We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rainforest hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
The surrounding environment of the Villa, only 30 minutes drive from KL city.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The surrounding environment of the Villa, only 30 minutes drive from KL city.
Picturesque sliding door / windows frame the outdoors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The surrounding environment of the Villa, only 30 minutes drive from KL city.
Picturesque sliding door / windows frame the outdoors
The Villa
You will feel very close to nature here.
Grab your favorite drink and gather by the outdoor pool & jacuzzi at night.
View of Villa from the field
The bottom deck was designed with high ceiling & as a result is airy through cross ventilation.
Spend your day lounging by the pool.
Enjoy your evenings by the pool
You do not need to bring utensils, cutleries, cups and plates.
A gazebo adjacent to the main pavillion is where you will find the cooker, fridges & prep area.
The outdoor cooking area.
The toilet is equipped with heated water. Frosted glass louvred windows can be fully opened.
This is one of the larger family sized rooms, which is situated on the upper floor for 6 pax.
Another toilet which is also equipped with heated water & with frosted glass louvred windows.
This is the second of the family room, located downstairs can accommodate 6.
Upper Floor Plan
Lower Floor Plan
The upper deck of the main pavilion with gazebos and swinging chairs allow flexible spaces to enjoy.
A 14' trampoline for adults & kids to jump & enjoy!
Idyllic area great for relaxing.
Duyan hammock at the main pavilion facing the greens.
Open corridor of the rooms at the lower floor.
Relax at the hammocks / swing chair / teak wood coffee table with Anak Bukit Takun in the background
A gorgeous golf view from the upper balcony.
The Villa
The main pavillion's upper deck enjoys fresh air away from the city with magnificent views,.
View of Bukit Takun from Shell Station along the Main Road. The Retreat is just adjacent to it.
Sit at the marble tables shaded by tensile roof with Bukit Takun as the backdrop.
Swing away.
Open corridor of the rooms at the upper floor.
View of the Golf Course from the main pavilion
The entrance to the retreat is adorned with a huge rock that was dug from the fish pond.
There is ample car parking space in the retreat.
View from within  the retreat, taken from the foothill leading up to the retreat.
Entrance to the elevated Rainforest Retreat
The main pavilion (partly hidden) with Bukit Takun as the backdrop.
Relax and enjoy nature & a view of the golf course in the gazebos.
Relax and enjoy nature & a view of the golf course in the gazebos.
The lower balcony also enjoys a view to the golf course.
Swimming in nature with a view.
The Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Rawang, Selangor

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
The C
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rainforest hideaway”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a comfortable and wonderfully eccentric home for those who appreciate an outdoor form of living, in touch with the rain forest that surrounds it. Templer Park is a very special place and Han Saw and his parents were great hosts and provided for all our needs, including a stuffed toy tiger to deter the monkeys!
There is an infinity pool and a sauna, shared with the family's other property adjoining, but most of all we enjoyed the sounds, colours and scents of the jungle.
All our immediate needs were met from the supermarket in Rawang, about 10 minutes away by car.
We look forward to coming back and feel lucky to have found such a special spot.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisazoe
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ignore the spiteful review left previously, its a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Please ignore the really spiteful review left perviously here. We had a wonderful time, the place is gorgeous and immaculately kept. It was such a novelty being surrounded by the jungle noises, but it's not really too isolated, as to one side is jungle and the other a golf course. There are many different covered areas to hang out, and some are 2 storey so you can get a really good view.
We ordered food from the lovely local couple Mr Saw recommends, it was delicious, authentic local food, brought right to our table with chilled drinks in the evening and hot coffee in the morning... and incredibly cheap.We saw the monkeys running round the golf course, and tempting though it was to leave food out to attract them to the garden, we resisted and just saw them at the edge of the garden!
The bedrooms are modern clean and air conditioned, and ours had floor to ceiling glass, so we left the curtains open to see the sun rise.The mosquitos are plentiful in the early evening, but with good repellent and the mosquito coils Mr Saw had left us, we were ok. The huge open air but covered kitchen/lounge is very well equipped, and there is filtered chilled spring water.
In the run up to the booking, I had lots of questions, some probably a bit silly, but they were always answered politely and quickly by the Saws.
All in all a really good fun experience, as close to the jungle as we wanted to get, whilst still being relaxing.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam B
Mandurah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not As Advertised”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
15
people found this review helpful

The resort is not as advertised. The pool infinity is on the edge of the driveway that trucks and cars were coming up to do construction work from 8am - 5pm every day. The construction work was in the fishing pond that was meant to be available to guests and had up to 6 men working. This is 20m from the pool and our 15 year old in bikinis was very uncomfortable. The Saws only visited us 3 times (Mr Saw) and we didn't even see Juliet. The resort is very secluded and it was almost impossible to get a taxi there. The Tesco was very local and not westernised - it was almost impossible to even send a letter home at the post office. We didn't enjoy our stay and didn't feel safe or welcome here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Everything else
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
We wish to respond in detail as this review is unjustified.

Pam Bell had booked to stay with her family of 7 from March 27 to April 2. Bell did not book via Tripadvisor, but via other means. Two days after arrival, March 29, Pam conveyed that they have some urgent matters to attend to back home in Australia and that their airline managed to get the group on an earlier flight on March 31, hence her 2 nights stay had to be forfeited. She then requested for a refund for the night of March 30.

We had explained that cancellation of such late notice - 2 days before is against policy; hence no refund. Bell accepted our explanation at that time. Bell and family left in the wee hours of March 31 at 5am. Not only did they not have the courtesy to check-out, but in their wake they had left all lights turned on and 3 bedroom doors left wide open - this led to monkeys entering and damaging the bedrooms. Bell's answer to this was 'these are your monkeys'.

Bell during her stay had complained to us that there were sirens and loud noises - these are few and far between. We had explained the retreat overlooks the Golf course, and when it starts to rain, some sirens will be deployed to alert golfers to danger. Also, we had explained that the retreat being in a rainforest, some loud nature noises occasionally come from wildlife. Bell did not take this for an explanation.

After this, Bell began harassing us via email - we received a mail which we felt was defamatory. Bell had added new complaints: one of which was on our renovation crew. If this was a valid concern, like Bell's queries about the siren and noises from the jungle, we would have immediately attended to it. However, Bell had mentioned in her email that Mr Saw is some form of savage character and their travel to Malaysia made them feel unsafe, worried that they will get shot at by a gun, in the retreat.
Thus, that is the reason during their stay that the complain was not made. Together with this complain, finally the underlying cause surfaced. She had blackmailed us: "Refund me 2 nights or I will defame you on the internet."

Bell complained about not meeting Juliet which is totally unreasonable. Bell could have requested for Juliet to meet them in their frequent messaging during their stay. Juliet was very busy at that period but Bell's family were still well attended to. Bell even had the cheek to complain that we did not bother to see them off - when they actually quietly left at 5.00am with the gates wide open.

Bell's complaint about Tesco not being westernised but more local is absolutely absurd. We advised Bell and family before their arrival that it is advisable to rent a car for ease of moving about.

We had then very kindly requested for our independent caterer to help Bell and family out in terms of transportation. We ended up having to apologise profusely to our caterer because we found out that he had to chauffeur Bell and family to Tesco, 7/11 store, the pharmacy and even the post office which took him away from his job and other tasks. His complaint was that there was not a word of thanks on the last night. He even had to apologise on their behalf to the local post office staff as Bell and family insisted that the post office should be able allow Bell and family to use their computer to send an email to Australia - as that could be done in Australia. Our caterer apologised because things got a bit heated as Bell and family insisted on getting things done their way. This was a bad experience for the caterer and he was rather upset. We believe that Bell and family should not visit other countries and insist on doing things their own way.

In the end, we decided to refund the final night which is April 1 just to close this chapter. But Bell was still not happy to not get her full 2 nights. Hence, this nasty review.

Bell and family during their stay, did not bother to buy a phone card. They made use of our wifi to demand service up to their doorstep. As a result of that, the poor caterer had to travel to our place, 10 minutes away just to take Bell's orders and go home and cook Bell's meal. This is unfair to the poor chap because he is just operating a small business and all the added cost like petrol is simply unnecessary. A simple phone message or call would suffice.

On a totally scary note, after Bell and family's departure, our housekeeper had found 5 pins stuck in the mattress. If our housekeeper had not managed to do so, could you imagine the downward consequences?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonie M
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutly beutiful”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a stunning place to stay, it has to be seen to be believed.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

Would defiantly recommend the food delivery service, very tasty and it worked out less expensive than the supermarket.

Our children loved the pool and the monkeys.

A wonderful end to our big trip abroad.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HebaSheha...
Amman, Jordan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
9
people found this review helpful

So many of our friends who have previously been to Malaysia advised us not to go to a rainforest location since we might not find it to be tourist friendly. We made up our mind and decided to stay at the Templar Park Rainforest Retreat for 2 nights directly after we arrived from our late night flight from Jordan.
The owners Mr. Saw and Mrs. Saw were patiently waiting for us although it was already 3 Am!
From the moment we arrived we were in awe!Even at night the place was magical and captivating. We spent the night in our air conditioned rooms and woke up to the breathtaking views overlooked by the retreat.
The whole experience was humbling, the power and beauty of nature is really beyond us humans.
Mr. Saw and his family make you feel at home. Always offering to help and getting to know them was one of the highlights of our trip.
The place is very private and intimate, you feel like you are their to cleanse your soul. The swimming pool is beautiful and relaxing. The monkeys are harmless but such naughty thieves! They would steal away any food you leave unattended! They even took my son's swimming floater and chew some of it :) but watching them is really entertaining especially if you have kids ;)
This place is such a great finding! Thank you TripAdvisor for listing beautiful unknown destinations to the world :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FreddieTi...
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“INFINITY!”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The Rainforest Retreat was absolutely beautiful. Every meter of the property was clean and well organized. The swimming pool and the jacuzzi were refreshing and obviously the view of the surroundings were breathtaking. Our stay was made all the more comfortable thanks to the wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Mr. Saw and his wife. I was celebrating my birthday, so I asked them to assist me by ordering a special occasion cake. She graciously complied and presented me with a beautiful and delicious cake from a local bakeshop. Next, Mr. Saw showed his kindness by offering to drive us to the nearby waterfalls, and he frequently recommended other useful information such as trustworthy city tour drivers and places to visit. I can honestly say that this place is operated at a very high standard by people that are extremely kind, down to earth, and thoughtful. They make you feel at home and they treat you like good friends from the moment you arrive. The Rainforest Retreat, the owners, and supporting staff's wonderful hospitality has made an outstanding impression that reflects admirably on themselves and Malaysia. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends, as well as friends of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: I liked the peaceful, quiet surroundings.
Liked least: My pillows.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyYLL
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“HIdden gem in the city”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Brought the young & the old to this lovely place for a one night stay to get away from city, not knowing what to expect.
No regrets at all!

it was just a short 30minutes drive from our place in Kota Damansara.

Once there, it's like being in a totally different place, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. This retreat has 4 bedrooms - 2 family rooms and 2 couple rooms.
The owners are such genuine and lovely people who are so hands-on in welcoming us and making us feel at home, coming to chit chat with my parents and bringing out the water guns to occupy my kids.
They provided us with all the cutlery/items we needed for BBQ... and more! Some of the items provided at the retreat - Bread, butter, eggs, peanut butter, 3-in1 coffee, honey...some new, some left by the previous guests but checked by owners. A huge fridge is provided to place all your fresh food.
Towels, shower gel & shampoo are provided.

All of us - the young and the old had a great time surrounded by nature that we wish we had stayed on longer, especially when the owner himself made us feel really at home.

The owners are in the midst of building a swimming pool for the retreat, which will be an added attraction. will definitely come again!

TIPS: Do not leave food unattended. the monkeys around this lovely retreat are really mischievous. They eyed our food and even came grab our 3-in-1 coffee up to the tree, only to throw it down after tearing up all the sachets only to realise they didn't like what they manage to grab! Rubbish bins must be closed tightly at all times. Rooms door - please do not leave it open. Other than that, please do not feel afraid of the monkeys, as they are usually harmless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of owner, fresh air, lovely view
Liked least: Having to be on guard of the monkeys
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing