We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Country House hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Highlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My partner and I have just returned from five nights at Highlands and were delighted with our stay - as were the friends we were travelling with. This is a genuine Country House experience. It is a winning combination of a glorious (and architecturally significant) house, stunning gardens and the most wonderful staff. The owner, Carol, is one of the most charming and hospitable people I have met in years of travelling and staying in top rated hotels. She is very hands-on and nothing is too much trouble when it comes to her guests (even to the point of lending us her own laptop for hours on end when the guest PC went down). She has so many attributes as a hotelier but perhaps the greatest is her ability to put together a winning team. Here the personal touch is paramount. Every member of the team plays their part but special mention goes to Jane at the front desk who is so helpful and generous with her time; lovely Monica who is a ray of sunshine and Ruben who is an absolute gentleman.

The hotel is well located - far enough from the centre to ensure peace and tranquility, near enough to be able to enjoy all that Cape Town has to offer. Our bedroom (No 1) was very large, stylish and comfortable and we had a large balcony overlooking the gardens and a huge bathroom. The public rooms (drawing room, library, dining room) are light and airy and are luxuriously appointed in grand country house style. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was a real treat. It's also very good value for money. All in all, a great find on the part of our travelling companions!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL-SouthKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandsCapeTown, Owner at Highlands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

We cannot always identify who posts the reviews, in this case the laptop gave it away ! It was a pleasure having such gentlemen staying and thank you for your kind words which of course will be passed on to Monica, Reuben & Jane.... and when you are back in Cape Town please visit us at Highlands again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Highlands Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is not a traditional hotel experience - and all the better for it. It is more like staying in the rather grand country house of a rather smart aunt. Edwardian splendour and space aplenty. And everything works on a trust basis. And there is no end time for breakfast - this place is run for the convenience of the guests, not the owners.

The landscaped gardens are faultless and there are two pools as well as other little corners with benches to pause and read a book. If the weather should be inclement there is a library, a drawing room, a conservatory and a covered veranda furnished as a sitting room, so you would not feel cooped up.

Others mention the attitude of the staff as being exemplary - and it is. Owner Carol is that exemplar and she shares tips out equally amongst all the staff so there is genuinely a feeling of a joint enterprise.

Location is perfect - minutes from the M3 to whip you into town or down the Cape, or you can hop over the mountains via Constantia into Hout Bay and Camps Bay. Great shopping nearby in Little Chelsea in Wynberg.

Don't hesitate - just book.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandsCapeTown, Owner at Highlands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you, thank you. It is wonderful to read that this beautiful old property "Highlands" is so appreciated. As for the service , well that's thanks to our wonderful staff, visit us again ( please) and you will see many the same faces. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Highlands and cannot say enough about the wonderful staff. From the greeting we received on arrival from Jane to the wonderful laughter filled breakfasts with Monica and the bed time hot chocolate from Ruben - it was all fantastic. The location is central and a good place to base yourself for exploration of the Southern suburbs and the Constantia wine region. It is a quick 10 minute drive to the Waterfront. The rooms are large and comfortable.

Thank you for making us feel so welcome and reminding us of the warmth of South African hospitality. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FON72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Perfectly located: green and quite environment, 20 minutes to airport as well as to downtown and to Ocean drive.

We, family with 4 boys between 10-17 years, stayed after a round trip in Souh Africa and Swaziland 4 nights in this beautiful hotel and were impressed by the service and hospitality of Carol and Michael, the owners of Highlands Country House in Cape Town. Since it was our first trip to Cape Town we asked Carol and Michael for some advice - recommendations and organization were just perfect: from restaurants at the beach to Italian food around the corner, from a wine tasting tour to a cultural trip and sightseeing downtown, from preparing a birthday cake to organizing a full day Harley Davisdon tour, not to forget the early morning tea and the super friendly service personnel.

Rooms are beautiful, complementary fruit baskets and nice views from the balconies included. I know, it sounds like a marketing blog, but it is just like described - and we did not even have time to use the pool or the spa... We will come back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Me and my family enjoyed very much our stay in this Country House. Located five minutes from kirstenbosch botanical gardens and 15 minutes from the center of Cape Town, with a wonderful view of the table mountains, is a perfect elegant accommodation for tourists that want to explore the area of the Cape. The rooms were quiet, we loved the breakfast and the dinner prepared by the chef. When we'll be back in South Africa,surely we'll come back to visit this romantic Country House.
Roberto Gazzeri

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Gezza1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandsCapeTown, Front Office Manager at Highlands Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Gazzeri Family. Thank you for your wonderful review! It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, and we are so glad that we could assist in your new adventure! We look so forward to welcoming you back in the future! Warmest regards from the Highlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Our first little vacation as a couple and I could not have asked for a better, more beautiful, warm and lovely place to spend the night. Reuben was the perfect host and Tawyn's food was divine. The attention to personal detail was amazing! Thank you for every single person that made this worthwhile! I will go back again and again! xxx

Room Tip: Corner suite - lovely and spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannetjie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Thank you Ms Klopper! It was lovely having you and we look so forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I took a short break at Highlands to enjoy our wedding anniversary. From the welcome by Ruben to the check-out by Lauren, our weekend was made very special by attention to detail, fantastic service, a beautiful luxury room and a wonderfully warm atmosphere. I would recommend this grand house to anyone (we also enjoyed the added attention we got from the gorgeous resident cat!)

Room Tip: Corner room with balcony - very spacious
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your review, our staff are really chuffed when their service is so appreciated and of course so am I, as for Honey the cat...she takes it all in her stride. We'd love to welcome you back tio Highlands for another anniversary perhaps.
Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.3 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,313 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
191 reviews
5.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
331 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Country House

Address: 36 Tennant Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £86 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Country House is the perfect venue for your weekend away, well deserved holiday, intimate wedding or even that (second) honeymoon. At Highlands a warm friendly welcome awaits you where good old fashioned excellent service is the order of the day. 14 individually appointed rooms are generously proportioned and all en-suite. Meals are individually prepared by the resident chef and the menu changes daily to suite your wishes. On request we can even host your own private dinner party, complete with place names, flowers and all the trimmings. Built in 1900, the Sir Herbert Baker house is set in the peaceful surroundings of formal gardens which boast 2 pools, a private spa and many secluded areas to relax and enjoy this home from home retreat. Afternoon tea is served at the pool or in the conservatory and of course the scones are homemade. Loose yourself in a book in the library or lounge or catch up on the news from home on the guest PC. Retire to your freshly made room and chill..... before dining in or out (of course we can arrange the transport), enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace and feel yourself transported from the everyday to the extra special. Highlands Country House - country tranquility in the heart of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Highlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Country Hotel
Highlands Country House Kenilworth, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing