We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well what can i say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Llandysilio B&B and Inns
glamorgan s/wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“well what can i say”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Our Stay 15th+16th Feb 2013
First of all the food was lovely And karen is a nice hostess polite and couldnt do enough to help you .
Room 4 was allocated to us and was a nice size,with comfortable single beds

Upon arrival at 3;50pm we found the hotel shut ,(4pm check in) so went around the back as sign on door asks you to do.
We found that you had to state you breakfast time from 7:30am - 8:30am, we"re early risers so no problem but i think its a short serving timespan.
We asked Rob for a drink ,he replied the bar was shut till 6pm,after a 3Hr drive we were not happy ,So drove to the next village llanmaenach
Room 4 was warm when we went to Dinner , Upon returning to the bar at 10:30 from the 4 crosses pub we went into the hotel bar for a few more nightcaps ,And spoke to another couple staying in the hotel ,My wife asked for the music to be turned down And Robs reply was "IT WAS OK TILL YOU CAME IN " !!! the wife told him we were talking and couldnt hear each other .
At 11pm we went to our room ,The Heating was off(rad set on 9)
Then a horrendous noise of rushing water into a cistern/pipes for 5min before i went to complain first to karen who unfortuately was in bed ,then to Rob who"s attitude was its noises in the hotel, and said" not to panic no need to call the police ".He was faffing around like bazil faulty busy doing nothing,eventually he came to our landing and tried to get into room 3,but the door was opened by the occupant in time, Apparently they left a tap running and it was emptying the header tank This lasted for 15mins ,then if anyone went to their toilet at night and flushed chain you could hear it in our room
On saturday After our meal we went to the 4 crosses for a drink ,returning to hotel at 10pm ,where the bar was again shut, our room was again cold
On sunday morning ,I asked karen are there any outstanding bills before we leave,I was refered to Rob , Who seeming picked a figure of £32:50 for our Saturday night meal ,Stating he knew what we had ! ,I queiried it and asked 3 times for a menu - 1 garic bread £2:99 ,2 cottage pie £15;10 , Dessert NO price ,He eventually settled on £25 which i thought reasonable. We then left
While there we spoke to a couple in the Annex rooms ,They froze on friday night 1 oil filled radiator,when they asked to be moved Rob asked them for £20 to cover the fresh linen.
Another older couple he reckoned couldnd open the outside door as they were trying to put the key in the wrong way into a yale lock.
I dont know if any of those people complained BUT I DID DIRECTLY TO ROB ,my opinion is that its his hotel and tough luck ,unfortunately he not to be mine host.
We will not return to the golden lion or recommend it .
Its unfortunate for karen ,as she should be" the face "of the golden lion as she couldnt to enough to help you

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank richard27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
“Well, what can I say”, The title says it all - yes, it’s all about YOU; in the 2 – 3 days that you stayed here every other guest and member of staff had to tentatively step around you in case you demanded anything unreasonable.
On arrival, if the bar was at the time closed, you could have taken a drink to your room, which is fairly standard in all hotels. We are on a long distance walking path here, so we are used to people wanting a drink when they arrive.
Breakfast time varies from hotel to hotel, you have to appreciate that all hotels are different, so in a family run business like ours there are other things that have to be done in the day, all by the same staff, and there is a reason for check – out time also, so that these things can be done safely and effectively.
We had a full restaurant that night and nobody complained about any music, in fact another of our guests liked the music so much that he asked me to send it on to him and joined my band mailing list.
We were fully booked for the Valentine’s offer that we had that week, all of our ten rooms were taken, but it was only you who was stamping about and shouting up and down the stairs at midnight because the lady in the room next to you had left a tap running, you said you could not sleep.
You made the lady in the room next to you very nervous, thinking she was responsible for something major when, in fact, the problem was sorted out in thirty seconds.
The rest of the hotel guests seemed to be coping alright, at least until you started shouting and demanding.
The couple who asked for fresh linen were in a twin room and decided that they then wanted a double. I am sure they do not need you to speak for them, as is also the case for the other couple who actually broke their key in half trying to turn it while inserting it upside down in the lock, but you had to interfere or intimidate nearly everybody that was staying with us.
You made up your own prices to our menu and argued about the price until you realised that you do not get two three course meals for the price of one! (We do have to try and make some money!) You just had to have your own way.
You are pedantic, lecherous; cheapskate, illiterate, and you will definitely not be welcome to return. Next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crymych, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

My partner and I stayed last Sunday & Monday (10/11th February 2013) night at the Golden Lion. From the moment we arrived our host Rob could not have been more helpful and friendlier. We were greeted and shown to Room 1, a nice sized double room with TV and ensuite. Tea and coffee facilities were included. Our Groupon voucher gave us 2 nights B&B with one evening meal. The food was fantastic, Full Welsh breakfast and toast was served by the chef with self service cereals, fruit, yoghurts and fruit juice. We ate both nights of our stay, Sunday was a traditional roast with Monday a la carte. The food was plentiful and excellently cooked and presented.
For music lovers there is regular live music. The Golden lion is also the home of http://www.goldenguitars.net.
We would like to thank Rob for making our mini-break a success. This quiet country B&B is a great place to stop as a base for exploring the area. We thoroughly recommend the Golden Lion and intend to return. Thank You Rob

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruckerAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for your appreciative comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We arrived at 20 to 4 and rang the doorbell - no-one answered, so we waited in the car until the stated check-in time of 4 o'clock - while we waited we saw a couple leaving the hotel. They said they had booked for 2 nights but were 'leaving early'. when asked about their stay, they responded that 'the food was lovely'. We rang the doorbell at 4 and were admitted. We'd booked a double room but were offered the option of a twin (triple) room (in the main building) which, we were told, would be warmer than the 'doubles' in the converted barn. Given that the temperature outside was zero, we opted for the 'inside' room. We were told that the bar didn't open until 7 - so we stayed in our room - which was adequate, but we soon became very cold, as the radiator wasn't on. We couldn't find anyone to speak to - the place was deserted - so we rang the front doorbell to attract attention - Rob 'arrived' and told us that this was their 'break' and that they'd been up since 7 - and that they weren't 'open' again until 7. He said he'd answered the bell because he thought someone (else) wanted to book in, but the radiator should come on .... (suitably chastised we returned to our room - and magically the radiator came on!). The food was indeed 'lovely' - a Sunday roast was very welcome. We slept well in and enjoyed a hearty breakfast. We left after breakfast for a 'day out' but received an emergency telephone call which necissitated an immediate return home - we got back to the hotel at 1 o'clock but it was locked up - we had a key for the back door, but it was bolted from the inside. We waited 2 hours for someone to turn up - to be informed that the hotel was 'closed from 10 to 4' .........and it 'says this on the website' (which it doesn't, by the way!). I said that this was outrageous and totally unacceptable - so, should anyone choose to stay here then be prepared to be 'locked out' between 10 and 4 and 'confined to quarters' until the bar opens (6 on a weekday and 7 on Sunday). p.s. in case Rob forgets to tell you - he's a musician!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Golden Lion Hotel.
As is stated on our web site we are a family run hotel and as such do not have a huge compliment of staff so we do have a few ' house rules' for example we ask our guests to leave their room between 10:00 am and 4:00 pm for room cleaning and maintenance. (This was mentioned on arrival, not the website). On the day you returned early due to a family emergency you could not gain entry as we ourselves had a problem which needed our urgent attention. This was not unprofessional just unfortunate.
Our heating system has just undergone a complete overhaul and is thermostatically controlled so you only needed to adjust your radiator to warm your room.
Rob is usually found to be very easy going and amicable. so I can't really comment on why this was not your experience.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay but I can assure you we do our very best to ensure guests' comfort and enjoyment at all times. Most of our guests love the music Rob provides as he is a professional musician.
All of your concerns have been noted and will be looked into.
Many thanks.
Karen L. Williams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had a voucher for our stay here and when we learnt that dinner was included I didn't think it would be up to much if they were practically 'giving it away'. Boy was I wrong.
We arrived at about 6pm and parked up in the large car park. We were greeted and shown to our room by Rob who was very friendly, offering to help us up with our bags. The room (No 1) was a good size, very clean with a small flat screen TV, hair-drier & tea/coffee making facilities. Outside the room were ironing facilities plus a table with hot choc sachets of 4 different flavours and extra milk & sugar. It's nice to go somewhere that provide hot chocolate as I can't have caffeine and generally forget to pack my decaf stuff. There was a boot tray in the wardrobe for muddy boots which is a great idea as it is so easy to get muddy with the great walks around here.
We went down to dinner and went into the bar first which had a wood burner going in it. There was a good selection of food to choose from on the menu and also a specials board. I ordered black pepper sole gougons with lemon mayo (you could have chilli also) followed by Guinness steak casserole with veg and mash. My hubby ordered roasted red pepper and tomato soup followed by cottage pie with veg and chips which came with a gravy boat. The food was lovely and freshly cooked. Dessert was also included, OMG. Well it would be rude not to in that case! 1 home made bakewell tart and 1 cheesecake later we waddled back to the bar for after dinner drinks. The next morning we were treated to a fantastic breakfast. On the recommendation of Karen ( I hope I got the name right, I'm rubbish with names), we headed off to Lake Vyrnwy and the RSPB hides around it. It was fab. We went onto Shrewsbury in the afternoon which is quite close by. That evening at dinner I had the gougons again followed by gammon and egg my hubby had wild mushroom soup followed by the chicken curry. Both meals were outstanding again. Unfortunately we had to be rude on this occasion and decline dessert as we were just too full. Breakfast was equally great the next morning.
We checked out with no hassle. We would certainly return, the annual jazz festival looks great. I wish we had stayed in the week as there were weekly local music events at the beginning of the week, next time I think.

Room Tip: All rooms will probably be quiet as there is a new bypass so hardly any traffic passes here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharleenaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. We strive to ensure all our guests have a really enjoyable stay so it is a pleasure to see how much you appreciated our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

From arriving to leaving, our stay was superb.Excellent room with plenty of space.Good bar with an excellent local beer.Superb food and service.We visited whilst very quiet bur I expect that the atmosphere when busy is very good.Could not ask for more...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobrurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanddulas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Initial confusion about the online booking led to being double-charged and took weeks to get sorted. However,our long weekend was very enjoyable ... facilities were adequate,comfortable and home-y. All the staff were really friendly and welcoming...breakfast was hearty, although served by an absent-minded teenager who seemed to be on another planet at times! The bars were snug,ales and ciders of good quality and evening meals,while there was not a lot of choice,proved to be tasty homecooking and very filling. Location was perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of Wales and I look forward to returning to the Golden Lion in the near future.

Room Tip: be sure to request the type of room that you really want - we asked for twin/double,were given twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdcmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Front Office Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hello and thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and we have responded to your comment regarding our very young waiter who has had additional training and performance reviews. This should help him to understand his role within the team to help with standards and professionalism.

When a guest books with us we will always try to give them the room they request first, so if you ask for a twin/double we would assume your preference is for a twin room first or a second option of a double if no twin is available! You will be allocated your room as soon as you book so if your preference is not the room you requested first we may not be able to change it for you when you arrive.
Reviews are always important to us and we look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had two rooms. Both were basic as in 'no frills', the type you would expect from this price of accomodation, but the rooms had all the things we needed, TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee, comfy bed and comfy bedding, wardrobe, chest of draws and adequate lighting. The room and shower room were very clean and I could not fault them at all.
We stayed on a Sunday so the restaurant served a Sunday Roast which was 'pub food' expertly cooked. We had a choice of desserts apple crumble and ginger sponge and both were lovely.
We paid for B&B so we experienced the full english breakfast the next day, which again was expertly cooked and first rate.
Compliments to the chef. We had a very successful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for helpful comments, which are always welcome. A Sunday Roast is just a good, traditional, basic family meal which should be the same wherever it is served but, unfortunately, in a lot of places it isn't. Our chef grew up on a farm in the area and she really knows how to cook and serve the meals properly. The price for the room is reflected in the 'ceiling price' which every area has, and we consider we have raised the bar, and you got a quality hotel room at a very reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandysilio
7.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanymynech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: Offa's Dyke | Powys, Llandysilio SY22 6RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandysilio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llandysilio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion Hotel: GRADE 2 LISTED 18th century coaching inn, with many period features. Modern features include free WI-FI and BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEATING SYSTEM INSTALLED MARCH 2013.The family run hotel, in a quiet countryside location away from the main roads, is situated on the Offa's Dyke path and is the ideal base to explore The Marches and surrounding Welsh hills. Weddings / Parties / Corporate Bookings catered for. 2 Car Parks. Vegetarian, Vegan and Celiac dishes prepared (please book in advance). THINGS TO DO: The immediate area is rich in activities: Walking, Cycling, Fishing, Climbing, Exploring, Caving, Touring by car, Geology / Fossil Hunting. Circular Canal Walk behind the Hotel: ½ hour walk; regular wildlife includes herons, swan families, rabbits, otters, buzzards, peregrine falcons, etc. Vyrnwy Aqueduct, 20 minutes walk away Canal locks and lock-keeper’s cottage, ¾ hour walk. The magnificent River Vyrnwy runs alongside the canal; Fly fishing on the River Severn – salmon, trout, grayling. Rich industrial heritage; Rare intact Victorian Lime Kiln and chimney nearby; Meadow walks. Rodney’s Pillar: two-hour energetic walk / climb, 5 minutes drive away from the Hotel. Beautiful Lake Vyrnwy and its many waterfalls: ½ hour drive away. The famous race track, Loton Park Hill Climb is nearby; Bulldog International Rally of North Wales: Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championships. Several good golf courses, clay shooting, horse riding. After a long day out relax with our live music evenings (Rob Cook Williams - Musician / Owner of Hotel. Great food prepared by top local chef Karen Williams.We are a Real Ale bar, and where possible we stock local beers alongside the regular ales. We also stock a good range of spirits and whiskies including the very popular Welsh Penderyn single malt and Brecon Gin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Lion Hotel Llandysilio, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing