We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay; a bit different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Llandysilio B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay; a bit different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

From the name, you might be expecting a typical hotel but this is more like someone's home where you can stay (like a B&B) but with the bonus of a licensed bar and restaurant in the evening. When you see it that way (as Rob is happy to explain) and don't expect service all hours etc, it's very good! Rob is not a conventional host but we found him a nice guy; he had band practice that evening in the bar so we had live music too (but it didn't disturb us in our room). Check in is from 4, dinner 6.30-8 and breakfast at 8. Room 1 was comfy and a good size and had fine views of the Breidden Hills. There was a tray / newspapers for our wet walking boots, flannels / face towels provided and even nice waffle bathrobes. It's an old listed building and there are a few quirks (I didn't discover how to get hot water in the washbasin but am sure it was possible if I'd just asked) but we found it well maintained. Dinner was superb; home-cooked food (chicken and ham pie, cherry and custard torte), delivered quickly and with a smile, really tasty and so well presented (couldn't think of any way it could have been bettered). Breakfast was equally good. The Golden Lion is right on Offa's Dyke footpath, on the main street (now quiet due to the bypass) and a short walk from the lovely Montgomery canal. It's also not far from the bus stop for Shrewsbury or Oswestry.

Room Tip: Room 1, on top floor, has good views and is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are a little different and we are more of a B&B than a pub.
Most people enjoy the music and as you say it doesn't disturb you in your room. We try very hard with our food and menu so are pleased we seem to be getting it right. We hope if you are in our area again you will return to enjoy our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here with my mum in May. The service and welcome from the staff was wonderful and nothing was any trouble. Karen is a fantastic cook and will go out of her way to make sure that you are happy. The live music in the bar was an added bonus. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: The cottages are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openminded2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. we strive to look after all our guests but we know our efforts are really appreciated when we receive a review like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Walking the Offa's Dyke path my husband myself and pet dog decide to stay at the Golden Lion with the path passing in front of the front door.Having seen a couple of comments on here they did not put us off. From the moment we arrived we knew we made the right choice.From our small cottage style converted stable.Which was great for the dog with her own front door leading to a tidy size court yard which was secure and had parking for the car.On entering the main building it was olde worlde full of character interior. The smell of home cooking and friendly locals.Owners Rob and Karen could not have been more welcoming .The food was lovely and there was a good choice on the menu.Breakfast was lovely and well presented .Dog was not allowed in the restaurant .My advice is to ask if you can take the dog in the bar.There is a love of live music in this bar and on many nights you can catch something.blues and Jazz were the ones we caught.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshwalker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do welcome dogs but they are not allowed in any restaurant. You are welcome to bring them into the bar ( please ask first as we have a dog ourselves) and eat in there where the same home cooked menu is available. We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

As a group of 5 walkers we were booked into this B&B, after a long day of walking we arrived for Mrs Williams to tell us incorrectly that we canceled our booking with her. We did not cancel the booking.
On arriving home to check bank statement to see that Mrs Williams has kept our £100 deposit and has not refunded it.
Would not recommend any one to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
How very unfortunate that you still do not understand why your deposit was not refunded. You did book with us and then cancelled and booked at another hotel close by. You were not even charged the usual deposit rate as you could not make up your mind with regard to the number of rooms required. As I have explained deposits are not refundable unless for valid reasons beyond your control.
I was more than helpful to your party, making phone calls to see where you had booked and having your luggage collected for you and even making you refreshments that you were not charged for. Did you intend just not turning up at the hotel you had booked?
I can see that there are misunderstandings here and I tried to make the best of a difficult situation for you.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our daughter and her family booked this hotel as a christmas present for us with the break to be taken 13th - 15th March to coincide with my birthday. What a lovely hotel with all the comforts of home. We were booked in on a groupon voucher for 2 nights bed & breakfast plus 1 nights evening meal the food was so good that we ate there the 2nd night as well ( thank you Karen ). We had a very warm welcome from Rob when we arrived and was able to take a drink to our room which was lovely and warm and comfortable. This was the ideal hotel for the quiet and relaxing break we wanted with good hospitality and food . Thank you Rob & Karen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
It is very rewarding to know people enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for your lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

This hotel has some unique aspects which make it worthwhile visiting, despite some issues which I will detail below.

We booked on a Groupon voucher for 11-12 February as there were meant to be music nights on Monday and Tuesday but unfortunately on Monday there wasn't as nobody else turned up. Tuesday was a great blues night however, and we had a great night chatting with other residents and some excellent music in quite a nice traditional bar (much warmer on Tuesday than Monday).

We were travelling with our dog, and consequently were placed in the converted mews stables. Our little stable was cute, and spotlessly clean, with a living room with tiny kitchen with microwave and shower/wc off, and a bedroom upstairs. However......... it was VERY cold. There was an electric fire on, but it didn't give off a lot of heat, and there were plug in wall heaters which were unplugged when we arrived. So it took quite a while to heat the place up. However, by the morning, it was okay, but I feel that the cottage would benefit from a heavy door curtain and thick curtains to make it cosier, as there were only vertical blinds upstairs and down. There is no heating whatsoever in the shower room/WC, which was bleak when we arrived but warmed up somewhat as the rest of the place heated up.

The other issue we had with the accommodation is that the double bed upstairs is pushed against the wall into a corner, so if you are in a couple, you have to wriggle out of bed in an awkward manner and on the other side of the bed, you are positioned very close to the staircase and I could well imagine falling out of bed and tumbling down the stairs. This is compounded by the fact that I am no Slim Jim. (I wonder if Rob & Karen have tried sleeping in the beds?) The upstairs is quite awkwardly shaped, as it has a sloping ceiling and is quite narrow, so ideally the bed should be built in - or maybe two single beds would better fit the shape of the room upstairs. In any case, I found it a struggle to get in and out of bed while squished against the wall and did resort to sleeping part of the time on the sofa downstairs - not ideal. Lucky I had some blankets! For a single person, it'd be fine, although the furniture still is awkwardly placed.

By the morning, the little cottage was quite cosy, so we left on our first full day after breakfast and turned off the electric fire, but not the wall heaters. When we returned (we weren't locked out until 4pm as the cottages have their own access) all the heating was off. It was once more freezing - and the weather was threatening snow.

I really feel that this is a false economy. I presume the heating is not turned off in the hotel? Or perhaps it is during the day as guests are not allowed in their rooms from 10-4pm according to other reviews.

We didn't bother to complain, as we were going the next day, but we did resolve, if we were to return again, that it would only be during the late spring or early summer.

Now for the food - the breakfasts are excellent. My husband requested fried bread instead of hash browns on our first morning, and they were provided - and appreciated. Hash browns are okay, but a bit too American, I feel. The second day's breakfasts the hotel was fuller, so hash browns were the only game in town, and as we were the last to sit down, we only got half a glass of orange juice each. I am sure we could have asked for more, though. But it would have been nice to be asked.

We ate one evening meal there as part of our GroupOn voucher, and it was a bit variable. We both had wild mushroom soup as a starter, which was fine, and then chose a chicken curry from the menu as we didn't fancy the special and OH hates chunky chips. I decided to have half and half rice and chips, which meant I lost out on my naan bread, but as naan breads outside of Indian restaurants are usually rubbish, I wasn't too worried. Now the actual chicken curry was tasty and spicy and plentiful but ......... the rice! It was seriously overcooked. We both hardly touched our rice and I am very glad I decided to have half chips - I prefer them thin, too, but they were at least nice and golden and crispy, and not soggy like the rice. There was plenty of food - so nobody would starve for sure, but good rice with a curry is essential - which is why I have a rice cooker at home, after it was recommended to me by a Chinese friend!

We both enjoyed our desserts and were certainly full. However, OH is very picky and after the rice experience we decided we wouldn't bother to eat there the following evening. Thank goodness for the microwave in our little kitchen!

I do feel Karen is a good cook and there were other things we could have eaten - we probably made the wrong choice for our main course, that's all.

Rob is a talented musician (and teaches guitar so must be great if you want a break with guitar lessons), but he does have just a touch of the Basil Fawlty in his manner - and there is a slight air of the guests being a bit of nuisance stopping him running his hotel - which is unexpected as most of the musicians I have met are pretty laid-back (though most aren't running a family hotel). And I mean this very kindly as we would consider coming again in the warmer months (with a camp bed). The music festival sounds tempting (and so did Karen's turkey and ham pie with leek and cheese sauce).

So ideal for single person (in mews) and especially if they love music and have warm clothing. And love chunky chips and hate rice.

Oh yes - nice part of the world - we love Mid Wales. Not the most exciting or picturesque village you've ever seen, but handy for both Oswestry and Welshpool.

Room Tip: Dogs accepted in the mews cottages (not allowed upstairs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w00fdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
We have observed your lengthy comments.

Usually anything you are unsure or dissatisfied about would be rectified while you are here; if you did not bring anything to our attention it cannot be rectified.


See below:
People enjoy leaving comments - one person that commented and scored us low for everything did not even stay here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llantrisant
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

It was a little difficult to check in as the pub wasn,t open,but after knocking a few times we were met by the landlord (Rob)and shown to our accomodation.Our companions had an-suit room in the pub iyself whilst my partner and I were given a lovely little self-catering mews conversion in the courtyard.Although we had booked H/B we could have utalised the equipement in the maisonette to cook etc.This really impressed us as it was very cold outside but when we retired we were lovely and warm due to the amount of heaters provided.The pub itself is a typical country inn and live music is on offer (landlord is a musician).Alcoholic drinks are what you,d expect with a good selection of real ales or draught Scrumpy if you wish.
Foodwise the Full English was as stated----Full,and freshly cooked with as much as you could eat or drink,cerials were a well known brand in individual packages,with plenty of variety.
The evening meal wasn,t quite as good with a limited choice of menu,but what was available was tasty and promptly served.Both the landlord and landlady couldn,t do enough for us and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room Tip: Our accomodation in our opinion was 1st class,but you needed a small torch to get across the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bimbomblux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Owner at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you for your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandysilio
7.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanymynech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: Offa's Dyke | Powys, Llandysilio SY22 6RB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandysilio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llandysilio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Lion Hotel: GRADE 2 LISTED 18th century coaching inn, with many period features. Modern features include free WI-FI and BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEATING SYSTEM INSTALLED MARCH 2013.The family run hotel, in a quiet countryside location away from the main roads, is situated on the Offa's Dyke path and is the ideal base to explore The Marches and surrounding Welsh hills. Weddings / Parties / Corporate Bookings catered for. 2 Car Parks. Vegetarian, Vegan and Celiac dishes prepared (please book in advance). THINGS TO DO: The immediate area is rich in activities: Walking, Cycling, Fishing, Climbing, Exploring, Caving, Touring by car, Geology / Fossil Hunting. Circular Canal Walk behind the Hotel: ½ hour walk; regular wildlife includes herons, swan families, rabbits, otters, buzzards, peregrine falcons, etc. Vyrnwy Aqueduct, 20 minutes walk away Canal locks and lock-keeper’s cottage, ¾ hour walk. The magnificent River Vyrnwy runs alongside the canal; Fly fishing on the River Severn – salmon, trout, grayling. Rich industrial heritage; Rare intact Victorian Lime Kiln and chimney nearby; Meadow walks. Rodney’s Pillar: two-hour energetic walk / climb, 5 minutes drive away from the Hotel. Beautiful Lake Vyrnwy and its many waterfalls: ½ hour drive away. The famous race track, Loton Park Hill Climb is nearby; Bulldog International Rally of North Wales: Dulux Trade MSA British Rally Championships. Several good golf courses, clay shooting, horse riding. After a long day out relax with our live music evenings (Rob Cook Williams - Musician / Owner of Hotel. Great food prepared by top local chef Karen Williams.We are a Real Ale bar, and where possible we stock local beers alongside the regular ales. We also stock a good range of spirits and whiskies including the very popular Welsh Penderyn single malt and Brecon Gin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Lion Hotel Llandysilio, Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing