We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to "land" in Cape Town!”
Review of The Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Terrace
Ranked #1 of 5 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I had to plan a trip to Cape town in five days due to an emergency and we could not have had a better introduction to the charm of Cape Town.
The Terrace is a well appointed bed & breakfast where one immediately feels at home due to the charm of this lovely house and the instant and warm welcome from it's proprietor Jane. The beds are extremely comfortable, with the highest quality of linen, the towels are to die for - wonderfully thick & fluffy. The breakfast is superb, with variety and freshness, and made to order by Jane. Thank you Jane I will have an eternal love for "Blue Gum Honey"!
This property is located in the suburbs which not only gives you the feeling that you are living in a home but that you are at home. The Terrace is located near the main road in Kenilworth so it is easy to access public transportation or if you're driving the main road is a great focal point to find your way to other venues, it was so easy to get from one place to the next. We were completely spoiled during our week long stay there and had a Christmas to remember.

Thank Trudyici
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

A family reunion from Switzerland,Lebanon and Zimbabwe attending a wedding could not have wished for a better location.Jane is a wonderful hostess,friendly,helpful with attention to detail and serves the most delicious breakfasts.The rooms,verandah and lounge areas are tastefully furnished and one feels at home very soon.The Terrace leaves one with a lasting impression of all that is good in Cape Town.A definite thumbs up from start to finish.

Room Tip: The cottage has a fully equiped kitchen,TV and lounge area.An auto laundry machine is located within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Going to South Africa was our dream and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay !

The Terrace has a brilliant location and offers peace and quiet when you're by the pool or in the garden.
The rooms was very nicely decorated and very clean.
Breakfast is a delight ! The owner cooks a fresh breakfast every morning, there are fresh flowers in every room.
No need to open your guide book, the owner gives all the information about places to see and where to go !
we had a lovely lovely time ans wish we could go again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolev24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 5 weeks. The owner was very friendly. She makes you're stay feels like home. The breakfast is absolutely fresh, because she makes it while you're waiting.

She gives you advice for nice places and good restaurants. There is a beautiful warmed pool outside. When you want to go for a swim she makes for sure that there is a pillow on the bed en a big towel to dry yourself. We stayed in "the cottage" and there is everything you need (kitchen, fridge, tv, good bed, bathroom). Even you're laundry is done for you if you want. I can't think of everything negative about this place! When you want to go out, you have to go with public transport or you can hire a car, but that's every were in Cape Town. Some things you can visit by foot, but most of the things you have to go to by car.


We absolutely recommend this place and I hope we will come back here sometimes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renske87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Thoroughly recoomend this charming B&B - its beautifully appointed, perfectly situated - and very quiet - the terrace is the perfect place to finish reports or catch up on emails. Excellent breakfast - fresh, healthy and delicious. Service is attentive and friendly - I will definately be back.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms - which is great as it is quiet. Chat to Jane - the owner - about your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Serap S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A, Owner at The Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank JoschholdtheGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.3 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 5 in Kenilworth
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valley Heights Guest House
Valley Heights Guest House
#3 of 5 in Kenilworth
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chambery
Chambery
#1 of 2 in Kenilworth
57 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace

Address: 11 Bellevue Terrace | (Off Mains Avenue), Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range: £71 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terrace is a stylish, beautifully appointed B&B in select upper Kenilworth, Cape Town with an atmosphere of serenity and elegant informality. Ideally located for leisure or business, The Terrace is just 2kms from Cavendish shopping centre, Claremont and Newlands Cricket and Rugby Stadia; 5kms from UCT and Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens (World Heritage)on the slopes of Table Mountain; 14kms from the CBD and V&A Waterfront and 22kms from the airport. We are very close to the many medical facilities in Kenilworth/Claremont/Wynberg. It is a 2 minute walk to a great little deli, hairdresser, a pharmacy and restaurants. We offer a choice of 1) a large double room (up stairs) with a comfortable sitting area and wonderful mountain view, 2) a self-contained, garden cottage with a separate sitting room/kitchen (self-catering option) decorated in fresh greens and white 3) a spacious garden studio decorated in contemporary colonial style. All rooms have well-appointed en suite shower rooms, 32" flat screen TV with DSTV, free WIFI, a safe, hair dryer, mini-fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and ample wardrobe space. Microwaves available. Bed and bath linen is of superior quality (pure cotton). Rooms 1 and 2 are airconditioned. Room 3 has a remote controlled ceiling fan. We love nothing more than for our guests to make themselves at home and the spacious sitting room (wood fire in Winter), veranda, large salt-water pool, deck and leafy garden, are all for your enjoyment. Swimming towels are provided. "English" breakfast is served in the "Conservatory" dining room or on the veranda, if it's not breezy. Well-lit public parking is right outside the property (reservation not possible). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Terrace Kenilworth, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing