We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Upper House
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent(Stoke-on-Trent)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6(Newcastle-under-Lyme)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Longton)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Stafford M6(Stone)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plough Motel(Stoke-on-Trent)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
228
98
42
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
98
42
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teawedding venuewedding breakfastdaughters weddingevening receptionsunny dayspecial thankslittle thingswedding receptionlovely surroundingsnice breakfasthotel is lovelybooked a tablean evening mealfunction roomfull english breakfastlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed there for a romantic night with my partner and had a wonderful experience. The room itself was spacious and luxurious, as was the rest of the hotel. The surrounding area was absolutely perfect, as well. Plus their complimentary breakfast menu was extensive and well-prepared. Our one complaint was that the bedroom radiator was on a timer, and the bathroom radiator didn't work at all, and so the room got fairly chilly during certain times in the evening. Great experience, though!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely quaint village with a great but hidden venue. I attended a wedding here as a guest and was delighted by the surrounding and venue. Of a hundred or so wedding I've been this is maybe top ten within its price range. I've popped back for Afternoon Tea and loved every second, it felt like visiting old friend not a corporate venue.
The pricing was reduced for the midweek event and a couple of younger staff were a little flustered by some changes and requests but nothing too obvious. Timely serving and turnaround and very polite obliging staff. Our room as spotless and well stocked. few nearly country pub just a few minute away too if you fancy escaping from your escape.

Room Tip: On the left going downhill, opposite the green. I drove past it twice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The location of this hotel is lovely, just off the green at Barlaston and along a narrow driveway to the manor house which has lovely views over open fields. The house has a lovely atmosphere with wood panelling and large open fireplace. It retains the quaint feel of an old house. The staff were very friendly and soon checked us in. Finding the room was interesting as the floors were on several different levels with squeaky floorboards. The lift was slow and small but part of the quirky feel. We were there for a wedding and went through to the rear of the hotel which was in a modern extension. The meal was good and the staff friendly and efficient. Our room felt old fashioned but everything we needed was there. Tea coffee and water were all included which was nice. Everything was clean and the flat screen TV had freeview channels. If I was in the area I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was so releived to arrive here after my dreadful experience at the George Hotel in Stoke. The staff were very helpful, effieicnt and pleasant. My room was really excellent with everything in good condition and nicely put together. Water fizzy and still, coffee, tea, etc all on hand, immaculate bathroom and very nice products. Comfy bed, decent bedding, 4 pillows, clean carpets and no dust - such a releif! Dinner was fabulous value and very nice food served with a smile and courtesy that would be good even in a luxury 5 star hotel. I looved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewellsverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We were invited to a black tie/dress to impress event last night hosted by a friend of friends. We were all congregated into a spacious waiting room for pre dinner drinks. Unfortunately with it being winter we weren't able to take advantage of the doors that would open up onto an outdoor seating area/patio. This would be ssomething fantastic to look forward to on warmer, brighter nights.

We were ushered by Phil to be seated and the starters of tomato soup, melon or pate all received a resounding nod of approval as did the mains and deserts. The room was big enough for probably 8 to 10 seating 10 people with a dance area.

The food was of a high standard and we my wife and I, friends new and old had a fantastic time. The Upper House is set in a beautiful rural location close to a small village and convenience store and 3 minutes off the A34 trunk road. There are plenty of walks for ramblers and nature lovers or the canal for mountain biking. This was our first visit and we will be returning in the future for a meal with our family. This venue comes very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supanova000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews