We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than budget”
Review of City View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montagu Bay
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than budget”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Arrived late and collected keys in secure box. Room neat and tidy with basic furniture. Bed comfortable and room well supplied with self-serve facilities. The view in the morning was astounding, the view at night - just beautiful. Grant (owner) very friendly and helpful. Basic facilities, excellent value and perfect position. No complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
7
31
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woy Woy, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Thanks to Grant for looking after us whilst we stayed in Hobart. The rooms were great and the chat each morning with Grant assisted us with planning on our time in Hobart. All residents we saw were happy and friendly. The room had a microwave and fridge for storage for quick breakfast in the morning for an early getaway. Thanks again

Room Tip: View from top rooms of CBD in Hobart is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Service was good, friendly.
The sheets and towels were very clean and comfy but the hotel overall is very run down. My socks which which were clean got dirty from the floors, the bathroom needs updating and mould kill although the shower pressure was good and it was clean considering the condition.
If you use any dishes you will need to clean them in the bathroom sink which isn't ideal.
There was also an overwhelmingly powerful smell (like a sweet air freshener) when you walked in the door, not sure what they were trying to cover up but that's what it felt like.
Don't expect you room to be made up either!!
As for the location, its tricky to get to due to the roads around it which is a pain. Its definitely not a good walk to the city as you need to go over a huge busy bridge and it would take you about an hour (getting back is mostly uphill). Further to this the traffic is a constant noise too...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montagu Bay hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We recently stayed in Hobart for NYE 2013.The City View motel was an ideal spot .Close to everything.Clean room and bedding .View was fantastic .Great spot to view the 2013 fireworks!Good clean ,budget accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indi5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We booked this motel because it was affordable and the reviews were okay. Also many in the city were full.
It was quite difficult to find at the first time. Just keep to the left. And going to the city needs to take a u-turn, and some people may not like it. But it's just about 10mins to the city so I think it is acceptable. A shopping center is within 5mins drive, where you can find coles, woolworths, gloria jeans coffee, and a small foodcourt.
The man in-charge was nice and provided much information he thought we might need even though we didn't ask. We did appreciate that.
The bed was comfortable, but the bathroom wasn't very clean when we arrived. Some hair was on the floor, but overall it was still acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkitchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Spent a weekend at City View. Room was great, clean and comfortable.
We arrived early and no problems dropping off our luggage, prior to checking in.
Views of Hobart are great.
It can be a little tricky to find from the airport, but is easily accessible from the Hobart city centre.
I'd suggest hiring a car as it is 10 minute trip from the city centre, and other means of transport are a little scarce.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed for one night and had to find the place in the dark which wasn't easy.
The rooms had clean linen but that's all I can say that is good about the place.
The furniture was old, shabby and in disrepair. The stale cigarette smell in the room was covered up with room freshener. This was overpowering. Deffinitely would not recommend this motel to anyone else. Not value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagu Bay
1.7 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#6 of 48 in Hobart
1,216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
10.5 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Beltana Hotel-Motel
#2 of 2 in Lindisfarne
45 reviews
2.1 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City View Motel

Property: City View Motel
Address: 30 Tasman Hwy, Montagu Bay, Clarence, Tasmania 7018, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Montagu Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montagu Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from that hustle and bustle of the city, unwind back to the 60's with one of Hobart's hidden secrets. With one of the finest view you can ever imagine, City View Motel has it all... Let us delight you. Discover the ambience of the motels 1960s architecture with 21st Century service at the City View Motel. Located high up on the Eastern shore of Hobart's Derwent River, by the footsteps of the Gordon Hill nature reserve, we are a gateway to a spectacular visual experience. Ideal accommodation with elegance, simplicity, tranquillity and abundant native wildlife are the hallmarks of City View Motel. Enjoy the magnificent city and mountain vistas whilst relaxing in the comfort of your own room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your City View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing