We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang-Mai Thai

Chiang-Mai Thai
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Monifieth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant based in Monifieth. Approx 9 miles from centre of Dundee. Recommended by family member. I had seen no listing when looking at options for Dundee/Monifieth. To be honest, knowing some of the places listed and the reviews given, until I tried this place, a fish supper was looking like the best option!
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

A must go place. Lovely host and staff. Very attentive and helpful. Food made to taste re hot or medium. Each dish a delight. I am a resident of monifieth and am delighted to have this local.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    24
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“authentic thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Have been a regular visitor to this restaurant since its opening, it has never failed to be brilliant. We often go for red Thai duck or chicken in chilli oil. Leave a little room for pineapple fritters, delicate ly cooked in coconut batter, light and delicious

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jojoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't get what the fuss is all about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Came here on the back of several people saying it was excellent and most of the reviews here seem to say so also...but...

Have been twice to make sure and won't be going again. Both times the starters were deep fried to death. Spring rolls were about the standard you'd expect from a huge box of them from Iceland for £1.

Mains were bland. The menu is extensive but they somehow manage to make everything taste the same. Bland. A hot dish just has raw chilli on top of it. Our experience of Thai food is that it is fresh and fragrant. This isn't, it was akin to a below average Chinese takeaway and we were left with a lovely MSG-style coating in our mouths and grumbly stomachs.

No atmosphere and the majority of the staff seem quite grumpy. If you go to the toilet, make sure you are prepared to step around the bottles of Domestos, plunger, rubber gloves etc. etc. that are stored on the floor.

If there's anything positive to say, the small amount of fresh green peppercorns we had in one dish were very nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaRasputin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Best Thai food I have had outside of Thailand. Meals where full of flavour made with fresh herbs and spices. Very nice atmosphere and staff very friendly. Would quite happy recommend to anybody.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

After reading the reviews I expected a good meal and a nice atmosphere how wrong I was. The place was cold with no atmosphere. It took 30 minutes to be served and 50 minutes before the first course came a sharing plater for two but there was enough to feed one.another 30 minute later the main course of three different meals arrived two being cold. To top it all my wife and I both had upset a upset stomach after.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiang-Mai Thai also viewed

 

Been to Chiang-Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing