We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 1 Barlaston B&B and Inns
Essex, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic and very tranquil. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The service was slow but the food was worth waiting for. It has very poor mobile reception and therefore the frer wifi suffers accordingly. But the location is to die for it used to be a house owned by the Wedgwood family!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, we do apologise for the speed of service – we have taken on board your comments and will ensure that staff are trained accordingly. In regards to the WiFi this is also an issue that we have addressed. We hope to see you again back at The Upper House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    75
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
91
79
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was lucky enough to be given a voucher for my birthday at The Upper House for afternoon tea for two.
We managed to reserve the table in the morning for the same afternoon. The weather was hot and sunny so we arrived early to have a look at the gardens and surrounding areas. Although not large the gardens are well laid out and I would think perfect for having photographs at a wedding or special occasion.
Inside the house gives the impression of old fashion wealth with its Victorian fireplace and everything done on a grand scale.
The actual afternoon tea was well presented and was enough for most appetites.
It consisted of a pot of tea or coffee which was refilled if wanted, four finger sandwiches each with a different filling, three scones each with a large pot of clotted cream and two smaller pots of jams and about ten different types of cakes.
The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant and the staff friendly and professional.
If you like to have a special occasion to enjoy this was well worth having.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GJackson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi GJackson123

Thank you so much for your review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is set in gorgeous grounds and the décor is fitting for area and style of hotel. We checked in OK and the room was lovely. I went to have a shower before we went for dinner and the shower is in fact a mixer tap!! Turned it on and there was no pressure at all, I attempted to wash my hair but it was useless so I called to reception asking for a different room but there was a wedding party at the hotel so no rooms available. There wasn't a manager available which I personally thought was bad considering there was a function on. The reception did call back after 10mins offering us a room that was having building work done but there was a shower.... by this time I'd already run the bath trying to get the shampoo out of my hair. We were late for dinner because of this which resulted in us having a late meal. The water pressure hadn't improved by the morning and we couldn't even clean our teeth in cold water and had to use boiling hot water. When we checked out, I asked for the manager to be told she wasn't in that day despite being told the evening before she'd be in from 8am. I did call her Monday to complain and she was very helpful and apologetic and gave me a discount on the room as a goodwill gesture which I appreciated.
Now, that's the bad bit out of the way, a little blip for the hotel which was sorted on the Monday.

The food is absolutely gorgeous!!! We ate in their restaurant and the service was great, the waitresses were lovely and we didn't have to wait long. We actually saw the chef later in the evening and complimented him on his food. It was the best meal I'd eaten for a very long time. I had the steak which was cooked to perfection and my partner has the pork which was also cooked to perfection.

The breakfast was lovely but could do with being served slightly later than 9.30am on a Sunday though!

Overall we enjoyed the stay here, the location is brilliant for a quiet, romantic getaway

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beech room which is at the very front of the hotel and has lovely views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologise again for the problems you experienced with the plumbing and glad we got a chance to discuss these on the Monday!

Thank you so much for all of your positive comments, they are appreciated and I will be sure to pass them over to the team!

Hope to see you again!

Kind Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Dining whilst viewing the sunset over the green fields from our place by the large window in the dining room was a real treat. The hotel has some quirky features that result, naturally, from its age and the fact that it was originally a family mansion. The friendly staff were happy to accommodate our request to change to a room with a garden view, versus one of the parking lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and south east sides are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddandvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

just had afternoon tea here at the upper house nice building lovely gardens we were shown to a lounge area while we waited .waitress brought us the menu we chose the Wedgwood tea although there are several options with just cakes and no sandwiches . our sandwiches were very nice and a good selection .there are quite a lot of cakes including warm scones which I have to say were very very nice with two lots of different jams and cream had tea and coffee and a second pot of coffee included in the price all this for twelve pounds fifty which is very good value the staff are friendly and there if you need them and they didn't hover over you so well done to all at the upper house will come again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, General Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi freda g

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

with Best Wishes
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were a party of 15 for our wedding lunch. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, we were given sole use of the conservatory which was just the right size for our party. The room was set out perfectly with chair covers etc. This was all done at no extra cost and the use of the room was not charged for, amazing really and made our day feel very special. We all had a three course lunch off the main set menu and the food was absolutely delicious and plentiful. The service was exceptional. Whatever occasion you are celebrating I would definitely recommend you go here it is faultless

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saddened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for visiting The Upper House and giving us a fantastic review. We really enjoyed helping you celebrate your special day and your decorations in the room looked beautiful. I will make sure I pass on comments to our staff about how much you enjoyed your wedding lunch, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Food was good but we had a poor service . Good/polite waitress staff but not serving at the standard expected at a fine setting. Poor Bar Manager with very bad people skills, we spent over £320 but were treated like scum by the bar manager. Would not return or recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We regret that your experience with us was not what you had hoped for.
We have discussed and addressed the issues that you have highlighted and we sincerely apologise for your bad experience.

Kind regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barlaston
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#5 of 5 in Stone
2.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: The Green, Barlaston, Stoke-on-Trent ST12 9AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Barlaston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barlaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Barlaston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing