We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Towns Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlands Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cape Towns Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you are tired of large commercial chain hotels then you will be enchanted by Highlands! Excellent service , colonial rooms and centrally situated close to major schools?An English Country manor in Upper Claremont.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
42
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Highlands house is wonderful. The staff were charming and helpful and walked the extra mile to oblige. Even Duke "the ginger tom"cat was friendly and spent time with us. The home is tastefully decorated and a great pleasure stay there. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank muffinknysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the beautiful Highlands for four days recently and couldn't have been happier with my visit. My attic room was very comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was large and everything worked really well. I had a view out to Table Mountain. The staff were unfailingly helpful, discreet and attentive. The food was excellent. During my stay I had a drama with a taxi driver who didn't believe his satnav and couldn't find his way to the hotel, so after a wildly circuitous journey Carole talked through the instructions over my phone calmly and patiently (my battery was down to 1%!) and she guided us safely back and restored my sanity on arrival.

Suleiman and Monica were charming, friendly and attentive.

Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eucalyptus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

What a surprise! My family stayed there a few days ago when we were in Cape Town recently. The rooms are exquisitely appointed, the staff and owner warm, friendly and welcoming. Its the kind of place you could go and curl up with a book in one of the lounges or have a drink in the beautiful bar. So much history preserved beautifully and with excellent taste! Thank you Highlands House.

Room Tip: Our room was North facing and had lovely light coming into it in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPlettenbergBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, Kwazulu-natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at the Highlands Country House when attending a conference in Cape Town. All went out of their way to ensure that my stay was a happy one, while never being obtrusive about anything. To top it all, they mailed items that I had left behind to me. The rooms were spacious and comfortable the staff were superb and the food was outstanding. An unreserved recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chenies, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel is by any standards a true gem.
We have stayed on 2 previous occasions and one again were not disappointed.
The rooms, food, gardens and pools are excellent.
Under the guidance of Carole and Jane, the staff team make you feel at home and provide service of the highest quality.
Whilst it is just out of town it is perfectly located for so many attractions that it makes an excellent base for touring around.
Thoroughly recommended, we will return again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

The title describes the very core of the feeling left staying in this hotel. A century old country house is lovely and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The house itself seems to be living - in a positive way - old times. The property is well maintained, but it doesn't try to be state-of-the-art modern, and is comfortable being like that, and good for it! The garden is formal but refreshing and you can have walks there though short ones as it is not that big.
I can imagine how this felt a hundred years ago, now though there are high walls surrounding with barbed wire making the feeling a bit cramped but that is unfortunately the case with every place in South Africa.

You need a car. Though it is well located no matter which way you tend to go, it is out of walking distance.

It is five star rated, but you can't quite compare it with luxury five star hotels. The price is more four star range. Wifi did not work well at any time, breakfast ran out each morning of something whether it was bread or juice or something else. The rooms were clean but not spotless.

Saying all this I still feel the value for money is great, atmosphere excellent, location good and would certainly recommend this to anyone respecting these qualities I mentioned.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jaatinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.3 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
5.6 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Country House

Property: Highlands Country House
Address: 36 Tennant Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Country House is the perfect venue for your weekend away, well deserved holiday, intimate wedding or even that (second) honeymoon. At Highlands a warm friendly welcome awaits you where good old fashioned excellent service is the order of the day. 14 individually appointed rooms are generously proportioned and all en-suite. Meals are individually prepared by the resident chef and the menu changes daily to suite your wishes. On request we can even host your own private dinner party, complete with place names, flowers and all the trimmings. Built in 1900, the Sir Herbert Baker house is set in the peaceful surroundings of formal gardens which boast 2 pools, a private spa and many secluded areas to relax and enjoy this home from home retreat. Afternoon tea is served at the pool or in the conservatory and of course the scones are homemade. Loose yourself in a book in the library or lounge or catch up on the news from home on the guest PC. Retire to your freshly made room and chill..... before dining in or out (of course we can arrange the transport), enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace and feel yourself transported from the everyday to the extra special. Highlands Country House - country tranquility in the heart of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Highlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Country Hotel
Highlands Country House Kenilworth, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing