We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for 1 night, faulty towers??” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Railway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Railway Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Froghall B&B and Inns
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good enough for 1 night, faulty towers??”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We recently stayed here, as very close to Alton towers. We booked through agent, however when we tried to contact the inn, no one ever answered. The staff were a little clueless, however very polite, just seems they were just about getting by. Room was big, spacious, very stuffy though. Needs updating, especially the bathroom . Took me a while to a least get wet in the shower, toilet flushed when it wanted too. We couldn't lock the door, so had to leave open. Staff were run ragged at night, lady in kitchen was amazing, food was brilliant, she was so nice and welcoming, she did a grand job for breakfast too. It seems they just muddle by, day by day. Shame as could be such a gold mine with Alton towers so close. Not sure if would stay again....I doubt it but as I said more than good enough to get your head down.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BANGER79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    14
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
25
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have eaten here, this time with a new menu, last time was a basic menu as it had just reopened but the food was good enough for a return visit. Warm welcome at the bar from regulars and the staff, good choice of pub food on the menu and specials. My partner has the steak and Ale pie it looked amazing, I had the Cajun fillet burger. Lovely, well presented and all home made. Couldn't fault the food or the price, good value.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I spent 2 wonderful nights at the railway inn with my husband the room was very spacious an 4 poster bed with nets made me feel like a princess, staff were really helpful greeted us with smiles and couldn't do enough for us. The new owners Helen and martin made us feel most welcome and took time to sit down and have a chat to us, The food was definitely to an la carte standard with pub food prices, lots to chose from and well presented, We will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 good enough for a honeymoon couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleyjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a family birthday party. Food was excellent, recommend the fish and chips. Room was clean and nice views although could do with a bit of updating and shower gel isn't provided in the bathroom. Pillows were hard but the bed in general was really comfy and we slept well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FelicityR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My partner and I tried the railway for Sunday lunch, the menu was good but we are looking forward to trying the more extensive evening menu. The food was excellent and presentation faultless. Staff were friendly, value for money was great just hope when the new tenements have settled they might consider updating the pub a little. Overall we will definitely be returning and spreading the word.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent the Saturday evening here. Considering that it had only been taking over four days previous the new owners were doing a great job.

Everyone was helpful with a smile. Brilliant chef with reasonabley priced food and decent portions.

Yes there are things that needed tweaking but it was clean, if we needed anything we only had to ask.

Like to wish them every success and I'm sure we will be back to do some walking in the lovely Churnet Valley area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybilleeedsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

stayed last night, 2 adults 3 children..about 4 miles from Alton towers..huge room..bathroom was really nice.needed a new kettle and a revamp on tea n coffee in the room..maybe biscuits.hot choc . evening meal was nice but no childrens menu worked out an expensive meal...Breakfast was simple Danny got my daughter orange juice which was nice off him...i wasnt impressed..beans on toast for an adult-- 1 slice off toast and a few beans?? my daughter and hubby enjoyed their cooked breakfast .. staff were really nice ...if you have children and want a quiet night this is the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuffy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froghall
9.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
8.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
BEST WESTERN Stoke East
#7 of 12 in Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
10.5 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Property: The Railway Inn
Address: Froghall Road, Froghall, Stoke-on-Trent ST10 2HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Froghall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Froghall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Churnet Valley right in front of the Churnet valley railway station at Froghall near Alton towers the lovely country inn has beautiful 4 poster bedrooms and family rooms. Locally sourced foods freshly prepared daily, Fine beers and wines. Family friendly restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Railway Inn Froghall, Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing