We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

After paying 25pound a night I did not expect much BUT This was way past expectation.Room looked like it was in the 1960's. Horrible worn out red carpet,foosty smell,ceiling tiles broken and hanging! Dust gathered in areas that clearly hadnt been cleaned. The bed was ridiculous it was nothing else than a slightly larger single bed that was to fit 2 people!!! The bed was full of springs that made noises each time there was movement. Overall it was quite disgusting. And I wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbly515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We came back from a break at The Quality Hotel Stoke on Trent on Tues 5/6/12.
We arrived at approx 4.30 on Sat and it was extremely busy which we expected as it was bank holiday weekend and also half term. There were 3 wedding taking place at the hotel.
We were served quickly enough and went to our room. The room was spacious, but very warm. On going to bed that night, we had 2 single beds and a Z bed for our daughter (15). We were expecting a sofa bed and the room was large enough to accommodate one.
My daughter could not get comfortable at all and the slats were uneven and broken. In the end, she took the mattress of and slept with it on the floor. The mattress itself was a little on the thin side and still not very comfortable.
Finally getting to sleep, at approx 4am, the hotel fire alarm went off and we all vacated the room quickly as possible. We went to our fire exit at the end of the corridor and found no staff anywhere. No guests were outside and as we were only one 1st floor, we walked down to reception. At no point was there any staff around to tell us or guide us on what to do or where to go. In reception were lots of guests and a couple of staff. The staff again did not seem to know what to do or say and it was very confusing, After about 40 mins and no fire brigade, guests began to go back to their rooms. We waited a little longer for staff to tell us what was happening. We still do not really know what happened, but only from what we heard, was that some idiots were running round hotel (possibly guests) knocking on doors, then set the fire alarm off. Nobody has aoplogised or explained any more re this matter and it was very badly handled.
We went to have our showers next morning, but the shower did not work properly. The hose did not stay up on it's own and you had to hold it with one hand whilst showering with the other.
We asked the housekeepers if we could have a better bed for our daughter, or another mattress. They said there was not any spare ones, but see what they could do.
At breakfast, which was a bit late at 8am as we would have liked to leave by 8.30 to visit Alton Towers. (7.30 would have been better). It was busy, but we were shown to a table and asked our room number. We sat down then went to get our drinks. Breakfast was good enough, but not a large choice. Then as we were leaving, I went to pick my key card up from the table, but the table was that dirty and sticky, that it was stuck to the table. It made us feel sick.
We came back that night and wanted to jump in the spa bath after a long day at Alton Towers. Got in the bath, switched it on and nothing. Could not get the spa to work, so just had a nice hot bath luckily.
Next morning, could not get the hot water any hotter than lukewarm.
They housekeepers only gave our daughter another duvet on top of the mattress which helped a little, but was not brilliant.
There was a fridge in the room the never worked, so could not have a nice drink of cold water in the morning when we got up.
The staff seemed friendly enough, but the hotel was disorganised and they did not seem to have all the correct training.
We were a little disappointed as it was a break for my husbands 50th birthday.
Would go back to the area again, but don't think we would go back to the hotel. It's big and old too and in need of a little TLC.
Shame as it was a 50th present for my husband and we also went to Alton Towers.

Room Tip: Not sure what to add.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsasnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Read reviews before staying but took a chance! bad mistake after setting out from wales at 6.00am for a day at alton towers with two kids we arrived at the hotel at 5.30pm had booked a familey room, when we got to the room it had one double bed nothing else quikley moved us (fair play) to two rooms but what a state! room 210 tv held toghether with gaffer tape , pat tested 2010 holes in carpet stains on ceiling and then down to the bar where we were told food was served between 7-9 unless you were the happy barmaid who bent over backwards to be unhelpful no food served at times advertised thank god for frankeys and bennys down the road.In short do not go there.

Room Tip: Bridal suite maybe
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lallysl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It was recently my 65 birthday and my family arranged for my wife and myself to say at the Quality Hotel, Stoke. We were greeted with a warm welcome, facilities we found were most adequate and there was the free use of a small but comfortable gymnasium with a swimming pool. Food was fresh and generous, my family even arranged for a birthay cake! In full had a great weekend, thank you to my family for this present, hope they do the same next year.

Derek Leese
Midlands

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here on Sunday night and Monday with my wife as a short break for her birthday, we have stayed here before twice with the children on Alton towers packages and enjoyed both times .
This time was a pleasant stay also for the two of us , we enjoyed a good meal on the Sunday night having looked at the menu my wife didn't like the main courses so a alternative was given and very much enjoyed thank you Aaron.
The room was a good size and well maintained no remote control or milk but one quick phone call sorted that.
There was a problem with hot water but we made do on the first night .
Second night very much the same busy with tours and Alton towers guests took a little time to get served at the bar but you can over look that .
We had theatre tickets so spent the evening out the city is busy and lively and can be Loud during the early hours but overall another good stay staff are great and make up for hotel any small issues I can see .
I would recommend this hotel as our stays have been good with only small issues please read a few reviews on this hotel before you make your mind up on who you rate it .
One happy traveller
Rip07

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Rip07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I went here for an organised function but was bitterly disappointed in the service and qualityof the food.

Service was slow and the food barely warm.

The advertised leek and potato soup was carrot and coridander, and the roast beef and yorkshire pudding was lacking yorkshire pudding. (The gravy was also mostly oil and fat.)

Not good I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitmonkey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Read reviews prior to staying did not dream they could be so bad guess what its worse,arrival to hotel there were weddings taking place foyer was a battle field when finally got keys to room it was like opening a furnace door windows don't open due to them being painted over cleaner gave us a fan but you had to build it yourself first!!we had been told there was no restaurant due to the weddings and meals were available in bar which is limited bar staff informed us that the restaurant was now open so we went upstairs to have a meal,to be informed that in fact the restaurant was closed we finally got a meal in the bar portions small gammon over cooked .the music in the evening was so loud the bed was vibrating and we were on the second floor phoned reception who told us the base would be lowered in fact it was the opposite.fire alarms were set off at 4 in the morning fighting outside police involved with that.next evening no better we tried to order sandwiches which it stated in the leaflet is available until 9.30 but not so kitchen closed at 8.30?we went mcdonalads. better food.there are rats running around the back of the hotel the heater fell off the wall, carpets worn and dirty furniture worn and shabby springs stick into you sinks don't empty no hot water on the Monday morning even the staff are fed up and could be heard venting there anger with some swear words added every guest had time sort of complaint I've never expericed so many dissatisfied customers at one given time reasonable price or budget hotel should still offer excellent service but nobody cares this hotel makes fawltey. towers seem 5 star.un fact maybe the producers can do another serial they would have plenty if material .this is a good reason not to visit stoke on Trent .this hotel use to be a place worth stopping at now its one to avoid like the plague.(well it has the rats)do not enter this place needs condemning urgently .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuppennce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanley
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
9.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
511 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent

Address: 66 Trinity Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Hanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Price Range: £41 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 135 bedroomed hotel is situated in the city centre within walking distance to theatres, shops, casino, restaurants & bars. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones & hairdryers as well as complimentary WIFI access. We boast a superb restaurant, 7 meeting / conference rooms, including two large function rooms which are ideal for hosting parties & wedding receptions. Free wifi access throughout the hotel, guests can also enjoy complimentary use of the hotels leisure facilities which include Heated Indoor pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi & fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stoke On Trent
Quality Inn Stoke On Trent
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke On Trent Stoke-On-Trent/Hanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing