We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of welcomes and a lovely village pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pandy Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pandy Inn B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Dorstone B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The best of welcomes and a lovely village pub”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a lovely pub with great rooms. We were given the warmest of welcomes by Bill and his team and shown to a large, airy and sunny bedroom with the biggest and most comfortable of beds. The pub itself provides all you could wish for - good beer, conviviality, wood burning stove and on the night we stayed a jolly four piece folk band. Whilst Bill I'm sure wont be applying for a Michelin star anytime soon his cooking is fresh and tasty and was delivered by Monica, whose wit and charm further adds to the warm atmosphere of this place. The stay was all we could have wished for - before we left breakfast included eggs, from the free range chickens that live in the garden, and the tastiest of local bacon. Call in - it may be a bit dusty and the gents are in the garden but you may love it - we did!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bay-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    19
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
67
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We booked the Pandy Inn for New Year's Eve, arrived at 4.00 pm and had to wait for one and a half hours in the dark before any body let us in. Meanwhile we found a kitchen door open and tried to find someone..... how we wish we hadn't !! The kitchen was dirty and chaotic.
Had it not been New Year's Eve we would have left straight away. The girl who eventually arrived sent the Managers apologies and offered us a complimentary bottle of champagne.....neither of which materialised.
Our room, once the chickens had been cleared off the stairs so we could reach it, was spacious and clean. However dinner was very poor, the duck breast we ordered was tough and barely recognisable as duck, our complaint was met with sympathy and no action at all !
A very memorable New Year’s Eve for all the wrong reasons....we shall not be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLangley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Myself and boyfriend stayed in the pandy in for one night (Saturday) we arrived early just to leave the car and a lovely young lady showed us to our room 3 hours earlier that we were meant to check in. The room was fantastic and totally different to any we have stayed in before.
We dinned in the pub, although very quite it was by far one of the best steak we had ever had. Breakfast was brilliant to.
The people in the 'pandy inn' and the local were all lovely and would defiantly return anything.
This place should be a 5* without a doubt

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was really impressed. Had Room 2, ground floor at back overlooking fields and it was fab. Beautifully designed rooms, chalet style, all wood so have that lovely 'woody' smell when you walk in . Spacious, clean, comfy bed, good bed linen. The shower room was great, large with powerful shower with plenty of hot water. The toiletries were of a better quality than many large hotels, the towels fluffy and the robes a nice touch. We had a little patio outside our room and it was lovely to sit (in between rain showers!) and relax. Beautiful views and chickens running around! Slept like a baby and woke refreshed.
The cooked breakfast in the pub was very nice, beautifully cooked, ingredients locally sourced, the sausage and bacon very tasty. The whole atmosphere is very laid back, the pub very old and interesting.
The staff were all lovely, the young ladies doing the serving etc. were very friendly and sweet. It all helped to make a thoroughly relaxing time.
We ate dinner in the pub the second night. If you stay here you must try the pan fried fillet of beef, I have eaten in many excellent restaurants over the years but have to say this would be in my top five meals ever. It was perfectly cooked. The accompanying veg were different and tasted fab. Who would have thought that red cabbage and leeks could be so amazing?! My husband kept saying 'I wish I'd had that!' We couldn't fit puddings in so can't comment on them although they sounded very good.
Nice dining room, candles, linen, and the tables aren't crammed in which is a pleasant change.
I have recommended this little gem to friends and look forward to returning.
Two small niggles - a light outside the room would be good when returning in the dark and can you offer the guests staying upstairs slippers and ask them nicely to remove their shoes or boots whilst inside? A couple of times it did sound like they had hobnailed boots on! Didn't interfere with our enjoyment though as it was only for short periods and we understood you will get this because of the wooden floors.
Thank you to all the staff for making our very short break away from the stresses of everyday life relaxing and enjoyable!! And don't ever take that fillet of beef off the menu, chef!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meettheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had visited this pub many years ago, still with the same owners I think but don't remember it being quite so lovely. Quaint old inn, just my type of place with real fires and flagstone floors and they've now got rooms in a wooden lodge/house at the back. Obviously new but really good sized rooms, lovely clean bathrooms, white linen, decent toiletries, warm, plenty of towels and robes. Just the ticket. Also geared up for muddy walkers with hooks outside for wet stuff and boot jacks etc. The free range chickens are a nice touch too!! The bar serves good food in a relaxed atmosphere and all the staff were really friendly. Huge portions, great quality meat and fish, breakfast cooked perfectly - all in all we had a really fantastic stay and will add this to our list of "must return". The location is also perfect for visiting Hay on Wye and walking in the gorgeous Black Mountains.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duddlydoright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I needed to break our journey from Greenwich to North Wales, and the Pandy Inn at Dorstone was an ideal place for an overnight stay. Our room on the first floor of the timber Polish-style chalet annexe - the Zakopane House - was perfect. Clean, smelling pleasantly of the wooden beams, walls and floors, it was comfortable and had a nice view across the meadows.
We visited Arthur's Stone (the nearby remains of an unexcavated Neolithic chambered tomb with views across to the Black Mountains) and had a walk to get our appetites going.
Just as well we did: our well-garnished steaks in the pub were excellent and somewhat filling, and next morning's breakfast was just what we needed before getting on the road again.
It has set us thinking about coming back another year, and staying a few more nights..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard67gilpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Purpose built rooms in a solid wooden chalet in the garden. I am talking about a quality chalet, like you would find in the Alps or Rockies. Very comfy beds, quality linens, furnishings, toiletries etc. Rooms at the back overlook feilds, at the front they overlook the car park & pub. I have stayed in 3 different rooms and all are slightly different, but of a very high standard.
The pub is very old, with original flagstone floors, low beams, open fire (in winter). They serve food in both restaurant and bar and the food is high quality, using local produce and the Head Chef is the Owner, so he has vested interest in satisfying Customers. Breakfast is included with the room rate and served in the Pub. Cereal served at your table, along with toast etc and Full English will set you up for the day. The Owners are a young family and are warm, welcoming and friendly. They have local knowledge and the area is great for riding, fishing, canoeing etc.
I was tempted not to do a review, as I selfishly, don't want the place to become too popular, or it may change!!
LOL!
It is PERFECT as it is

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyRudeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorstone
5.4 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
419 reviews
12.0 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
574 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Foyles of Glasbury
Foyles of Glasbury
#1 of 10 in Glasbury-on-Wye
178 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Smithy B & B
The Smithy B & B
#1 of 1 in Clifford
9 reviews
5.1 mi away
Old Black Lion
Old Black Lion
#3 of 29 in Hay-on-Wye
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandy Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandy Inn B&B

Property: Pandy Inn B&B
Address: Dorstone HR3 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Dorstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dorstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small eco-friendly hotel/bed and breakfast. Food available in the Pandy Inn Pub. Smart, modern rooms with beautiful views, surrounded by nature, free range chickens and ducks. Lovely garden for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pandy Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandy Inn B&B Dorstone, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing