We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited alton towers for the weekend and our friends booked this hotel. We had four rooms between us 2 doubles and 2 twins. As we did not book the hotel I trip advisored the hotel and after reading the reviews was very worried about staying here to the point of trying to book other accommodation. As it was bank holiday weekend we could not find an alternative my wife assured me it was just a place to rest our heads and alton towers was the reason we were going!! So I went along with the crowd. When we arrived in didn't feel any sense of ease pulling up to the hotel but I can honestly say as soon as I walked into the foyer things started to look up :) the hotel was warm and welcoming and the staff were immediately friendly and helpful. Ours rooms were clean and spacious and as requested. After checking in and over a 200 mile journey we decided to visit the bar which was reasonably priced and also family friendly. We then decided to check out the pool (the main reason for our friends choosing this hotel as we took our children) the pool area was great and warm! Usually my wife only gets in the jaccusi as the pool is generally too cold for her but not in this case. We are hotel snobs and generally don't stay less than 4star but this hotel was great value for money and I would stay here again. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay :) little tip if you choose to "go green" I.e. Keep you room tidy yourself during your stay you get £5 per room to spend in the bar ;)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveNicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your weekend stay here at the Quality Hotel with your family and friends.

It is pleasing to read that your fears were allayed by the warm and frienly team here and the comfort of the bedrooms.

Our swimming pool is indeed kept at a very comfortable temperature, and it is possible to relax in it without being over energetic ! As mentioned, we believe the hotel offers excellent value for money with it's free car parking and complimentary leisure facilities for guests.

We hope to see you again on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    317
    228
    167
    241
See reviews for
250
311
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We've just returned from an Easter weekend break whilst visiting Alton Towers with our friends. We booked 4 rooms for our two families of 2 adults n 2 kids in each, after reading the reviews before we went we were obviously expecting the worse!
But we are pleased to say the hotel is lovely, clean, tidy and most importantly friendly and welcoming, the staff could not do enough for you. They were all so helpful, of course there is some noise from the other buildings around at night but you are in a city centre so to be expected. The pool and leisure facilities were very good. We would all return here they staff are doing a fantastic job!!!! Great stay had by the Portsmouth families!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oconnor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your Easter weekend break here at the Quality Hotel.

We are very pleased to read that your families had such a great time here and that the team made you feel welcome. Your kind comments will be shared with them.

I hope your journey back to Portsmouth was a good one and we hope to see you again some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I don't know what people expect for a 3 star hotel when they write negative reviews. What i found were very helpful staff at a very busy time over easter accommodating me really well and without question or extra charges, moving rooms to a double room as my company had booked a single room. The room was clean, bright and good size bed and Tv in room. Hotel bright and spcacoous and the food was good especially the breakfast. So if you want a low cost hotel with good staff and good food and service don't hesitate to book here. If you expectation are of a three star hotel you will be above satisfied.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balds39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your stay here at the Quality Hotel.

As you say, we are a 3 star hotel with a good team and excellent facilities which include free parking and a Leisure Club with complimentary entry for residents.

Given our central location it is conveniently placed for all the local attractions here in Stoke and for Alton Towers.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed with my young daughter for 3 nights it was very easy to get to Alton towers it's a great location the town is nice and close all the staff are friendly and helpful and the pool was great to have will be going back when we visit Alton towers again for sure

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flynnwfc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay here at the Quality Hotel.

We are very pleased to read that your family had such an enjoyable stay here on your way to Alton Towers and that your daughter had fun in our pool before leaving. Your kind comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to seeing you again when your next visit is arranged.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Have just completed a 4 night stay at this hotel. As you come out of the restaurant, there is a full size advert for the hotel which states " Quality is not just a word, it's a product".
I find it very hard to disagree with this statement. Quality staff in every department, from smiling helpful receptionists, friendly and approachable management, ( thanks Matt), helpful and polite restaurant staff, with one glaring exception here, an elderly lady who has forgotten how to smile and who lacks even the basic skills with which to deal with people!!.
The carvery chef, polite and informative when asked questions, even the lady polishing the front door handle was cheery and pleasant.
The buffet breakfast contained all you could ask for, and more. The evening carvery again, plenty of choice of well prepared, high quality ingredients.
My room was all that could be expected of this type of hotel, comfortable, clean, well appointed and serviced thoroughly every day.
OK, it was on the front of the hotel, overlooking the main road, and the surrounding area needs improvement, but that is not the fault of the hotel.
The only fault I could find is one that is not going to affect most people, that of access to, parking, and exiting the car park with a large vehicle. It proved difficult at times, but was a problem that was not insurmountable, thanks to Matt.
The occasional smell of paint, and delivery of carpets is a testament to the ongoing refurbishment work that it taking place.
All in all, I would stay here again in the blink of an eye. The Quality is well named.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EggbertNoBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sending in a review following your recent 4 night stay here at the Quality Hotel, Stoke-on-Trent.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hospitality on offer and that the food and service standards met your expectations. Your observations with regard to one member have been noted.

Your review will be shared with the team, and we hope to see you again on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend had to endure two very long and terrible nights at the "quality" hotel and spa... The rest of the hotel was that bad we didn't even attempt the spa.
This is my first review on tripadvisor and I literally don't know where to start with how bad this hotel actual is, I can honestly say it's the worst place I've ever stayed, once you've parked your car in front of all the other derelict buildings in the area you make your way to the slightly musky/smokey smelling reception, once we were booked in, we made our way up to our room in what I would consider to be a home made elevator.... :/.

The room:
1.the carpet was a nice thick brown and not very clean.

2. The bed sheets had crumbs in before we had got into bed.

3.the shower didn't work at all

4.the room was extremely cold with no option of putting the heating on.

5. The television was showing two channels at the same time and could have easily have been manufactured in the late 80's.

6. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and stained...

Overall the thing needs pulling down, the premier inn I could see from my window made me reconsider ever trying local hotels away from the standard you know what to expect hotels ever again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alandima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

I am somewhat perplexed by your recent review in which you have found fault with just about every aspect of the building, including bizarrely the 'home-made' lift. In the cabin there is a plaque which gives the lift capacity and the manufacturer's name - Otis.

Given the amount of issues mentioned, it is surprising that these problems were not relayed to any team member for resolution during your stay when we would have happilly dealt with them. Obviously this method is your preferred option and ultimately your choice.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanley hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just the night during a trip to alton towers and after reading the reviews was a little apprehensive but have to say was surprised when arrived staff were very helpful.good Car parking and we stayed in room 310 and we had no issues with noise the breakfast was nice and room was clean and quite modern all in all very happy with our short stay and would definitely return

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil-sazzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your recent review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Quality Hotel, and the room and breakfast was to your liking. Your kind comments will be shared with the team.

I trust you had a great day out at Alton Towers and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanley
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Address: 66 Trinity Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Hanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 135 bedroomed hotel is situated in the city centre within walking distance to theatres, shops, casino, restaurants & bars. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones & hairdryers as well as complimentary WIFI access. We boast a superb restaurant, 7 meeting / conference rooms, including two large function rooms which are ideal for hosting parties & wedding receptions. As well as free car parking & wifi access throughout the hotel, guests can also enjoy complimentary use of the hotels leisure facilities which include Heated Indoor pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi & fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stoke On Trent
Quality Inn Stoke On Trent
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke On Trent Stoke-On-Trent/Hanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing