Barristers and Basilico in Newlands and the Wild Fig in Observatory.

Medindi Manor was a real find and if we are lucky enough to return to Cape Town some day this is where we want to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MF50Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Fifteen minutes from Cape Town relaxing and secure guest house with pool and garden. All staff are helpful and pleasant. House is well kept and a hearty breakfast provided. Restaurants and bar five minute walk if required. As located in southern suburbs do not use city taxis to and from Cape Town they are costly and do not always know there way around away from the city. Medindi will recommend best taxi companies to use. Thanks to Jeanine and Stella a great stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank letsbike190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed for 5 days recently and loved it. The rooms are wonderfully comfortable and characterful, with antique furniture, big windows letting in a fresh breeze from the garden, and soft, luxurious bed and towels. My room had a stunning view of the mountain as well. I felt very safe and peaceful, and appreciated the excellent service from the staff. The breakfasts were delicious--fresh juices, fruit salad, granola and great coffee, followed by a full cooked breakfast if desired. My trip was for work, but the quiet verandah (on two levels) and gorgeous garden with pool were very tempting and I'd love to go back for a holiday. Can't recommend it highly enough, definitely my favourite place in SA after many trips.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a gorgeous view of the mountain.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagapie_eh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great place- very nice old house with great garden, secure parking, great service- check in was fast, excellent room, great breakfast- lots of choices, good wine, very welcoming. Would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedindiManor, Guest Relations Manager at Medindi Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hi Lukas! Thank you so much for your great review and comment. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we are even more excited to have you visit again! All the best for your 2014! Medindi Manor Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This kind ok a boutique guest house, incredible comfortable, nice towels and sheets, beautiful bedroom and an amazing garden. They even have a swimming pool outside for hot days. The wifi works fine and the staff is so friendly!! It is not located at the water front and you must get a taxi (around USd 12-15) if you want to go. It is close to the UCT and airport and the neighborhood has a few restaurants around. Nothing fancy, but a quite good Thai food on the corner. This area is residential. The price of Medindi is what we call "a great cost benefit" with more benefits :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank liafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews