We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere you really want to keep secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highlands Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Having travelled the world for some 40 years I thought that perfection in hotels was impossible to find.
Highlands meets that criteria to the extent that one really doesn't want everyone to know about this little gem.
The hotel, rooms, gardens, pools, service, food and most importantly staff are of the very highest quality.
Carole, the owner, and Jane the manager run Highlands as a family, they and their team make guests feel cared for and special, a rare experience indeed these days.
We had a wonderful stay and will certainly return, hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

Annie, my wife, and I had a delightful stay at Highlands. The hotel has been so well designed with every attention paid to the smallest detail, which coupled with the welcome and service from the owner and staff ensured that we had a wonderful time. The location is away from the bustle of the city itself so it was an oasis of calm after exploring the local sights - table top mountain, vinyards, national parks and shopping trips. The restuarant served very good food, although when we were there it was quiet. The staff recommended all of the best restuarants and places to go in the area. Taxis were arranged, were on time and efficient. The garden room that we stayed is was a lovely suite with doors opening directly onto a beautifully kept garden. I don't usually write testimonials but we were so impressed that I thought ought to let some other people know about it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithandAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I am used to travel and to spend a lot of my life time in hotels due to my profession - I am a consultant. However, I have never experienced such warm and personal hospitality as at Highlands. From the first moment on, you realize you are not an anonymous guest, you are somebody who are really welcome to come and to stay. If you would like, you will be introduced to other guests. If you do not, you can stay alone and enjoy quiet beautiful places which there are so many at Highlands. What a relief and lovely suprise to enjoy these tailor made service and hotel surroundings in our globalized and standardarzied world. What should I say? Initially I booked 2 weeks and extended to 4 weeks... And actually could stay even longer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I can only speak highly of this wonderful boutique 5 star hotel. I spent three nights here and wish it was more. I came from one night at the Mount Nelson hotel so can directly compare it to what they offered. Highlands Country House beats the Mount Nellie hands down. Twice the value for half the price. Its worth the drive out to the suburbs to enjoy the tranquility of an old and elegant part of Cape Town. Shops not far away in Main Road.

Highlands Country House is a historic Sir Herbert Baker home and a protected national monument that has been wonderfully restored and furnished in a luxurious English country style - no faux Africa here. No modern comfort has been neglected. From my upstairs room I had a wonderful view over the city to the mountains of the coast, from which a light house winked at night.

The staff truly made me feel like I was at home in the traditional way it used to be done in South Africa - I used to live in SA so remember those days well. Fresh flowers in the bedroom and bathroom. Tea or coffee brought on an elegant tray with white linen and china any time of the day or night. A lavish breakfast is included with scrumptious bacon and eggs on offer. The room was serviced while I was gone and again in the evening with a chocolate left on the pillow. The staff very pleasant and well trained.

Carol the owner and her manager Jane are delightful. I was taken on a tour of the house and saw several of the unoccupied rooms - the decor and styling is outstanding with each room different. The formal garden revived after a shower of rain but is inspiring with lavish green plantings and touches of white, yellow and purple flowers. Fish ponds and fountains make each corner of the garden intriguing. Two lovely swimming pools and an onsite spa complete the picture.

At short notice they arranged a private dinner party for me and four guests. We started in the cosy bar choosing from the wide selection of quality whisky and home made canapes. We then moved to the formal dining room which we had to ourselves. The food was superb and we finished with the best creme brulee I have ever tasted, courtesy of chef Nathan. Port in crystal glasses completed the meal. The dinner coincided with Earth Hour which was marked by switching off the lights and bringing out candles.

I will certainly be back and recommending this to others.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

It was a great way to start our holiday. The staff and management are great. We had a balcony room which I could highly recommend. Be warned the cat can be a night time visitor (very friendly).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestSussexWhitefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

If you want to be really looked after by Carol-the owner from 2 years- and her really good tem this is the place. A luxurious historic house easy to get to and go from to the sights. Lots of very large bedrooms all amazingly furnished but homely- amazing garden with 2- yes 2 big pools and lots of very comfortable loungers. Insidet the formal rooms are numerous and so comfortable- they even have a board room for meetings.
Carol has the nack- not easy we have found- of being utterly committed and interested and interesting, and yet unobtrusive.
You are made to feel a special person- they even have people who book for a month or more and use it as their home while in South Africa. 2 yes 2 chefs and you can eat when and what you want by arrangement. When you compare the price with the famous hotels it is amazing and the little extras they give make it all memorable.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank CANDANorfolkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Well off the beaten path which makes it not great for vacationers .. wonderful staff and service but priced for an expense account .. large rooms .. loads of historical charm .. an open willingness to be as helpful as possible and adequate breakfast buffet BUT if you do not have a car than you should find something closer to the downtown area .. cabs are not expensive but they are not bargains either and they have to be summoned. We never felt anything but safe as we walked the neighborhood but the staff seemed alarmed and appalled that we should venture out on foot. Twelve foot fences and barbed wire and guard dogs and guards surronded every house and business so if you are squeamish than South Africa may not be for you BUT I have felt more nervous in posh areas of the US!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
1.3 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,410 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
465 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
518 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Country House

Address: 36 Tennant Road, Kenilworth 7708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: £98 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Highlands Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highlands Country House is the perfect venue for your weekend away, well deserved holiday, intimate wedding or even that (second) honeymoon. At Highlands a warm friendly welcome awaits you where good old fashioned excellent service is the order of the day. 14 individually appointed rooms are generously proportioned and all en-suite. Meals are individually prepared by the resident chef and the menu changes daily to suite your wishes. On request we can even host your own private dinner party, complete with place names, flowers and all the trimmings. Built in 1900, the Sir Herbert Baker house is set in the peaceful surroundings of formal gardens which boast 2 pools, a private spa and many secluded areas to relax and enjoy this home from home retreat. Afternoon tea is served at the pool or in the conservatory and of course the scones are homemade. Loose yourself in a book in the library or lounge or catch up on the news from home on the guest PC. Retire to your freshly made room and chill..... before dining in or out (of course we can arrange the transport), enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace and feel yourself transported from the everyday to the extra special. Highlands Country House - country tranquility in the heart of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highlands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Country Hotel
Highlands Country House Kenilworth, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing