We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very warm and welcoming staff team.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stepps
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Deer Village Holiday Park
Notts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very warm and welcoming staff team.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed on a hardstanding caravan pitch for 8 nights during the Commonwealth Games - our pitch, site and toilet facilities were all good.

The atmosphere on site during the CWG was excellent - lots of liked minded Campers on site.

The best part of the stay was the very supportive and helpful staff team - a particular thank you to Betty and Ashleigh but there were many others. Our son was competing in the Games and we therefore had friends and family arriving at all times - the staff team could not have been more supportive.

Many thanks

Paul and Dee..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Padcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just spent two nights at this site and we were so pleased with everything. The site is so clean, neat and tidy. We were given information on everything we could possibly have needed and as we were there for the Commonwealth games we had information for that also. Free Wifi is included and that was a diddle to connect. The staff were very friendly and they even put on a curtesy bus into Glasgow. We would definitely recommend this site. The price did go up for the games but it was worth every penny.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeboDebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Came to stay during the commonwealth games,
we camped in a tent were the area was extremely well kept,the check in was outstanding,
the office staff had all the info u could ask for!
Including bus,train times.
maps of all the venues,event times,a free mini bus drop off 3-4 times daily and would have went more if asked.some of the staff even travelled on the bus to make it great fun by singing and dancing!!
The toilets were the cleanest I have ever seen!!!

the prices we no more expensive than anywhere else during this time.
What people seem to forget is that it is your choice to pay these prices at the time and if this is your choice don't complain after the fact.............some people u just can't please!!!!
As to the comment "waste of money" my tent was a 5 man tent and they had no problems with it,,as for the price It was the same as all my camping friends who we meet,mingled,BBQ with and have made new friends........at £60 per night for 5 of us it was a fab value for money!!!!

Room Tip: Best place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was very expensive for the games, £55 per night for a 4 man tent but everybody have put there prices up... The staff are absolutely brilliant, they couldn't do enough for us, the toilet/ showers are great, home from home with music 24 hrs. My car battery went flat and the caretaker was there immediately with his jump leads. My kids loved it, thank you very much and we will definately be back next year...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnJordanportree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Although we have cancelled our booking 2 days in advance, we still needed to pay the full charge. for a camping site, it's ridiculous...................................................................

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raquel3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Here staying for the commonwealth games. After paying over £100 a night was told our tent could be no larger than 5x5ft. My tent is much larger so went and bought a smaller one for this trip. Came back from the games this evening to find a tent (bigger than my original one and much bigger than 5x5) had been erected right outside the front of our tent, facing it....so close that we can longer put our chairs out to eat, get in and out the tent comfortably or have any privacy. Obviously have different rules for different people. Terrible...if this is what it's like up here we won't be returning. Have a few days left before we return home but can't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Red Deer Village Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are quite disappointed with this review, but mostly regarding the price quoted as over £100 per night. Our price for a tent during the Commonwealth Games was not this price. If you would like to contact me directly to discuss, i will be happy to investigate your issues.

Catherine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

we came here on friday to be told full but u can park in front of toilet block for £21.25 but no hook up either we didnt stay we found another site only £15 a nite including hook up and they dont charge for animals either

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcleod3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stepps
0.8 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
128 reviews
13.4 mi away
Campsie Glen Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Stepps (M80, J3) Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Red Deer Village Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Deer Village Holiday Park

Property: Red Deer Village Holiday Park
Address: 1 Village Drive, Stepps G33 6FQ, Scotland (Formerly Craigendmuir Camping & Caravan Park)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Stepps
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Stepps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Deer Village Holiday Park is situated 5 miles from centre of Glasgow, providing 26 hard standing pitches for Tourers, tents welcome. Holiday Homes (max 8), Chalets (max 6 people) available to rent (minimum stay 3 nights). Ideal for visiting Glasgow with its many attractions or for stopping over whilst touring Scotland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing