We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The H Party August 2017”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Enjoy the squashy sofas whilst waiting for dinner in the Old Mill
Take the table tennis challenge...or chill in front of the 65' Smart TV
Birds Eye View of the Courtyard
The winter sitting room, relax in front of the roaring log burner
Enjoy the bubbles in the Old Mill Hot Tub
Almost alfresco dining with the french doors open along the side of the kitchen
Cross the mezzanine landing to bedroom 4 in the Mill, 3 singles - kids love this room!
Ground floor Bedroom 2 in the granary, under floor heating throughout
Fired Earth Bathroom in the Old Mill
Bedroom 2 Old Mill - ground floor with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4 Hayloft with a glimpse of the Bathroom
Meet the Herefords
Walks through the Orchards
Im Horace! 
Come and say Hi to me and my friend Roger
Walk here, from your door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Lyonshall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison Bi...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The H Party August 2017”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at The Barns for a family party to celebrate my sisters 50th birthday, there was 24 of us in total. The Barns is beautiful and immaculate, everyone was very happy with their accommodation with all the bedrooms and bathrooms being equal in their loveliness so no arguments there :)

We had Lyn Bullock come along and do a BBQ for us on the Saturday, recommended by Sally and Steph, she did an amazing job, brought all the food, crockery and cleaned everything up after, leaving us tidy and full.

The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we could possible need with the biggest fridge I have ever seen, which somehow we still managed to fill!!

Spa towels and slippers were provided for the hot tub, a very nice touch.

We brought our little dogs so the private garden was very welcome, a wonderful weekend, we just need to find another reason to celebrate, would be a amazing place to celebrate Christmas for a big family.

Thank you to Sally, Steph, Bev and all the team - great job :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Hi Alison - thanks for your great review - our team love getting them and Im pleased we could meet your high standards! Please come back for a Christmas stay (2018 available!) - the barns look amazing all decorated and are all very cosy and perfect for celebrating.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinem...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place for a get together!”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As a group of 30 something's for a hen do, we could not have hoped for a more perfect venue. The barns are stunning, fitted out to an extremely high standard, and very thoughtfully designed. There were 20 of us, so we hired two of the barns which worked perfectly. We made use of the cooking facilities, which had everything you need to cater for a large group. Sally and the team were so friendly and helpful from start to finish. Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thanks for this Caroline we love getting great reviews like this
You were fab guests and so glad you had an amazing time and we would love to see you back here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful 40th Celebration”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We chose The Barns at Upper House as the location for 48 hours away with our nearest and dearest to celebrate my 40th Birthday. It was absolutely perfect. The location is gorgeous, the accommodation is to a very high specification and the whole place is perfectly set up for this sort of thing. It was very straightforward in terms of booking/admin/logistics. All the facilities are there for a perfect weekend or week away. On arrival, we were greeted immediately by Sally who showed us around. A lovely cake and fresh juices, along with some nibbles were left as a greeting hamper, and we immediately felt at home.

If you are planning something similar, with lots of busy, hard working guests who want to relax, can we recommend Rachel and Beverley? These two lovely ladies came in to help us both mornings with tidying away from the night before, and cooking breakfasts and serving guests, most of whom had large hangovers!! They were amazing, helpful, polite and worth every single penny. The Barns can organise for them to come in and help. We also used the caterers The Cider Barn whom we were introduced to via Sally Williams and the Barns management team and were very happy with them too.

I really hope this business goes from strength to strength, it fully deserves to. We would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you T and O for this great review
The team are thrilled especially Bev and Rachel as they loved helping your group and want to pass on their thanks! We love getting reviews like this and we too hope to go from strength to strength. Please visit again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mindy77Uk
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Accommodation - Fabulous 40th”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I was planning my 40th birthday bash and was looking for somewhere large enough for a group of 30, with a bit of a wow factor, yet at the same time homely and comfortable.
The Barns was unquestionably just perfect. I booked over a year in advance and the ladies in the office were great. I spent quite a lot of time deliberating over who would sleep where, worrying in advance that someone was bound to get a room that wasn't as nice as someone else.... but i didnt need to worry. All the rooms were of an equal standard, underfloor heating throughout, great comfy beds, spotlessly clean, powerful showers, tastefully decorated throughout with some quirky touches of reclaimed farm bits and bobs used to furnish or decorate. The jacuzzi's were spotless and lovely and warm and the kitchen / dining space was wonderful. We hired in a cocktail bar on the Friday night and a Pizza Trailer, and on the Saturday we had a sit down meal for 30 in the Old Mill, which was delicious. We didn't really use the sitting area's in the house as were fortunate to have been there over a very HOT weekend and so we took full advantage of the bi fold doors into the garden. That said, the lounge areas were as beautiful as they appear on the website, so we are trying to think of a reason for a revisit.. in winter!
Cannot fault this place and if you are checking tripadvisor because you are considering renting The Barns, then don't delay... you wont be disappointed.
Thank you Steph and team.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 20, it was absolutely perfect. Lovely people, lovely cake, would definitely stay again - in fact right now considering booking for the same time next year.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Thanks Roger - you were ace guests, loved having you, please come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLivvo
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the barns for the weekend in May for a surprise family get together. From start to finish our experience was beyond perfect! From the correspondence with Sally and Steph to the hassle free check out, we can't recommend the barns enough! All of the barns were immaculate, the space was amazing, the facilities - everything you could need! The many options of living areas, some large enough to have everyone together and some smaller ones to have some quiet space. The the wonderful addition of plenty to do for all ages nearby! We will be back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2017
Thanks so much for your time posting this review, you were amazingly lovely guests and it means so much to us to get great reviews, we will keep up the hard work!
just sending your booking pack for next year - look forward to catching up again then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family get together”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the whole of The Barns for an 80th birthday celebration for our large family group of 32 people from 4 generations aged from 4 months to 83 years! It really was the perfect place. Spread out enough so that everyone had space to do their own thing but the main room in The Old Mill was large enough to provide one area where everyone could be together to cook, eat and relax. We had fantastic weather too so the doors opening onto the very safe and secluded garden created a brilliant indoor / outdoor space. We did our own catering and the kitchen had absolutely everything you could possibly need and local suppliers were excellent too. The bedrooms were all spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated and there were plenty of living rooms with TVs and a supply of board games as well as the table football, table tennis and air hockey available in the games rooms. The hot tubs were wonderful and there was a generous separate supply of towels and slippers. Steph was wonderfully helpful throughout the whole process and there was nothing that we asked for that wasn't immediately provided. We have done several of these get togethers before and The Barns was definitely the best venue that we have used and we would certainly come back!

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing