We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT ARE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT?”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WHAT ARE YOU COMPLAINING ABOUT?”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here as a couple on Friday the 4th of October, the night before we went to Alton Towers. I really do not know what all the complaints are about. It may be a little run down on the outside due to the work that is going on around it but as soon as you walk in to the hotel there is a massive change of scenery. The lobby area is nicely decorated and we were welcomed by a lovely girl called Chelsea who checked us in, gave us information on dinner and breakfast and gave us our keys. As for our bedroom, it was small with an ensuite, exactly what we needed. I was scared to enter the room because of the negative reviews people were giving the place. THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE ROOM. Yes, the furniture and decorating was a little dated but the hotel has been around for years and if it was any more modern you would have to pay five times the price!! Everything was in working order and the rooms were spotlessly clean. You are a two second walk from Tesco, Pizza hut and the small town center which was nice. We chose to have dinner in the hotel where I had burger and chips and my girlfriend had southern fried chicken. Top meal, it was lovely. Then in the morning we had a full English between us which was also top notch. The staff there were so down to earth and lovely, you could have a laugh and a joke with them and actually have a conversation. I really dont understand what all the complaints were about. If you are paying so little for the hotel what are you expecting? You're expecting 4/5 stars for 2 star prices. The people writing negative reviews are stuck up and fussy. nobody had any complaints while we were there!!! Idiots.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidM_1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    43
    23
    127
See reviews for
35
65
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I booked for my daughter and me via laterooms for a trip to Alton Towers. When we eventually arrived we were too scared to leave the car in the car park and check in. Whole area is run down and seedy and there is a sex superstore opposite. Stay away!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Longton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here as a group of 3, when we arrived the young lady on reception (chelsea) was brilliant, we had a laugh checking in, we went into the bar only 2 people were in but the prices weren't to steep, chelsea who was also working the bar with another member of staff he was ok bit of a proffessor green look alike made us very welcoming They were brilliant they sorted everything we asked them to including ringing us taxis to the local night clubs. When we went to the rooms the only down fall was the scoffolding out side due to work on the train track. We only slept in the rooms so not much to say about them really. Overall not a bad experience I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cockneysmithy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Staff were pleasant , food I must admit was amazing and the chef was brilliant but he is wasted there. Bar was full of kids who were clearly underage and on more than just drink. Could be a nice place if they sort things out . Until then do not stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbogjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We arrived after a day at alton towers, we got into the hotel and was gave our keys! We got into our room (115) first impressions were ok. I had a shower, but the bath was dirty and their was half a bar of soap, and a stained towel. I went into the bedroom as my friend was holding the window as it literally came off its hinges. Also the floor was stained and the bathroom was dirty. So overall my stay was disgraceful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonny1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Before i start i must say the only thing nice about this place is the staff i bet they get all the back wash!! Yes this place is cheap and nasty, we had to move room 3 times!! We arrived after a 4 hour travel so we were pretty knackered and wanted to relax a bit, we got our room and it seemed that the next room was having a full blown party this was 4 in the afternoon, so we were moved to another part of the hote,l as soon as we opened the door to the corridor it stunk! I thought we were entering the men's toilets, then we opened our room and it was swarming with bluebottle flys, we couldn't believe it, my husband killed 10 of them but more kept appearing, we finally got rid of them (so we thought) the bathroom was dingy and dark I was frightened to even sit on the Lav! I had a shower if that's what you could call it, just a trickle of water, mind you the towels were good quality I was even surprised there was a towel! We went down into the resuraunt for a evening meal, this was attached to the local bar which was full of young chavas! We had a meal which wasn't even worth mentioning, we thought lets just buy some Booz from tesco and sit in the room which we did and guess what there was more bluebottles we got rid but I couldn't sleep thinking of the flys, but even without the flys the bed was so uncomfortable it was like lying on a sack of coal. We complained next morning and we were moved into another room, compared to what we had befor it was much better but it was still horrible, but it was just for one more night thank god! The breakfast isn't much to be desired either! The whole place needs gutted!!! One more thing the area is a dump didn't want to go for a walk it didn't look safe!

Room Tip: It's cheap but not worth it!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Margyk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

dirty horrid and unclean rooms with horrid walls bed lumpy no head board one flat pillow cover had stains from bodily fluids and burnt furniture broken avoid at all cost staff not nice in fact they spend time going out smoking or gossiping i asked to ring me cab to new hotel as wasnt walking distance both manager and manageress laughed in my face how rude and so not customer friendly at all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate32001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longton
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
271 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#6 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
377 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 545 King Street | Times Square, Longton, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Longton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has now changed ownership and is undergoing renovation work as of the 15th January 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Stoke On Trent
Crown Hotel Longton, Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing