We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See an incredible collection of pottery!”
Review of Wedgwood Museum

Wedgwood Museum
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Barlaston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a unique experience and a very warm welcome, the stunning Wedgwood Museum is the place to visit - whether you just like looking at beautiful objects or have a specialist interest. We are the home of one of the most interesting ceramic collections in the world. Our galleries tell the story of Josiah Wedgwood, his family, and the company he founded two-and-a-half centuries ago. New visitor experience for 2015! As a result, we are closing the site to customers from 24th December 2014 through until June 2015.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“See an incredible collection of pottery!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wedgwood Museum is a very interesting place to visit - there is the history of how Josiah Wedgwood started his pottery in Stoke-on-Trent, how this grew and changed, and the business came down through the generations to the present day. All this history is very well presented. I was amazed by the incredible collection of pottery that there is in the museum and it was very interesting to see how the styles have changed through the years. You can also see the staff making pottery in the old fashioned way and can even have a go yourself at making something (although I didn't).

There is a shop which sells a good range of pottery (very expensive!) and also a factory shop where the pottery is cheaper (but some of it is still expensive!).

This is an attraction which is well worth visiting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Front Office Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Wedgwood Museum & Visitor Centre. We are looking at ways to continually improve our visitor experience and feedback is invaluable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    52
    18
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“DAY OUT”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spent a long time in the museum whilst my wife went shopping in the factory outlet. Very very interesting and informative with so much to see - would need much more time to see everything. Will definitely come again to see more. My wife enjoyed the outlet and shop but unfortunately couldn't find what she was looking for. Nevertheless there is a lot of choice. Great day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Front Office Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. There is a lot to see at do here at the Wedgwood Museum & Visitor Centre and are pleased that you wish to return to complete your visit. Your wife may wish to try contacting some of the china matching services who may be able to help her with her search.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So much to see!”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We visited the Wedgwood Museum while staying near Newcastle Under Lyme. We had no idea what really to expect so were very pleasantly surprised at the extent of the museum complex. We first had a tour of the factory with a very good guide. There were only 6 of us so it seemed like a personal tour. We were able to see all the processes from start to finish and I was surprised how close you could get to the people doing the various jobs and how willing they were to show you what they did and how they did it. When we finished the tour we went into the museum which is both extensive and fascinating. As we had to continue our journey we could not give it the time we would have liked. I would suggest you could spend the best part of a day at Wedgwood. There is an excellent café/restaurant on site and plenty of car parking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank silversurfer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate customer feedback as it helps us to improve our service. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time here at the Wedgwood Museum & Visitor Centre and hope that you will perhaps return in the future to complete your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good couple of hours but pure book if you want afternoon tea.”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We went here as my wife has collected Wedgwood for years, the experience is in three parts. the museum, the factory tour and the hands on experience. We did not do the factory tour as we had our daughter with us (age 3) the museum was good and interesting although I think my wife enjoyed it more than myself. The hands on experience was definitely the highlight which let you speak to the experts as well as have a go yourself (and very reasonably priced)

The only disappointing part was that we wanted to have the high tea which was advertised at the entrance as "no need to book" but when we got there we found that all the tables were booked, so we had to wait an hour to get our tea (and the range was a little limited, they also used two bags which got an optimum brew very quickly but as a tea snob I quite like to have the time for my brewing as if adds to the experience.

Remember before you leave to stop by the factory outlet (the for is in the visitors car park) for lots of bargain Wedgwood.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelingM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you can be taken on a guided tour, ask for someone who can bring the museum to life. Our guide was the head curator - Nigel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wedgwood Museum also viewed

Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Wedgwood Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing