We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly - would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Railway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Railway Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Froghall B&B and Inns
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly - would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just come back from one nights stay. We booked a saturday night with a view to ordering a taxi to alton towers sunday.

Very friendly welcome. Room was lovely. Evening meal was to die for - massive portions!

Sunday we couldn't get a taxi as none available... Out of the blue, one of the waitress' offered to take us! Saved the day.

What more can i say other than if you want somewhere warm and friendly then this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    14
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
25
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Me and my boyfriend took his parents out for Sunday lunch, we decided to take them to the railway Inn after having such a lovely meal there the week before and we were not disappointed on our return.
The service was great, the girls waiting on we're very helpfully, and nothing was to much trouble.
The food was excellent, we can both recommend the beef and the salmon.
Definitely worth a visit, we will be regular visitors from now on.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kizzypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Well, as described on the web page, it has one nice room, We were promised this room, Its a four poster bed, with an extra box room with bunk beds, with outside access onto a patio area (BE WARNED) YOU WILL BE TOLD THIS IS UR ROOM AND THEN BE GIVEN A BOX ROOM WITHOUT LIGHT!!!! FOR 4 PEOPLE After as 2 hr drive with two small children we checked in, were given the keys, shown round our room (lol that we had for 15 mins) we were happy and told the staff this, we unloaded the car, My daughter was 7 that day so we were looking forward to a birthday meal there. So we were settled in, to then have the staff come and tell us you cant have that room, and that our room was infact a box room with a two doubles in...APPARENTLY LATE ROOMS BOOKED OUR ROOM (WE BOOKED THE HOTEL DIRECT). NEEDLESS TO SAY THEY RELISH FALSE ADVERTISING, ITS TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE, AWFUL EXPERIENCE ...STAY AWAY FROM THIS JOKE OF AN ESTABLISHMENT

Room Tip: Do not book as you wont get it anyway and will end up travelling home again
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I booked this hotel last minute as somewhere to stay after Alton Towers. The website states 3 miles but this must be as the crow flies because its longer with the windy roads around this area. The only room left when I booked for the 'Superior Family Room' with a four poster bed for £85.00. When we arrived we found the room to be not what we would describe as superior, average sized with a very flimsy four poster bed which the top could be easily lifted off! What made it a family room was the Z bed put up in the corner making the room very squashed and difficult to get around. There was only one picture on the wall which I found offensive and I think completely unsuitable for any hotel room let alone a 'superior family' room. I have attached a photo to this review...

The pub and kitchen downstairs was very noisy late in to the night. The room is advertised as 'flat screen tv' which is true - but very small tv! The shower obviously had a broken thermostat as it was either red hot or freezing cold. Overall as the room was clean I would have been happier if we had paid more like £50 a night and if it hadn't been advertised as 'superior'.

The food in the pub downstairs was however good and large portions and the staff friendly. Breakfast left a bit to be desired with tea and coffee made in mugs and sticky tables...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here on the 8th of June in room 4, this is a very nice little b&b bit pricey, we stayed here while visiting alton towers and it's only a few mile from it :) we were welcomed very nicely she took us to our room showed us everything and reserved us a table for down stairs, the room it's self was a good size double bed with a single next to it, bed was a little hard pillows were okay and there was tea and coffee, the waitor was okay just took a long time to get served and getting the bill I had to ask but the meal was okay :) breakfast was lovely and the little old lady was lovely too, I'd stay again if the price came down also the scenery it's very nice :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie19891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Bedroom was huge, bed comfy and linen clean. There were touches that made us disappointed with the charge for the B&B - there were no toileteries in the bathroom, or biscuits with the tea-making in the room. the pillows were hard and woke us up in the night with stiff necks. the breakfast was nicely cooked but lacking in imagination - toast was only white with brown not offered and there was no fruit of any description. The restaurant is run by a different company and their staff were very pleasant althogh the food a bit dull.

Room Tip: Room one has a four poster bed (although no curtains round it) and lots of space with views across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
150 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed here with the family for a night during a weekend trip to Alton Towers.

The inn is well located with nice views of surrounding countryside. Rooms were spacious though run down - our curtain rail fell off the wall when we attempted to close the curtains - but a nice touch was that the manager had turned the heating on in all rooms prior to our arrival, which was very welcome as the day was cold. The only downer was that the bathroom in one of the rooms hadn’t been cleaned properly with toenails from previous guests over the floor. Quite disgusting!

For some reason, all of our keys fitted all doors and it wasn’t possible to lock any door?

There were no ironing facilities provided, but on request an iron and board was produced very quickly. All of the staff were friendly and efficient.

Pub has a nice atmosphere and a fairly low key Karaoke takes place on Saturday nights. Service was good, food nicely cooked and reasonably priced and as an added bonus, the beer was well kept!

Overall a good choice and reasonable value, but housekeeping needs to be improved.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froghall
9.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
8.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
10.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Property: The Railway Inn
Address: Froghall Road, Froghall, Stoke-on-Trent ST10 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Froghall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Froghall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Churnet Valley right in front of the Churnet valley railway station at Froghall near Alton towers the lovely country inn has beautiful 4 poster bedrooms and family rooms. Locally sourced foods freshly prepared daily, Fine beers and wines. Family friendly restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Railway Inn Froghall, Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing