We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID LIKE A PLAGUE.. Worst experience of my LIFE!!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Stoke-on-Trent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AVOID LIKE A PLAGUE.. Worst experience of my LIFE!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located ok, near shopa tesco bus station, but first impressions are.. What a grubby establishment, but I entered thinking it would be better inside, ok so the reception area looks ok, apart from standing at the desk for 15 minutes listening to the young lady speaking to a man and the pair of them swearing in the room.behind before they even noticed me standing there it didnt look that bad for the price.... I got to my room and my worst nightmare confirmed, the carpets sained, the bathroom stained the grouting was a mess, the light on the mirror didnt work, the shower pressure was like standing in a light rainfall, the furniture is tired the shelf felt like it was goin to fall off the beddig looks horrible something out of an old 70s room, there was dust in the windows sills, I wouldnt DARE have a coffee I ended up going tesco cafe.. The beds were unconfy over all ita a horrible place to stay dont stay here how it is still open is beyond me.. Oh and to add on im sarting to wonder if they even have housekeepers or if they do it then selfs blind folded drunj with there feet..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank misstruthfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    42
    20
    123
See reviews for
30
64
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

how this hotel manages to evade closure by the health commision is beyond me ...if there is any thing that warranted - stars then this would surely qualify as -5+++++.lousy food ,lousy service,i was physically ill for over a week after a 2 day stay here.the smell of feaces was overpowering ,the bedding had not been changed in weeks.i have never wrote a review regarding anywhere i have stayed ever no matter how bad...but i was so annoyed with the standard i felt obliged to warn others.if you value your life and health avoid this

Room Tip: dont stay here at any price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 560gaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Longton hotels

Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

stayed here with 5 friends on the 24th of April.

The breakfast took an hour, I urinate harder than the shower, the hotel was hotter than the bahamas...the bed was like laying on nails and the sheets smelt of faeces.

on a plus all the staff were friendly when they arrived.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Was GOING to stay the night of 4th May 2014: With the cheap price you expect cheap and cheerful but there was nothing cheerful about this place!! The first room we were given...sat on the bed and found we were on the base of the bed, the mattress sunk straight through, got transferred to another room which was filthy, the bathroom nor bed sheets had been changed but fresh towels were in place lol. The bed had pubic hairs all over the sheets and pillow and the bed base was split in half, the mattress again sunk straight to the base of the bed.
The bathroom still had used soap and someone's shower gel in it and bits in the bath, the toilet was revolting. Complained and got nowhere - felt itchy and didn't even want to sit on the bed let alone sleep there. The security guard came and verified what we were saying and agreed with us that it's not on and we left without staying there, to find another hotel at 10.45 at night!!
The security guard wrote down on their headed paper to confirm the state of the room and I have tried the last four days, leaving numerous messages with the staff for the manager to call me - he hasn't. They took the £30, all I want is a refund, we didn't even stay at the disgusting place!
Oh and another thing...when asking for advise on where to eat...the response was McDonald's, and when we laughed and said no, the guy suggested KFC!!!!
Don't waste your time here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed one weekend in February for a short break.
Chosen due to it's proximity to the Alton Towers Waterpark and was a decent price.
The building itself is a lovely place and looks like it was decent in it's heyday.
The area is not brilliant with the railway right outside but looks can be decieving, the trains never once bothered us.
But that's about it, first thing we noticed was the heating, there was none, except for a forlorn portable heater sensibly placed under a wooden desk....Then there was the choice of heating, cup of tea or watching TV but not all at the same time!
The bed was in a bad way and extremely uncomfortable. It's just a good job the missus didn't see the mattress before we slept in it or that would have been it. Breakfast was cheap at a fiver each but wasa waste of money as the produce was cheap and nasty. A decent breakfast goes a long way, a teaspoon of beans magical non appearing toast and a very unwell sausage does not.
The place needs lots of love and attention, from the dusty lampshades to the braced and tarpaulined ceiling. We won't be doing that one again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our dog, and we had a lovely stay. Lots of extras thrown in for the price! We didn't have to pay for parking or the dog! Staff were very helpful and courteous.
Brilliant location, nice bit of grassland to walk the dog on and centrally located.

The room was clean, warm and the bed was comfy, a bargain for price! I would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macadamia4444244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Alton Towers. As the rooms were only 32 pound each we weren't expecting much but we were extremely disappointed. We arrived at 7:30pm and were told that the "chef" had left so that if we wanted to have dinner the owner would have to cook. We found somewhere else to eat. The room was dirty, with broken window frames, thin dirty sheets and 2 thin pillows for the double bed. The curtains were different lengths, the shower curtain was mouldy, the mattress was really uncomfortable with springs poking into your back. It was the most restless nights sleep I've ever had. However the TV did work. At 8am we had breakfast at this hotel, (cooked breakfasts and porridge). They had ran out of orange juice even though there were no other guests there, so we ordered milk which came in dirty glasses with brown dirt in the bottom. The porridge was watery and tasteless and the cooked breakfast had grey sausages and bacon and deep fried bread which after 5 minutes of eating it I vomited it back up. Don't waste your money staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megalino525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longton
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 545 King Street | Times Square, Longton, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Longton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Longton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has now changed ownership and is undergoing renovation work as of the 15th January 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Stoke On Trent
Crown Hotel Longton, Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing