We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Heights Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenilworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Valley Heights Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Valley Heights recently while in Cape Town for medical and we were very happy with our stay. The hosts were very welcoming and always ready to help. We had booked for 4 nights but suddenly had to stay 3 nights longer. Bruce was very flexible and allowed us to keep the same room. We had also forgotten that South African sockets are different from the British system and so we couldn't charge our laptops. When we mentioned to Bruce, he had a drawer full of all kinds of adapters. Talk about anticipating customers' needs. Many thanks Bruce and Jeannie, we will always remember your place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kutloano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for your kind comments.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
19
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was in Cape Town for medical reasons and as a solo traveller wanted to be in a neighborhood close to the hospitals. My stay was absolutely perfect! Bruce and Jeannie were wonderful hosts as well as the rest of the staff. The neighborhood location is quite beautiful as well. Great for taking a nice walk. I will return to Cape Town later in the year and Valley Heights will be my first choice of accomodations!

Room Tip: The Pisa suite is ideal with great amount of sunlight, private entrance and your own kitchen with al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missnatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thanks for your kind remarks re your stay at Valley heights Guest House.
Very much appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit to Cape Town.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have recently been in the Valley Heights Guest House in Cape Town, and was really well impressed from the beginning to the end of our stay. The place is lovely and the rooms are neat and tidy. The owners Bruce and Jeannie are just adorable people and make you feel totally comfortable and welcome. In summary, you don't feel like you are in a hotel but rather at a family environment with so many friendly people around. I was so glad I chose Valley Heights to host our time in the amazing Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
It was a great pleasure to host you.
Thanks for your very kind remarks made in your review of Valley heights Guest House.
We certainly do appreciate your kind words.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Cape Town.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at Valley Heights for a week at on Easter week end, and we had a fabulous time. Our host were nice and helpful, and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. We selected this place as it was well located in regards to visit the Cape peninsula, the city (20 minutes to the V&A) and also was very close to the start of the Two Oceans Marathon race in which I participated.
We didn't take advantage of the pool since we were so busy visiting, but we visited some of the recommended restaurants in the neighbourhood and the food was great.

The only thing I would change would be the wifi access. You could easily pay for the service, but we could not access all of our devices at once, for some reason. I think having free wifi would be a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BastienToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for your valued guest review. Very much appreciated.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Wi-Fi : On arrival > Guests now receive a FREE 50 Mg Wi-Fi voucher > with our compliments - should they wish to use the Wi-Fi system at the Guest House.
We look forward to hosting you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have now stayed at Valley Heights three times when visiting family in Cape Town. Bruce and Jeannie's warm and attentive welcome makes it feel like staying with old friends, and the accommodation is very comfortable.

(and the daschunds are very cute!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Always a pleasure to host you. Thanks for your very positive and kind remarks.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Bruce and Jeannie provide a wonderful home from home in Valley Heights. Valley Heights is conveniently located and there is plenty of parking off road gives peace of mind. They even have kiddie extras like a high chair and plastic plates and cups to make travelling with small people so much easier! We didn't swim in the huge pool but it is amazing. Light, clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast is excellent and every possible option is provided. Thanks for a great three day stay! We will be back.

Room Tip: As a family we stayed in the Yellow and Blue rooms which have a shared bathroom and a common entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenieraOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. Lovely to have had you return to Valley heights Guest House.
Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was our second stay at the Valley Heights guest house and we felt really welcome, just like the first time. Their breakfast there is amazing and Bruce and Jeanie will definitely make you feel at home! The room was very comfortable and the cleaning service excellent. If you plan on going to Cape Town, this is the place to stay! We warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce L, Owner at Valley Heights Guest House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards,
Bruce & Jeanie Lane
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace
The Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm House
Palm House
#1 of 3 in Wynberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riversong Guest House
Riversong Guest House
#4 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 5 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 27 in Newlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Heights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Heights Guest House

Property: Valley Heights Guest House
Address: 36 Oak Avenue | Cape Town. South Africa, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Heights Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valley Heights Guest House and B&B is a true " home from home " retreat , situated in the peaceful , safe and leafy suburb of Upper Kenilworth in Cape Town's Southern Suburbs - ideal for business and holiday accommodation , singles , couples and families. The Guest House is close to major tourist attractions incl. Kirstenbosch , Newlands Cricket and Rugby grounds, Cavendish Square , fine restaurants and is within easy access of Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Waterfront and the False Bay and Atlantic seaboards. It is within easy walking distance (1km) from the Kingsbury and Claremont Hospitals, the Cape Fertility Clinic plus Medical Specialists. Valley Heights Guest House offers 3 star bed and breakfast accommodation for up to 16 Guests in 2 family units and 4 Double bedrooms with en-suite modern bathrooms. All units/ rooms have TV/ M-Net / DSTV , bar fridge stocked with soft drinks and waters,, kettle and a safe. The rooms are tastefully decorated and serviced daily.Comprehensive breakfasts are offered in the spacious dining room with mountain views. There is also a Self-Catering Accommodation option available in 2 of the units. Guests may make use of the large, sunny lounge and patio area with built-in braai /BBQ facility. Bruce & Jeanie live in a separate cottage in the grounds.Additional facilities include a large swimming pool , gazebo and tranquil garden setting with fountain . Secure off-street parking for guest's vehicles. Credit card facilities available. INTERNET: Valley Heights is a " FREE Wi- Fi " Hotspot - the service provider being MWeb/Internet Solutions. Internet access is available throughout the whole Guest House. CAR HIRE: Should you require a car, VINEYARD CAR HIRE is situated around the corner from us and offer a superior car hire service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valley Heights Guest House Kenilworth, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing