We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pottery making”

Gladstone Pottery Museum
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Longton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gladstone is the only complete Victorian pottery factory from the days when coal burning ovens made the world's finest bone china. Traditional skills, original workshops, and the cobbled yard and huge bottle ovens transport visitors back in time. Visit the gift shop and tea room and have a go at throwing a pot, making a bone china flower or decorating pottery. Please allow two to three hours for your visit. The shop and cafe, which serves a selction of drinks and light lunches, are open to non-museum visitors.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“pottery making”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

it was a trip back in time, and you had the option of decorating your own mug.the only thing I disliked was the weather I found it very interesting seeing how pottery used to be made and seeing the old bottle kilns.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    121
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great museum, hands on experience. ”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Recently went here with a friend who has lived in stoke for a few years but never been. We had such a laugh throwing our own pots and creating flowers to take home. Nice to have the hands on side as well as the museum and learning aspect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Really Nice Museum”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This museum was well laid out and made it easy to self guide around. Good well explained notices giving an excellent feel of the pottery workers daily life. Nice to see demonstrators who were more than willing to chat and explain. A very good history of the toilet, made me want to go again! Pleasant tea room and in all an unexpected gem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincolnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunningly good!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

One of the best museum visits ever! Brilliantly and imaginatively displayed. Good displays and set pieces, good information panels and video/audio display, delightful staff, several 'museums within museum' galleries. We needed a full day to take it all in. Beautifully managed. A real delight and an eye opening experience, most importantly, as to the working conditions of the pottery workers in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. So sad in some ways that the industry has declined so dramatically but not that we have seen an end to the dreadful conditions suffered by the factory workers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Gladstone Pottery was an unexpected little gem.
Plenty for children to touch / feel / do. My son made a fantastic bowl and rose, both put in a box to collect on your way out.
Tea room served good food and snacks
This is a great way to spend a few hours

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gladstone Pottery Museum also viewed

 
Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Gladstone Pottery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing