We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic French Countryside Retreat”

Review of La Petite Ferme

La Petite Ferme 16 th Century  Farmhouse Bay of Mont St Michel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Petite Ferme 16 th Century  Farmhouse Bay of Mont St Michel
Our converted 14 th Century Barn perfect for al fresco dining! Our spacious lounge a place to relax & enjoy pre dinner drinks!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
La Petite Ferme 16 th Century  Farmhouse Bay of Mont St Michel
Our converted 14 th Century Barn perfect for al fresco dining!
Our spacious lounge a place to relax & enjoy pre dinner drinks!
breakfast is served in the recently converted dining room
evening meals are served by candle light & warmed by our woodburner in our converted barn
Rose our spacious family room, sleeps up to 6
Rose features a double bed & 4 singles, plus private ensuite shower room
Marguerite our ground floor room features a double bed & bunk beds
Marguerite Ensuite Bathroom
Marguerite has an ensuite bathroom with bath,shower& twin washbasins
hello!
arent we cute
baby gosling
Barn Dining Summer 2010
Le Mont St Michel just 15 mins away!
beautiful  Cancale beach less than 40 Mins
historic Dinan a MUST see
Pontorson has an excellent weekly market
St Malo history plus beautiful beaches
our farmhouse kitchen, the heart of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Sacey, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Cully24
Bethlehem, PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Idyllic French Countryside Retreat”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

You know you've hit the jackpot when the place in which you choose to stay becomes as meaningful a part of your trip as the sights and activities on your traveling agenda. That's what happened to my wife and me when we spent three nights recently at Le Petite Ferme, just outside of Pontorson. When searching for a B&B for our trip to the Mount St-Michel area, I followed the advice of those on Trip Advisor who suggested staying somewhere near... but not TOO near... the abbey itself. This advice fit us perfectly, as we weren't interested in the cheesy roadside attractions, mediocre restaurants, or busloads of tourists visiting the area. What we got instead was three nights in an old French country farm, lovingly preserved by Stephen and Helen Wilson. That the Wilsons are English transplants didn't hurt, as these were our first three nights in France and we were able to ease into the language issues. That they are wonderful people and superb hosts didn't hurt either. Stephen and Helen have taken this old farm and created a welcoming, warm countryside haven for travelers. The original part of the house itself was built in the early 17th century. The room we had was warm, cozy, clean and comfortable, with all amities provided for. And let's not overlook the food. Each morning we had a wonderful breakfast; from huge omelets made with eggs straight from the on-site free-range chickens, to Helen's own fresh baked breads, served with her homemade berry jam and to-die-for lemon curd. And that's just breakfast. Dinners are available with 24-hour notice. In our case, I had a special request: Since I knew that four friends of ours were going to be in the vicinity one evening, I had pre-arranged for a dinner for six. Stephen must have spent all day preparing the incredible slow-cooked pork dinner, served with his own sauce, made from one of the regions major crops, apples. A huge salad, roasted fresh vegetables, fresh breads, and a variety of local wines, as well as the regional brandy, Calvados, helped wash it all down. We all had room for the dessert plate, consisting of three different delectable offerings, all homemade by Helen, and all divine. Oh, and did I mention that this was all served to us in Le Petite Ferme's 16th century stone barn? If your idea of cuisine is a continental breakfast at a hotel chain, there's a Best Western nearby. But if you think it might be fun to wake up in the morning, walk out your door, and be greeted by 15 month-old Sophie being followed around by a chicken, then check this place out. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts, the food, the location and atmosphere... and Sophie!
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
What can we say in response to such lovely comments!

Thank you so much for your kind words having guests who appreciate what we do makes our job a pleasure.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

It was lovely to meet you both..... a bientot j'éspere!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Friendly family, welcomed into their home, not just a business. Well done!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fitzmom2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 4 and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was very spacious for the 4 of us. The location is good because you are close enough to visit the local attractions and enjoy the peacefulness of the country. The farm is adorable, the continental breakfast is fresh, and the accommodations are pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AleMat_12
Zug, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous hospitality”
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The stay at la Petite Ferme was a Highlight of our vacation in Normandy. The cooking was great and we were treated like family. The location is absolutely perfect, as one can conveniently reach Mont-Saint-Michel, Saint Malo and most other interesting sites of the Lower Normandy and Eastern Bretagne. The trip tips we received from Helen were great, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The kind and familiar guest treatment.
Liked least: The weather (i guess Helen tried hard, but couldn't change it)
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hunneybea...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I don't want to leave...”
Reviewed 16 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

What a wonderful welcome to first timers to this area of France! From the time we arrived until we departed La Petite Ferme we were made to feel like old friends rather than guests.
Our accommodation was spacious and comfortable. The meals prepared by Stephen and Helen accompanied by a selection of French wines were a real treat. Our charming hosts enthusiastically shared their knowledge of the area with suggestions on the roads less travelled. Helen even arranged ongoing train travel for when dropped off our rental car.
We look forward to returning to our French hideaway

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our delightful hosts and delicious meals with French wines - it was bliss
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Privacy of the separate unit
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaxxandTi...
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Our family of four was very comfortable at La Petite Ferme. The dinner was amazing, our room comfortable and very clean, the bathroom spacious and equipped with great shelving for all. La Petite Ferme is handsomely and comfortably decorated with large leather chairs and warm dining area. Our host family was very personable and welcoming. A great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Relaxing dinner and overnight accommodations. Wonderful hosts.
Liked least: Having to leave early the next morning.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing