We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Phil P
Melbourne, Australia

5 times and a great place to be

Review of City View Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2020via mobile
Great value motel stunning views and a really nice helpful owner/manager Grant, a short walk to the bus stop and less than 6 minutes from the Hobart City Centre. Will I go back, certainly and happily recommend it to my friends.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • eDreams
1.7 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£104
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £104
1.9 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£132
  • Priceline
    £142
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Hotels.com
    £156
1.9 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
General
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £48
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £88
  • Agoda.com
    £80
  • Priceline
    £88
1.9 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £109
  • Priceline
    £109
  • Hotels.com
    £109
2.0 miles from City View Motel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £183
  • Booking.com
1.9 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Somerset on the Pier - Executive Apartment Living and Dining
£149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £170
  • Hotels.com
    £149
  • Expedia.com
    £149
2.1 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
HIGH RES Room bedroom bath and tulips
£132
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £131
  • Hotels.com
    £121
  • Expedia.com
    £123
2.2 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £43
  • Booking.com
2.1 miles from City View Motel
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Montagu Bay
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
19
29
19
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
29
19
7
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We were meant to stay at this hotel, however due to the uncertainity and COVID-19 had to change our flights outs. We had a no refund policy, however the hotel did not balk at giving us a full refund. Forever grateful.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 374ComingHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2020

We stayed here for a few nights with our dog and it was pleasant enough for the price. The room was tidy and traffic outside wasn't too loud. The one complaint I would have is that we only got 1 small bottle of shampoo between us, which wasn't replaced when the room was cleaned.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank O494JCjamesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

I recently stayed here for 2 nights, whilst the location is fine, I was told by the manager that even though my “deluxe” room had mostly a view of the highway running in front of the motel that I wouldn’t hear anything as there was soundproofing. Not sure where this was, because the traffic noise was very loud, also the noise between rooms was off putting being able to clearly hear conversations, television and other noises through the adjoining door.

All the light switches were filthy, and the bathroom whilst serviceable is nothing special, when using the shower the whole bathroom floor gets wet as there is no partition to prevent this. To be perfectly honest as a solo traveller I felt uncomfortable here and if I had had a choice I would have found somewhere else to stay.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank KahylaNoosaHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2019

Lots of road signs made it easy to find. Rooms are large, and well appointed with plenty of power points and microwave. Amazing views over the city. Grant was a fantastic host. Easy to get to everywhere we wanted to go, and Grant was always willing to give suggestions. Stayed before, and will stay again. Thank you Grant for a wonderful stay.

Room tip: All rooms have views over the river and the city.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AussieFrequentFlyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrantKinch, Manager at City View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2019

Thank you for your kind words. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019

The owner was very friendly and helpful and had plenty of tips to make the most of our stay. We stayed in a King Room, as did our friends in an adjoining suite. The motel was recommended by our friends and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and clean and the owner had put the heaters on in advance for us. The bed was huge and comfortable. The motel has the amenities you would expect for a budget motel, flat screen tv, microwave, fridge, hairdryer, etc. My tips would be bring your own drinks and snacks and hair products. The bathroom was well lit and had a good size mirror for the application of makeup. I found adjusting the shower a little touchy but bottom line I would stay again. The nature walk behind the motel is an added delight. We went for a walk in the morning and saw a number of pademelons and wallabies, we had plenty of time to get to the football at Blundstone Arena. The afternoon before we walked to Eastlands Shopping Centre to do a bit of shopping (about a 15 min walk), and in the evening we caught a taxi to the Waterfront Hotel for dinner - (only a few mins away and all Taxi drivers seem to how to get to the motel). Overall this is a very good motel and we really enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrantKinch, Manager at City View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2019

Thank you for your kind words much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews