We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Stop-over” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenilworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chambery
Nelspruit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Stop-over”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were only able to stay for one night - but really wish we could have stayed longer. We will definately be back!! Our accommodation was delightful. The smaller garden cottage was very practically and tastefully furnished - modern and yet quaint at the same time. Perfect for a couple who enjoy privacy with a lovely verandah and views onto a lush, well-kept garden. The breakfast was excellent and generous with a good choice selection. Cheryl, our hostess, was very helpful and a joy to meet. Funny - I only met her for a short while, but left feeling I'd known her for ages!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abercrombie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have now stayed at Chambery twice and would never consider stay anywhere else in Cape Town. The cottages were furnished to perfection, The service provided by Grace & Patrica was the best. The situation of Chambery could not have suited us better with the shopping at Cavandish close by not to mention our delicious breakfasts at the Vineyard Hotel. The owner Mrs Suter did everything to make sure our stay was happy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Both cottages are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinAbercrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our Hostess was kind and welcoming. The accomodation was first class. The cottage was beautifully furnished and kept clean and tidy during our stay. Off road parking. Beautiful garden with a pool.
Delicious breakfasts. Our laundry was done for us to a high standard.

We would recommend this BandB to anyone wanting to stay near CapeTown

Room Tip: The cottage is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzie catherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I particularly love the Kenilworth area and the cottage in front of the house was the perfect home from home guest house accommodation. No complaints, only praise!
Thank you for a great stay and I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyReviewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Chambery house is both welcoming and beautiful! Very easy to find and a good base to explore Cape Town. Our cottage (behind the main house) was tastefully decorated and felt like a true home away from home. The cottage is modern, clean and allows you ample privacy with it's own garden, patio and braai! Highly recommended!

Thank you Cheryl for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneF-Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamatokoriyama-shi, Nara, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Studio Cottage for four nights (25th ~28th December 2012). We felt very much at home in the cottage and could relax and enjoy our time there. It's a peaceful quiet place with a lovely view of the garden. We were able to travel from the cottage and visit a few lovely places in Cape Town. My wife and I loved staying there and would love to stay there again on a future visit to Cape Town. I highly recommend this cottage accomodation.

Room Tip: The Studio Cottage is a good place to stay for self catering accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusS242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Lovely, comfortable, very hospitable and very clean. Definitely a recommendation. I enjoyed the excellent and homely service.

I would not hesitate in returning any time.

Thank you, Cheryl!

David Mulenga
Johannesburg

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
0.1 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Terrace
The Terrace
#1 of 5 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harfield Guest Villa
Harfield Guest Villa
#1 of 10 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm House
Palm House
#1 of 3 in Wynberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambery

Property: Chambery
Address: 10 Sunningdale Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kenilworth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the leafy suburbs of Upper Kenilworth, a stone throw from all major amenities, you'll find Chambery. This treasured piece of old world charm, under the canopy of Table Mountain, encased in lush gardens with oversized salt water pool has plenty of space to stretch your legs. If it's the home away from home feel you're after choose between two sumptuously appointed, private cottages boasting the best in local design and luxurious finishes. For the business or overnight traveller we offer a 'loft style' room within the main house complete with separate entrance and garden balcony. The cottages are on a self-catering basis, breakfast is optional. Locally sourced produce, and garden foraged greens play a huge role in the substantial breakfast menu served in the main house dining room or on the patio in the summer. From the bookings of local eateries to suggestions of the best-kept Cape Town secrets, fresh flowers and handmade biscuits, our aim is to please. We delight in the small details and see the return of many of our guests as testament to our tailored service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chambery Kenilworth, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing