We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 night's in the quality hotel. I won't be staying again.
It's very dated and tired. The staff were unhelpful apart from the gym instructor
The breakfast was awful and it cost £9.50
there's definitely better hotel's to stay in around Henley

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent posting.

It always seems a shame when sweeping adverse comments are made in print regarding a product, when as you state you stayed here for two days and yet did not raise any issues in that time.

I don't accept that the team here is unhelpful, nor do I accept that our breakfast is awful, in fact I believe it to be of 4 star standard. ( this is a 3 star hotel). Having said that , there is always room for improvement. Perhaps if you frequent rareified 5 star hotels it falls short, but then you would pay dearly for the privilege. However, for the record our breakfast price is £11.95 unless booked the previous evening at a reduced price of £9.95.

There are indeed some very nice hotels in Henley, and we are a very nice hotel in Hanley.

Regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    319
    228
    167
    241
See reviews for
250
312
64
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Ok so yes, was a little noisy, student nite in the area Monday not good !!! But all staff were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to make your stay pleasant !!! Especially in the kitchen !!! Yvonne was amazing and sorted me a vegetarian option with no qualms and a lovely warming sunny smile !!! We were a little dubious about the evening meal but having had two very tiring days in Alton towers couldn't be bothered to go elsewhere, we were VERY pleasantly surprised !! We didn't have ajoining rooms as requested on arrival but the staff were happy to help, and sorted the problem !!! All in all a pleasant stay ! After all, does anyone really sleep well when not in their own bed ???

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexd98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay here at the Quality Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip and found both breakfast and dinner to your liking. Yyonne and the rest of the team will appreciate your kind comments.

We hope to see you again on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as we were passing through Hanley. There were lots of internal stairs that we had to manhandle our cases to room after we used the lifts.The rooms were not air conditioned and the windows did the windows did not open enough to allow any ventilation. The car parking was close by and free which was great. Overall the hotel was basic but ok.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Inobest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay here at the Quality Hotel.

The recent hot spell has caused the rooms to be quite warm into the latter part of the evening and is difficult to avoid without the benefit of air-conditionong.

I am pleased to read that our free residential car park was convenient for you, and we hope to see you again on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel at 11pm after a very long day of travelling and spending the day at the wedding expecting to have a good nights sleep. It was far from that. All we could hear was music pounding. Initially we thought this was coming from a bar or club but we realised that this was coming from downstairs, even though we were 2 floors up and the music was in the basement it sounded as though it was in our rooms! The rooms were also extremely hot and the windows wouldn't open very much. One of the rooms we had was overlooking the street and was noisy until 6 in the morning. Not a very pleasant experience and we will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Serenaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your recent review.

I am sorry to read that you were disturbed by music from our wedding party which took place that day and will discuss the matter with the entertainment company concerned..

It was extremely hot that weekend which did lead to some rooms being rather stuffy, particularly those south-facing.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanley hotels

Norfolk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

For the price, this hotel is great. It's clean and the staff are friendly. The atmosphere is great, and the location to Stoke city centre is good.
Free use of the Gym, pool, sauna, steam room is brilliant and the gym dude went out of his way to make us feel welcome.
The bar and games room is excellent.
The rooms are nice and facilities are ample.
My friend didn't get the wake up call he asked for which was pretty bad. The night I stayed was extremely hot, so i had to leave the window open and was woken up at 5am by the club next door kicking out.

Room Tip: Happy hour in the bar between 5-7pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackwatch_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had such a great time here and that you found the hotel to offer excellent value for money. It was also good to see that you had the opportunity to use our leisure facilities.

I will check the call system to ensure it is operating correctly.

Your kind comments will be shared with the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here 24th-26th July. I booked via laterooms.com and paid a little extra to have the chance of having an upgrade to a suite for free. We had travelled from Norwich and spent the day at Alton Towers on the 24th so, obviously, by the time we arrived at the hotel we were extremely tired and feeling decidedly grubby! Check in was pleasant and simple enough, female receptionist (tall, dark blonde hair, red lipstick) was friendly and seemed professional. I enquired about the free upgrade, she apologised as they didn't have any available for the thursday night but did for the friday, we just had to check out and in again on friday morning.... No big deal and I was very happy! This, however, is where it all started going wrong. The first room was pretty standard, seemed clean, except the plug holes in the bathroom could have used a little more attention. The decor was nice, although it didn't quite match.

It had been a very hot day with blistering sun shining the entire time. This was reflected in our room as the air was stifling, even with the window wide open. The corridor was cooler and there seemed to be a breeze, so my partner wedged corridor doors, windows, our door open in an attempt to cool down a bit! We asked at reception for a fan and the lady who checked us in said she would ask housekeeping.

We both had cold showers, which did little to actually cool us off as the water barely drizzled out, very disappointing after a long and very hot day.

I was exhausted after 7ish hours of driving plus wandering around Alton Towers all day and, despite the heat, fell asleep. My partner, however, was not able to sleep. She repeatedly asked night reception (the same girl i believe!) for a fan and was told someone had gone out looking for one as they didn't have any.... Neither, apparently, did any of the shops in Stoke as it took until about 7 am Friday before a fan was delivered to our room. Totally unacceptable!

We woke up later than planned due to a rubbish nights sleep and went and checked out / in to our new suite. It was the same girl on reception so we immediately asked for a fan to be put in the suite for later (when we went up to the suite with our luggage, two housekeeping ladies were moaning to each other about having to hoover the dining room and the fact that "they won't come and clean our rooms".... Just what i wanted to hear!).

After another day out sightseeing and swimming at Splash Landings we returned to the suite and.... Surprise surprise, no fan! I immediately went and spoke to reception and the young lad on was extremely polite, apologetic and actually fixed the problem within 10 minutes!

The suite itself was a decent size, comfortable, but most importantly it was SO much cooler. The sofa could have used a couple of cushions to finish it off, one of the nets had a hole in it and there was a few crumbs left on the floor and table.

The leisure club facilities (which we used on our last morning) was decent enough except that a door marked tanning / solarium poolside was actually just a junk / storage room. Also the steam room seemed to be set too hot as it nearly burned my lungs when walking in. Quite a few tiles in the pool / jacuzzi were either chipped or worn down... Not the biggest thing in the world but it's all in the detail. Oh and for the record, the showers in the leisure club are more powerful than the ones in the rooms!

Key points:

Reception girl was nice enough but useless when it comes to getting things done / wasn't reliable. More team training is needed, centring around housekeeping standards and customer service.

Little details need addressing.... Scuffed paintwork, shabby tiles and net curtains that have seen better days! These are but a few examples of details that need sorting.... Perhaps they should have an independent person walk the hotel and see it with fresh eyes.

Under promise, over deliver! Air con isn't a facility they have, but why should a guest have to ASK for a fan, during the height of summer, when the rooms are known to be too hot? A fan in every room should be standard.

Said it? Then do it! If you can't do something, don't tell a guest you will, especially if said guest has already had issues!

It wouldn't take much to get the standards up, in fact I'd like the challenge and would love to take on the hotel, so message me if you want to talk business!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your stay here at the Quality Hotel last week.

I am sorry to read that you experienced some issues during your two day break and appreciate you taking the time to inform us. Your observations will be discussed with the team and measures introduced to avoid a repeat.

Kind regards,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We went to a chico's party on 12th july at this hotel. The hotel looked good so deceided to stay the weekend to use it as a base to visit Alton Towers.

Room nice, clean,T.v and tea making facilities, even a hairdryer, good sized room, we asked for room at the back of the hotel, as experiance had told us on a Saturday night, it's better to be as far away from the bar, and street as possible.As noise levels can be high if you have a room at front of hetel or over the " ballroom".

Room was very hot, although there seemed to be no way of controling the heating, we had to wedge window open to cool the room down.But as we were just needing the room to use as a base it was o.k. good for town centre literally 5 mins walk away.

couple of issues,

reception staff a little abrupt, when you could get their attention that was.After 10 mins waiting at desk we finally got someone to speak with us We had a problem with the shower in our room,which we reported at the reception desk, staff ( young) a bit slow to respond, and did not seem that interested in helping.Said they would pass it on to ther maintenance team and it would be fixed asap.

sunday 13th.

Lovely breakfast in resturaunt,staff there ( older) seemed to be a lot nicer, a lot more attentive and helpful.They seemed to take pride in their work,( better trained or just better at their jobs?) and were happy to help us with whatever we wanted even with "off menu" items. Good selection of cooked or cerial type breakfast.Couldnot fault resturant staff and chef


We again went to reception to chase up shower problem.Again surly looking " don't want to be bothered" staff,again eventually wastold maintenance would get to room asap..Also asked them best directions for Alton Towers, none of them seemed to have a clue , starange as it is a major landmark in Staffordshire.We went back to our room bemused.

Maintenance man turned up 10 mins later,was very polite, and fixed problem in a few mins,.Very plesant man helped us with directions, also suggested other attractions we may want to visit,took time to help us and told us about the Hanley museum, Moorcroft pottery museum, Trentham gardens, and again was very helpfull.Obviously this guy knows customer service,, and the local area.

Even told us great places to eat locally while out and about.We took up his suggestion about PORTOFINO resturaunt just 2 mins walk from the hotel.. EXCELLENT as the reception staff did not even mention any of these other placesHe .Even asked us if there was anything else he could help us with

So we would like to give him a special mention , i think his name was JOE, he is the type of employee hotels need, to make the customer feel valued. Gold star for him

resturaunt staff- silver star

reception staff - no star



If you visit this hotel seek out the maintenance man ( joe) for advice, he knows all the best places and puts the reception( who should know these things) to shame

Room Tip: the milton suite ( at back and outside of hotel)- or aroom well away from the front ( noise from st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank worldwide837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick F, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel.

I will indeed share your comments with the team, both those who excelled and those who didn't.

As mentioned, Alton Towers is indeed a major landmark in this area, so it comes as a surprise to read that the team member on reception that morning could not provide you with directions. In fact, located on the reception desk itself are Alton Towers brochures together with a map showing the bus route, prices and journey time. I will address this issue with the Head Receptionist.

We hope to see you again for the next Chico's event.

Kind regrads,
Patrick Fitzgerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanley
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Address: 66 Trinity Street, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent ST1 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Hanley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 135 bedroomed hotel is situated in the city centre within walking distance to theatres, shops, casino, restaurants & bars. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephones & hairdryers as well as complimentary WIFI access. We boast a superb restaurant, 7 meeting / conference rooms, including two large function rooms which are ideal for hosting parties & wedding receptions. As well as free car parking & wifi access throughout the hotel, guests can also enjoy complimentary use of the hotels leisure facilities which include Heated Indoor pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi & fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Stoke On Trent
Quality Inn Stoke On Trent
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke On Trent Stoke-On-Trent/Hanley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing