We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but falling apart!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Carrigart, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly but falling apart!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks in Jan 14 & again 2 weeks in Mar 14 for work commitment. Jan, room noisy, especially at weekends and shower pretty useless. TV had 7 stations, BBC1 sound kept muting and other stations' picture quality poor. Cleaning of room was average but coffee and tea not restocked. March's stay in a tiny room with a big bathroom. No wardrobe, just a rail with a few hangers. Writing table leaned into the room and was unstable due to large lump in the floor. Chair fell apart on last day! Shower was good, TV same as Jan's stay and less noisy. Room cleaning was poor with the same cup left out for cleaning 3 days running. Beds comfortable but hot room, even when radiators off due to size of ancient heating supply pipes. Gym and pool great. Bar and restaurant menus limited and expensive. Not easy to get drunk at happy hour as bar staff kept disappearing! Nonetheless, would stay again as guests and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter. Check shower, heating, TV and crockery/cutlery cleanliness b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for posting your recent review.

Your constructive comments will be passed to the relevant departments for immediate action, as indeed will your compliments regarding the team here at the Quality Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    329
    229
    168
    241
See reviews for
251
319
64
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Having read about this hotel on here, I was a little reticent about staying here on a trip organised by a client. We all found the staff to be very helpful and polite. My only reservation would be that some of the rooms are very hot, and seemingly it is difficult to alter the heating or keep the windows open in many rooms. I however didn't have a problem with this, and both bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean. Breakfast was good.

This is a large city-centre hotel and isn't going to blow your mind, but it didn't blow our budget either. I would echo a previous reviewer here and say it is much better than anticipated from some of the negative feedback on here, and most importantly the staff were cheerful and welcoming.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brother T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your recent posting whilst on a business trip to Stoke.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall and that you felt the Quality Hotel offered value for money being that it is in such a central location.

Your kind comments regarding the team will be much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip.


Besr regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Despite the refurbishment service was awful on reception. There were intractable women at the desk. All problems of the group were solved with big reluctancy. There was an accident in one room, the mirror fell off the wall in bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Struna_Ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent posting.

I am surprised to read your negative comments regarding the reception team during your ballet groups stay here last weekend.

As I was present during the check-in, your requests were promtly relayed to housekeeping and actioned within the hour. Similarly, breakfast service times were adjusted to meet your groups needs.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanley hotels

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is central and easy to find, a nice big car park. My room was adequate nice bed linen and towels. I found the hotel to be too hot every room i went in bar, breakfast room and my allocated room. The self service breakfast was hot, a good selection and plentyfull.
A party was in full swing (Saturday night) so was a little bit noisy. Most staff were helpfull and courteouse ?? The building is old, they are refurbishing, well a lick of paint some of the public areas. Yes i would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your recent review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again on a future visit to Stoke.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst working in Stoke Hanley centre. Hotel is in ideal location so I could leave car and walk to the venue. It's a traditional old English hotel with lots of character. I loved the wide corridors and staircase and high ceilings. Very friendly and efficient receptionist. I had a single room which was well equipped, all the normal stuff. Lovely big bathroom. Very clean. Bed comfortable and room quiet so I slept very well. Excellent pool, sauna and jacuzzi. I didn't use the gym but it looked as though it was well equipped. I was on Dinner Bed and breakfast rate so had 3 course evening meal in the restaurant. Very tasty although vegetables over cooked for me. The Blueberry cheesecake was heavenly! Breakfast was excellent with helpful friendly staff. Car parking was included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noelyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your stay here in Hanley.

The team will be very pleased to read that you appreciated the service provided by them and that you found the room to be quiet and comfortable.

As you said, the hotel is centrally located with the benefit of free parking for guests and in addition, a health club with heated pool is also included in our room rates.

We look forward to seeing you again on any future visit.

Best regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have spent a nice week in this hotel. Great rooms, bathrooms as well as very hospitable staff. The breakfast was great! I can recommend for short stay. I never tried their Spa. If you are hungry, just go opposite of the hotel to Tesco and you can buy a meal for 1.20GBP.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your recent review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your week's stay here at the Quality Hotel, and that the breakfat was to your liking.

I will share your kind comments with the team and look forward to seeing you again when next in town.

Best regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Checked in to this hotel last week and ended up calling our booking agent to get moved. This place is disgusting, mould on the bathroom ceiling, rooms thick with dust and so old fashioned!!

I was definitely worried after reading other peoples reviews but looked at the website and thought it looked okay, the pics on the web must be another hotel, certainly not this one.

I complained to the hotel and got a really defensive response back from the manager, basically disagreeing with my comments and saying that everyone else loves the place ( I doubt it very much) we even met people in the lift who went out of their way to talk about how horrible the hotel is....

Trust the majority of the comments on here please, wouldn't wish this on anyone!!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CS84109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

As mentioned, you had already been in contact with us recently.

I disagree that our response was defensive, in fact it was factual. That being said, everyone is entitled to their opinion, including those customers who have posted positive comments in the last 4 months following the management changes.

Regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanley
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Address: 66 Trinity Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Hanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 135 bedroomed hotel is situated in the city centre within walking distance to theatres, shops, casino, restaurants & bars. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones & hairdryers as well as complimentary WIFI access. We boast a superb restaurant, 7 meeting / conference rooms, including two large function rooms which are ideal for hosting parties & wedding receptions. Free wifi access throughout the hotel, guests can also enjoy complimentary use of the hotels leisure facilities which include Heated Indoor pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi & fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stoke On Trent
Quality Inn Stoke On Trent
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke On Trent Stoke-On-Trent/Hanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing