We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul hill says exactly what i wanted”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Reviewed 21 December 2013

hi. staff where helpful and obliging. Clean room with tele i visited in dec the room was warm and well lit, bed was comfy. the bridge works where coming to an end and there was no disturbance. I have read several slating reveiws, to be honest some people revel in casting aspertions. VALUE for money this certainly was. I would have no trouble using again. thx Paul

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

I needed a budget hotel to stay in on a recent trip to Stoke, so booked a couple of nights at the Crown.
Clearly it needed some work doing on it, but it was clean, everything worked and the polite and cheerful staff fell over themselves to be of assistance.
At £20 a night for an en suite room you couldn't really expect much more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkyHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

we wanted to visit alton towers for 2 days so i searched out a cheap hotel for a night stop over, i found the crown hotel and was happy with the price so i booked, i had read all the reviews on here and was a bit worried, we arrived around 8pm found the hotel ok but couldnt work out how to get to the car park "because of a road was closed due to bridge works" but i parked up and went and asked at reception how to get there, we eventually parked in the car park ,we checked in and went to our room, it was clean, we had a big bath/shower, flat screen tv, tea coffee stuff , it was all good, i only paid £36 for a twin room , i got what i paid for, i would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leachy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Road works outside of the hotel makes it difficult to find and access car park. "Ladies only" car parking spaces. Joke or not it's ridiculous. Rooms were old fashioned and worn out. Uneven floor and carpet. Televisions are not consistent throughout the rooms flat screens in some and the old fat backs in other. Shower dribbled. And had to go to reception for soap and towels as non were provided. One good thing is, it's fairly cheap. If your looking to just have a few hours kip without spending much time in the room then it's the place for you!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trishun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My friends and I stayed here for the weekend, as we were heading to Alton Towers.
There were road works outside the hotel which made it very difficult to find the entrance and it was very dark outside.

Once we arrived the gentleman at reception directed us to our room which was on the top floor, stairs were our only access. The top floor was like a little apartment, two rooms, one with three single beds and one with two single beds. We had a little kitchenette that only contained a sink and a bathroom that had a non working cold tap, a door that was very hard to close and a dirty window seal with dead flies on it.
One of my friends and I stayed in the room with the two single beds, the bed were comfy but we were obviously sleeping next to a boiler room or something because we had pipes going all night and were not warned about them, and there were really loud, kept us up half the night. We also think there was a pigeon either stuck in the chimney or something because it wouldn't stop chirping all night.

When we came to checking out on the Sunday morning, we had to wait at the desk for about 5 minutes before someone appeared. It seemed as though this lady was the only one working and she was running around doing everything, which was wrong. Someone needs to be behind the reception at all times because while we were there the phone rang three times and obviously there was no-one there to answer it.

The only good thing about this hotel was the staff we had on the Friday and Saturday night. The gentleman that booked us in and directed us to our room, was very friendly and he told us about travel up to Alton Towers on the Sunday morning as we had a hell of a time getting there on the Saturday morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights as we wanted a trip to alton towers. There was a lot of roadworks due to the bridge being rebuilt but after a phone call the lovely receptionist directed us to the car park.
We had a warm greeting and the check in was smooth and I must say he staff we came upon were lovely.
The room...well it was basic, sheets and blanket (we prefer duvets but hey ) and smelt a bit of damp. The bathroom was a little dank and to be honest we never let the shower curtain touch us as it looked rank. The other niggle was the cold tap was warm so no cold water to brush our teeth with. Bed was a bit springy but only coz we have a lovely mattress at home and nothing compares!
All in all you get what you pay for at for £55 for two nights we were not expecting the ritz and to be honest we only slept there so it did the trick.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernowanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here as a couple on Friday the 4th of October, the night before we went to Alton Towers. I really do not know what all the complaints are about. It may be a little run down on the outside due to the work that is going on around it but as soon as you walk in to the hotel there is a massive change of scenery. The lobby area is nicely decorated and we were welcomed by a lovely girl called Chelsea who checked us in, gave us information on dinner and breakfast and gave us our keys. As for our bedroom, it was small with an ensuite, exactly what we needed. I was scared to enter the room because of the negative reviews people were giving the place. THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE ROOM. Yes, the furniture and decorating was a little dated but the hotel has been around for years and if it was any more modern you would have to pay five times the price!! Everything was in working order and the rooms were spotlessly clean. You are a two second walk from Tesco, Pizza hut and the small town center which was nice. We chose to have dinner in the hotel where I had burger and chips and my girlfriend had southern fried chicken. Top meal, it was lovely. Then in the morning we had a full English between us which was also top notch. The staff there were so down to earth and lovely, you could have a laugh and a joke with them and actually have a conversation. I really dont understand what all the complaints were about. If you are paying so little for the hotel what are you expecting? You're expecting 4/5 stars for 2 star prices. The people writing negative reviews are stuck up and fussy. nobody had any complaints while we were there!!! Idiots.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidM_1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longton
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
4.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burslem
279 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.4 mi away
Best Western Stoke East
Best Western Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
384 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Address: 545 King Street | Times Square, Longton, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Longton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Price Range: £22 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has now changed ownership and is undergoing renovation work as of the 15th January 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Stoke On Trent
Crown Hotel Longton, Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing