We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good value!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wedgwood Museum

Wedgwood Museum
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Barlaston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a unique experience and a very warm welcome, the stunning Wedgwood Museum is the place to visit - whether you just like looking at beautiful objects or have a specialist interest. We are the home of one of the most interesting ceramic collections in the world. Our galleries tell the story of Josiah Wedgwood, his family, and the company he founded two-and-a-half centuries ago. New visitor experience for 2015! As a result, we are closing the site to customers from 24th December 2014 through until June 2015.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not good value!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were surprised to be charged £10 each for our visit and this did not include the tour, which would have cost extra. I think you are paying for the modern new building that houses the collection - I expected a lot more for my money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeanLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, General Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry to learn that you felt you did not get good value for your money. The factory tour is an extra cost due to not all guests wishing to go on it. We are due to review our pricing structure (we have held our current prices since 2011) and will take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    49
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The visitor centre and museum are undergoing a massive building program, but the attractions are still open. The guided tour of the factory is fascinating and shows how a modern pottery factory works. The seconds shop has access to the "Hands On" section, where traditional methods of pottery making are shown. You can try your hand on a potter's wheel, or decorate a pot. The restaurant does an excellent afternoon tea. We had pre- booked ours and it came served on a bone china tea service. The perfect end to a great day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malc-H-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, General Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are really pleased to hear that the redevelopments on site did not affect your day with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed your day here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Came to visit on 5th march with my fiancé. I must say I enjoyed the walk round the museum looking at all the great stuff. The restaurant was nice to. Enjoyed the factory tour to. Got some great bargain items to in the outlet shop

Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, General Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We welcome all feedback and are really pleased that you and your Fiancé had a lovely time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on trent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A 'red letter day'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

A great place to visit if you like a bit of history. The cafe was a bit 'pricey' although there was a bargain to be had in the factory shop

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrahamandD0nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, General Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your visit on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback as this helps us to meet our customers expectations. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the easiest by bus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

First of all the museum is great, hundreds of fascinating exhibits, a superb factory outlet with some excellent bargains and a lovely restaurant.
However the website says "5 minutes walk" once you've got off the X1 bus. More like 15 minutes along a route mostly without a footpath meaning you have to walk on the muddy grass verge (it is February) or in the road and where there is a footpath it's badly maintained with ridges and potholes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bookworm41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June B, Front Office Manager at Wedgwood Museum, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the museum. With regard to the problems concerning the route from the bus to the centre, we are about to undergo a major site redevelopment and these problems will be addressed as part of the redevelopment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wedgwood Museum also viewed

Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Wedgwood Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing