We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No jackpot here!!”

Genting Casino Stoke
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Hanley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Casino Restaurant Late Bar Gaming Slots Electronic Gaming Entertainment Poker Roulette Blackjack
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No jackpot here!!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First time here since changing from Circus Casino, and so disappointed. Booked table for 9pm, got a call later asking if i could be put back till 9:30pm which i agreed too, thinking it would be busy. On arrival we was impressed with the refurb, making it look very up market, but noticed quickly how cold it was, wish i had taken a jumper or coat. Don't know why our booking was put back as food area not busy at all!! Anyway after been seated for our food, the 4 waiters forgot about us, so it was 10pm before they took our order, by this time the entertainment had started, which was a couple singing songs from Grease etc, it wasn't the fact that they were poor that bothered me it was when the woman singer started to jump around in the aisles trying to get people to join in, while people were still eating. The plus side to the night was that the Gammon we had was probably the best i have had for a very long time, but the chef needs more practice doing onion rings, (to burnt, to much batter couldn't taste the onion). We decided not to have a pudding as the singer was still trying to shove the mic in front of us. Food was good value £27 for two of us, but disappointed about the £2 each supplement charge for poor service.
Another gripe i have compared to when it was a Circus Casino, the staff looked very depressed didn't see an encouraging smile all night, and their dress code (uniforms) looked tatty.
Maybe i'm getting old but, one thing i learn't is you don't need to doll yourself up to get in anymore, it no longer a special place to go, other couples we spoke to had spent all day buying new outfits to wear, only to realise your tracky bottoms or jeans would do. Previously we have spent 6/7 hours there, last night we were out of there by midnight. Very disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    16
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great night out”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

booked a table for a birthday party. can't fault the service (although the restaurant was quiet, not sure what the service would have been like had it have been busy as there were only 2 staff on) the food was delicious, although a bit on the sparse side, the soup used to come in a large bowl but now it comes in small dish that resembles a gravy dish without the handle! the steak was lovely, however there was no veg apart from a tomato and 2 mushrooms and a handful of chips, you had to order onion rings seperate. so definately not for those of us who like our food and like a lot of it! cocktails quite expensive £11 for 2, would have liked an offer on them say 2 for £8 b4 10 like a lot of bars do. they had posters up 2 bottles of kopperberg for £6 but they didn't have any in stock! There was no entertainment on the night we went. Some of us had a little flutter after, some of us chilled with a drink on the comfy seats. Footy was on the TV (bonus) All in all we had a great night, excellent atmosphere, lush surroundings, just wish the food was a tad more plentiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank burslembabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, Manager at Genting Casino Stoke, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are now offering a 2 for 1 on our cocktails from 7 - 9pm every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Night out”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Took friends out for a meal there really good,excellent refurb,staff friendly,we did have to wait to be seated which was a bit of a pain seeing that we had booked a table well in advance but don't let this put you off ,the two lads that waited our table were really nice friendly and helpful,there was a band playing reggae music excellent entertainment, food really good value and well presented would return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank trenthamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly welcoming and good food”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A very friendly social place to go wether to have a flutter at the gaming tables or chilll out having a coffee with friends or a very taisty meal in the restaurant

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“great location, nice plush surroundings”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great club, nice food, not over priced, sometimes have live entertainment Fridays / Saturdays (swing singers, motown etc) Money no object when they were re-furbishing it from it's original nightclub, good parking facilities and very close to Stoke-on-Trent city centre, just 250 metres, couple of minutes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genting Casino Stoke also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Genting Casino Stoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing