We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding venue”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Enjoy the squashy sofas whilst waiting for dinner in the Old Mill
Take the table tennis challenge...or chill in front of the 65' Smart TV
Birds Eye View of the Courtyard
The winter sitting room, relax in front of the roaring log burner
Enjoy the bubbles in the Old Mill Hot Tub
Almost alfresco dining with the french doors open along the side of the kitchen
Cross the mezzanine landing to bedroom 4 in the Mill, 3 singles - kids love this room!
Ground floor Bedroom 2 in the granary, under floor heating throughout
Fired Earth Bathroom in the Old Mill
Bedroom 2 Old Mill - ground floor with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4 Hayloft with a glimpse of the Bathroom
Meet the Herefords
Walks through the Orchards
Im Horace! 
Come and say Hi to me and my friend Roger
Walk here, from your door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Lyonshall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StevieH11...
Walsall
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My wife and daughters booked the Old Mill, Hayloft and Wainhouse as a surprise for my 60th birthday. We took 10 bedrooms to accommodate 20 guests and all the rooms were spotlessly clean with en suites and king size beds. All areas are beautifully decorated and the main area with dining table, kitchen and lounge is great for a large party. We stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday and had a fantastic time. We booked an external chef to cook our evening meal, a young lady called Katy, who was recommended by Steph at the Old Mill, and she and her two helpers cooked and served a first class menu. I had no idea of what was in store for me when we arrived, but have to say the whole experience was superb. My wife said the booking process and all further dealings with the owners was excellent and we really hope to book here again for future family events. Can't praise this place enough!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning property, very tastefully decorated.
Liked least: Nothing, everything was first class.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Hi Steve & Jayne - so pleased you had a great time and the birthday celebrations went well. We love Katy too - she is a fab and loves cooking up a feast at the barns. You left the place spotless - please do book again - perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a family party here over a long weekend. Stunning property, clean comfortable and tastefully decorated. Facilities excellent, lovely kitchen big enough to have a few people in there cooking together at the same time. Kids loved it, private and safe garden that is just off the kitchen and dining area. Hot tub was lovely for them. Plenty of glassware and crockery etc. Would definitely book here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review - we are delighted your stay was a success - sorry I didn't get to meet you. Please do book again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

8 friends have been meeting up having a long weekend break for the last 24 years and have visited many locations and different accommodation. We all agreed that this was the best accommodation we have ever stayed at. We really could not find fault with it! It was just so geared up for what we wanted - the attention to detail was super and the help and friendliness of Steph and Rachel made it a super break. I feel like keeping this place secret so we can get in again as I am sure it will be more and more difficult to find a gap!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail - we could not want for more.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
thank you for such a glowing review, we are thrilled you had such a lovely time and doubly thrilled you have chosen to re book. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeorg...
2 reviews
“The best half term ”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

10 of us spent five days in the Old Byre and Granary celebrating a 60th. It could not have been better.

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until the second we left. The Old Byre has everything for a cosy Autumn break. Log fire, comfortable sofas, and an Aga keeping the huge kitchen warm.

There was space for everybody to get together for meals, and find a quiet place to read. The children loved the cinema room, and the hot tub was enjoyed by everybody, especially steaming in the cold evenings.

The whole of The Barns is pristinely kept, and the inside is no different. Absolutely immaculate. Every night was comfortable and we left the week completely refreshed. Also, there was lots of great walking on the doorstep. We took our dog, who loved it as much as us.

We did have one of the caterers cook for us one evening, Katie Light, from Field to Fork, who cooked the best Herefordshire beef Wellington I've ever had. We highly recommend her!

We would whole heartedly recommend staying here. We will be staying again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you - you were lovely guests and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twain0401
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and a memorable celebration”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We held our wedding here recently and took over for a week. The whole accommodation is stunning, really flexible and has different environments for different activities. Throughout is the feeling of understated luxury with some lovely quirky touches. Everything you could want is, or can be, provided. We effectively had a house party over several days with a wedding in the middle. We had a large BBQ evening, an "intimate" dinner for 10, wedding meal (hog roast) for 30 followed by a caleigh and then casino tables. Throughout there was plenty of space without us feeling like we were rattling around. I also have to mention the amazing Steph, really lovely, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, from the several planning visits in the months leading up, to helping with extra tables, champagne glasses etc for our big day. We also really appreciated the help of the lovely 'barns fairies'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
thanks T for your fab review - we all hope married life is great for you and K and would love to welcome you back. Thanks for sharing some of your pics on FB , have passed on your message to the fairies!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwhoris...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really spacious well put together place”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

16 of us came for a walking holiday, the Barns and Hayloft where we stayed where just huge, there were even a few spare bed's after we all bundled in. The facilities are great, a lot of en suites, the kitchen is great for cooking large meals. We made full use of the Jacuzzi and garden courtyard. Its extremely private, even with a large party next door we barely even heard or seen them. Owners were very helpful, full of advice and got out of our way promptly, but were on hand for any advice. I would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thanks for the great review - you were perfect guests and left the Mill immaculate. please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kibz
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A special place with precious memories”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in October 2014

My family & I were privileged to be the second guests to have benefited from such a sumptuous experience. The luxurious accommodation allows for each guest to find their own piece of tranquillity. We celebrated my mother's birthday & a wedding anniversary with an age range of 3 through to 85. We all enjoyed being marooned in exquisite comfort & natural scenic beauty. There was something for everyone..well equipped kitchen for hobby chefs ...games room for the competitive & a cinema room for the telly addicts. Bedrooms ooze a rustic comfort & bathrooms a teenager would never leave! Stephanie & her team were the perfect hosts & our aspirations are to return. truly worthy of a recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review - we hope we are continuing to improve the experience for our guests - come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing