We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was lovely, the area is a bit grim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The room was lovely, the area is a bit grim”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here last year for 4 nights whilst going to Alton Towers. So the hotel is in Hanley, and for anyone who has not been there (as we hadn't previously), it is the effluent hole of Stoke. That said, I booked a suite room in this hotel for a not unreasonable price and the room was genuinely rather nice.

We did have an issue with staff accidentally removing something rather important from the room (a genuine accident I might add, not a theft, although still not acceptable) and we had some issues with the TV and WIFI (wifi worked only intermittently, and seemed to be a hotel-wide problem). When the main issue arose I was able to speak to the duty manager who came to discuss what had happened. He was very polite and understanding and made a reasonable offer of compensation for the inconvenience caused.

What I will say about the hotel is that because of the location it is a bit noisy, opposite is a sketchy chicken shop and there were people outside doing wheelies at 3am, but obviously, this isn't really the hotel's fault, just a downside to its location.

Overall, whilst something did go wrong and it was noisy, I would still be willing to stay there again in the knowledge that the staff are friendly and helpful if anything does go wrong. I would however take some ear plugs for the external noise!

Room Tip: choose one that doesn't face the chicken shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wakingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel.

I am pleased to read that the Duty Manager dealt efficiently with the issue raised and that the matter was resolved to your satisfaction.

Equally pleasing to read that you will return when you next visit Stoke, and we look forward to that.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    330
    238
    172
    245
See reviews for
254
323
68
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On the plus side this is right in the town centre with a free car park. Leisure club is excellent with good size pool. Staff are very helpful. Ground floor bar has reasonable prices. On the minus side this is an old building. Our room was dated and had an old telly with few channels and a bad reception. There appeared to be no complimentary toiletries, so take your own. The bedding was very thin and the quilt on inspection old and flat. Extra pillows appreciated. The room was very hot and when the window was opened all we could hear was an A/C unit. The view we had was of another part of the hotel. Bathroom was fine, very clean and towels looked new.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent visit to the Quality Hotel.

Your constructive comments are appreciated and will be discussed with the Head Housekeeper. I should add that the toiletries are located in the dispensers, both above the wash basin and bath and are replenished daily. The small number of rooms that do not currently have digital televisions will be receiving them within the next couple of weeks.

I do hope you will visit us again when next in town.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I was bit worried as I had read mixed reviews but went there with an open mind
I was greeted at reception by a very nice lad.
My room was nice size and bathroom was good too
I did not sleep well due to people being bit loud then got woken up by someone walking above me heard them pacing up and down
That of cause is not hotel fault that I wake up easily
I went to Stoke to go to Victoria Hall for a concert
It was easy to get to from the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teadrinkergooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stya here at the Quality Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we trust the concert at the Victoria Hall lived up to expectations.

Do come and visit us again when next in Stoke.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Pros: The hotel itself was in an ideal location as has everything you needed within walking distance. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Cons: The bedding was stained, the person who made the bed must have noticed however it wasn't changed. There was no way of keeping cool, opening the windows did nothing, air con or fan system would have been great. Also as it is a busy area, getting to sleep on a Friday and Saturday night was very difficult due to amount of noise from the club/pub goers walking past however if you're a heavy sleeper shouldn't be too bad! A bit of double glazing wouldn't go a miss!

Overall not bad. It did the job however I can see why it may not be suitable for others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel.

I will discuss your comments with the Head Housekeeper in order that this issue is not repeated.

We trust that this would not deter you from returning to the hotel on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caragh, Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice hotel easy find. The hotel is next to Sainsburys opposite tescos . From reception the girls where Great and helpful. I brought 50 kids no problems checking in fast and efficiently done. We arrived late at night we had dinner which was nice and plentiful and the same with breakfast. This is a nice hotel with good staff . The car park just needs to be lined out for buses or to leave room for entries and exists for coaches'. Outstanding place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard747_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay here with a group of children at the Quality Hotel.

It is good to read that check-in was handled efficiently and that the children enjoyed their meals on their overnight stay. Your kind comments will be passed to the team. I will organise a coach bay for future requirements.

Hope you had a good trip back to Kildare.

Best regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Good room rate and free onsite parking. Speedy check-in. Room was on ground floor, clean and well presented with twin beds and 2 comfortable chairs. The view was of a fence but hey you don't go to Stoke for the view! Bed was comfortable and coffee making facilities were good. We chose the hotel for location as we wanted a short walk to the Victoria Hall. I really can't fault it probably going with low expectations as per some reviewers comments but you get what you pay for and for me this was a bargain and a good find.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincolnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay here at the Quality Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable visit and that you found our location convenient for the Victoria Hall.

Do come and see us again when next in the area.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as we were going to alton towers near by . For the 49 pound we paid it was ideal really as we only really needed a bed for the night. The faults we found were that the room was really warm and we had to have the window open all night in the rain . The Televisions were very old school and only had 5 channels ! Doesn't everyone have freeview these days !!
The floor boards were very loud and creeky but obviously this is due to the age of the hotel but was very distracting in the night. The only other fault was the bath didn't seem to have been cleaned very well with hairs and a black mark in it , but on the up side the rooms were large and beds comfortable. They had happy hour in the bar which made the prices very reasonable although there was not much atmosphere in there at the time that we were visiting. The staff were friendly enough, they have free parking and there are plenty of restaurants near by . So if you are looking for a cheap bed for the night it's ideal ! Was cheaper than a premier inn or travel lodge !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel.

Your constructive comments are appreciated and will receive our attention.

We hope to see you againg when next in Stoke.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanley
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
5.4 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
377 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Address: 66 Trinity Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Hanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 135 bedroomed hotel is situated in the city centre within walking distance to theatres, shops, casino, restaurants & bars. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones & hairdryers as well as complimentary WIFI access. We boast a superb restaurant, 7 meeting / conference rooms, including two large function rooms which are ideal for hosting parties & wedding receptions. Free wifi access throughout the hotel, guests can also enjoy complimentary use of the hotels leisure facilities which include Heated Indoor pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi & fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stoke On Trent
Quality Inn Stoke On Trent
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke On Trent Stoke-On-Trent/Hanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing