We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place for a Large Group with Kids”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Eat together in the 65ft Mill Kitchen- we can arrange the tables for up to 30 to eat together
Enjoy the squashy sofas whilst waiting for dinner in the Old Mill
Take the table tennis challenge...or chill in front of the 65' Smart TV
Birds Eye View of the Courtyard
The winter sitting room, relax in front of the roaring log burner
Enjoy the bubbles in the Old Mill Hot Tub
Almost alfresco dining with the french doors open along the side of the kitchen
Cross the mezzanine landing to bedroom 4 in the Mill, 3 singles - kids love this room!
Ground floor Bedroom 2 in the granary, under floor heating throughout
Fired Earth Bathroom in the Old Mill
Bedroom 2 Old Mill - ground floor with en suite bathroom
Bedroom 4 Hayloft with a glimpse of the Bathroom
Meet the Herefords
Walks through the Orchards
Im Horace! 
Come and say Hi to me and my friend Roger
Walk here, from your door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Lyonshall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrain4d
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for a Large Group with Kids”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Barns is a fantastic venue for a large group gathering. It has every conceivable amenity to make your stay as comfortable as possible, which means you don't have to waste anytime once you arrive.

The layout means it's perfect for kids and the smaller ones can be kept safely confined while the larger ones can get out ans explore. The various room configurations means it is easy to accommodate different sized groups and combinations of families, plus the Steph, Sally and the team that manage it are really helpful as well.

There's plenty to see in the local area as well with plenty of good pubs, restaurants and walks a short drive away.

We've stayed here twice now and are already booked for 2020 (2019 was booked for the weekend we wanted unfortunately!) and plan to come back every year.

It's a shame that it isn't possible to give 6 stars!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Hi Mark - thank you for posting your review - we love getting them and are so pleased you had another great stay. Im so sorry we are booked for 2019 but 2020 is in the diary. You are a lovely group and we love having you here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor M
1 review
“A holiday home from home!”
Reviewed 21 April 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our third stay at the Barns and it never disappoints. The setting is perfect for country walks, running, and cider! The accommodation is beautiful and so well tailored for large groups - the kitchen has everything you'd ever need and we always manage to cook up some amazing meals in there. They're always so happy to help and provide local recommendations in the run up to the stay. We can't recommend it more!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thanks for your lovely review - as always your group are perfect guests and we look forward to your 4th stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul t
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding party venue”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

What an absolutely fantastic venue. We had a party of 38 who were attending our wedding, so we made a weekend of it. It had everything we needed. Bags of space to hide away if required, but room enough to have everyone together. Would heartily recommend to anyone. We will be back for certain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Thanks Paul - you were such a happy lovely group and we hope to see many of you again. Enjoy your wedded life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy L
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Venue for a Large Gathering”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The Barns was the perfect venue to celebrate my joint 40th Birthday celebrations. From the initial enquiry right through to checking out the staff were amazing; so friendly and helpful. The communication was brilliant, any emails were responded to on the same day. Nothing was ever too much trouble in helping us plan our perfect weekend away. We hired out The Old Mill, The Granary and The Hayloft for 22 guests; all I can say is wow, wow, wow!!! I knew from the photos that they were going to be amazing, but all three Barns were seriously on another level. They were all spotlessly clean, so tastefully decorated and so well equipped. There was nothing that hadn’t been thought of. The addition of the two games rooms and the hot tub were an added bonus and they were thoroughly enjoyed by all of our guests. Everyone had a fabulous time and we are hoping to re-book again for next year. Not for any special occasion just because The Barns are truly amazing. If you are thinking of booking, you must. You certainly will not be disappointed. A massive thank you to Steph, Sally and the team for helping to make our weekend so wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you Tracy - we loved having you here - great guests and we look forward to seeing you all next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandachri...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing and pet friendly.”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I had stayed at The Barns previously so knew how lovely The Barns were. Due to the great location, high standard of the property we booked again as a family break away, 5 adults, 2 children and a dog. We had a warm welcome by Sally, and a lovely welcome pack, including a home baked cake. The Barn was as lovely as we remembered and we had an absolutely wonderful stay. The highlight of the stay was our mother (86 year old) who had her first experience in the hot tub. The Barn was immaculately presented, the hot tub was checked every morning to ensure full safety measures were in place. The owners had obviously put a lot of thought and effort into making sure those who stayed had everything they required. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you The Swire Family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Thank you Amanda for taking the time to post this lovely review. Very pleased your mother enjoyed the hot tub - we do like to ensure they are all sparkling, warm and inviting
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martyn k
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everybody loved it”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The set up and the location is really family friendly for large party. Steph and team very helpful in arranging details for birthday get together.

There is sufficient space for everybody to either be together or have space on their own. The grandchildren loved "the hobbit room in the castle"! as they called it!

Would recommend this to anybody putting together a large family event

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Thanks Martin - it was lovely to have you all here - impressive organising and a big thank you from the local suppliers you used, its much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathyabro...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What a beautiful place to stay! We were very impressed with everything about the property - from the initial arrangements, through the welcome, to the house itself. Great attention to detail as well, even down to things like really high quality bed linen and towels and a really well outfitted kitchen. It couldn't have been more perfect for us, and meant we celebrated my 50th birthday in real style. I would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2018
Thanks Cathy for taking the time to review - we are so pleased you had a lovely time with us and would love to welcome you back any time! Great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing