We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Wedgwood Museum

Wedgwood Museum
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Barlaston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a unique experience and a very warm welcome, the stunning Wedgwood Museum is the place to visit - whether you just like looking at beautiful objects or have a specialist interest. We are the home of one of the most interesting ceramic collections in the world. Our galleries tell the story of Josiah Wedgwood, his family, and the company he founded two-and-a-half centuries ago. New visitor experience for 2015! As a result, we are closing the site to customers from 24th December 2014 through until June 2015.
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After visiting the Gladstone Pottery we decided to visit the Wedgwood museum. This was interesting but not a lot of interaction.

Thank Pavonine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all comments on board and we are planning to address this over the next 12 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Wedgwood Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Came to Staffordshire specifically to visit the Wedgwood Museum and it was worth the journey. Everything you need to know about stoneware is here plus the stories about the amazing Josiah Wedgwood and background about the late eighteenth century. There are models, technical information, portraits, artefacts, as well as lots of examples of the pottery, including Wedgwood's trial pieces.

Thank OldTownResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found it fascinating. Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went on a sunday and started by going to the restaurant and having a lovely roast dinner! (On wedgwood plates of course!). We went around the exhibition which took a couple of hours. Was very good and interesting. The exhibition was very quiet- I think there were maybe 10 people there in total, however, judging by the size of the cafe it gets busy! So I was glad that it was peaceful and meant that we could take our time.

Thank dolce309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all customer feedback. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed looking around and appreciated the peace within the galleries. During the high season, the site is very busy. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Walked to the museum through the park at Barlaston.....a very long walk but worth it. There is so much to see and enjoy at the Wedgwood museum you need to allow a whole day. There are good restaurant facilities and also a shop where you can purchase the china at a good price.

Thank Ruth808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I organised a Museum Discovery Day for a group of 26 on 1.10.13. The day exceeded all my expectations. The welcome by Ray was excellent. Morning coffee followed by a brilliant lecture by the museum curator and then a guided tour of the museum.
I arranged lunch for the majority of the party (£11.50 menu) which was excellent quality and the staff were great
After lunch we had a handling and archive session.
The group also enjoyed the Outlet shop.
Highly recommended.

Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Everyone involved here really appreciates this very kind message of thanks and we are delighted that the day proved so enjoyable for your party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wedgwood Museum also viewed

Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Wedgwood Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing