We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tasty fresh food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang-Mai Thai

Chiang-Mai Thai
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Monifieth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant based in Monifieth. Approx 9 miles from centre of Dundee. Recommended by family member. I had seen no listing when looking at options for Dundee/Monifieth. To be honest, knowing some of the places listed and the reviews given, until I tried this place, a fish supper was looking like the best option!
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really good would thoroughly recommend....good personal service...cosy atmosphere...great value...will certainly be back to taste the rest if the menu...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fmoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    24
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!!1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited this restaurant for the first time, meal was absolutely fantastic, lovely atmosphere and great service, will definately go back here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Initial visit wasn't the best.
Wasn't greeted when we arrived,
Just pointed to a table for us to go to.
Was in restaurant for 20 minutes before being asked what we wanted.
Restaurant was not busy, only 2 other tables plus ours, 3 tables.
Maybe the fact that only 1 person doing all the front of house work.
However the food was amazing and we could not fault it one bit.

Only thing I can say is if you wanting a quick meal then here is not the place. Took us 90 minutes for only a 2 course.

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Bill Bruce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

After caravanning in Monifieth recently, my wife and visited this Thai restaurant twice, once on our own and the second time with my family. We truly can't praise the food their enough. Ian, the owner, and his staff really looked after us unconditionally!

Helpful?
Thank wilson b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All we wanted and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We visited tonight to celebrate my birthday. The place is small but the better for it I think. It was very busy but we were seated within five minutes and the staff were friendly and welcomingb. Food was outstanding and NOT expensive at all. We were £ 50 for three courses and drinks. We will definitely be back. Can't recommend it highly enough

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steviejoex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiang-Mai Thai also viewed

 

Been to Chiang-Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing