We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Groes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Groes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tyn-y-Groes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pleasant Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My friends have been coming here for a number of years now and always said how great a place it was. On this last occasion they decided to invite me to join them for an evening meal. As I only had a 35 minute drive up the coast I decided to take them up on it. I wasn't disappointed. As I was driving I could not take advantage of the wines or beers on offer but the food was spot on this was from a set menu with options. I was able to choose something that I had never had before and was not disappointed. The restaurant was quiet that evening with only two other guests dining so we had undivided attention from the staff. All in all a very pleasant evening and I am sure my friends enjoyed the rest of their stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HarryS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    106
    66
    25
    6
See reviews for
53
310
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Only had meals here, never stayed. Been going for many years when visiting friends nearby. Tasty food . Lovely surroundings but just lacking something. Can't quite pinpoint. Just seemed very expensive for what it is. Disappointed to have to say it because it has always been so special for us.

Room Tip: Clicked on sleep quality by mistake. Never slept here so can't comment but couldn't delete !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for a wedding last weekend. Lovely spacious room. Excellent amenities. All very clean and tidy. Nice bar and restaurant. Breakfast could have been a little more given the price but the coffee was excellent so that made up for it. Would definitely come and stay again if we are in the area. Looks like there's some lovely walks around the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnycash72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a 3 night stay through living social and had a lovely time. The cottage is in the heart of Conwy so everything is in walking distance. The cottage is really cosy, perfect for 2. The hot tub and steam shower made for something extra special. It had everything from great linens to dressing gowns and a heated floor in the bathroom - ace!

Only headache was parking, we were told to park outside with a small car or in the nearby car parks. Our car would have blocked the road if we left it outside and the car parks weren't set up for a car to be left for longer than6 hours let alone 3 days. We ended up in a hotel car park 3 miles away and getting a taxi to and from - not ideal. It would be ace if you could leave your car at the Groes Inn and they run you to the cottage.

All in all great stay, lovely cottage!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

On what would have been my dad's birthday - I took my [grown up children] back to his favourite pub.
The staff gave us the warmest of warm welcomes. We had been upgraded - so had lovely rooms.
We sat in the bar for a quick drink - and asked for scones with our pot of tea. These weren't available ...but delicious home made biscuits were!!
The evening dinner was superb -and we had a lovely time.

The breakfast continued the same standard [we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day!!]
Sadly all too soon it was time to check out - but even that was pleasant.
We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziejStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

With 3 children and busy lives, finding time to ourselves is tough, so when we found the Groes Inn High Cabin we were sold on the remoteness and luxury, we also wanted somewhere that didn’t hold us to a schedule of when to eat…. We found it
When you check in at the Groes Inn they provide you with a map to get your Cabin, here your weekend really starts…. It’s a 15mins drive to your remote hill side location over looking a valley (I’m not telling where - secret!!), the cabin is luxurious, warm, immaculate and for a couple looking for “quality” time alone, you will have found it.
The decked area on the front is heated, which on a cold night will give you another couple of hours outside time before retiring to the warmth of the cabin.
The Hot tub is toasty and ready waiting for you with amazing views during the day and at night under the stars.
Enough romance, practicalities…. Kitchen is fully equipped with a dishwasher, Bathrobes & slippers are provided as are plenty of towels, No phone signal (bliss), Take plenty of food, drink as there is no corner shop, but trust me you won’t be moving far.
Price: Its not cheap, that said, it’s really worth every penny & I’ll be going again with my future wife

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We got a special deal for 2 nights at the Groes Inn from Living Social. The deal was for 2 nights in a standard room, 4 course dinner in an AA Rosette restaurant on both evenings and breakfast both mornings for £249 (normally £452). Molton Brown toiletries (my favourite) were included in the deal. This offer brought Groes Inn to within our budget.

When we arrived at the Inn (great parking facilities) we were taken aback back at how beautiful it was from the outside and immediately started taking photos. We had arrived before 3pm so had to go to the bar as reception was closed, they had left a note for us. Mandy greeted us at the bar. She was the lady I had made the reservation with initially who was absolutely fantastic, emailing us backwards and forwards answering our questions about availability and dates etc. She gave us a very warm and friendly greeting and also said she had upgraded us to a balcony room, presumably as it was our anniversary, which we thought was a very nice gesture.

We enjoyed special Tia Maria coffees by the warm log fire and had a quick look around this historic pub. It's one of the nicest pubs we have been in with lots of interesting nooks and crannies. It's hard to believe it is almost 500 years old as every where is so immaculate (still managing to retain the historic atmosphere). There are a good few mirrors which make the rooms look bigger than they are, which is incredibly effective. It has a lovely cosy feel about it.

We got the key to our room at 3pm from Mandy and went up excitedly. The room (no. 8) was up one flight of stairs, it was smaller than we had expected (a little cramped we felt) but has an enormous and extremely comfy bed (with very crisp white linen). The decor was quite plain. There was no DVD player. We have stayed in other places with less than 5 stars that ticked more boxes room wise. The bathroom was very large. In our opinion the bathroom could have been made smaller to allow the bedroom more space and a slightly smaller bed would have equally just as good. There was no separate shower (which we like, but that is personal preference) however the power shower over the bath was THE best we have ever used to date anywhere (it was as good as having an Indian head massage) so this more than made up for these shortfalls. The views I must say ARE 5 star, we had our own balcony to look out over beautiful Snowdonia. Breathtaking, Especially as we were having lovely weather for the time of year (late October).There is a drinks list in the room should you fancy a bottle of wine/champagne before you go down for dinner.

For dinner you could choose to eat in the pub or the restaurant. We chose the restaurant on both nights as it just looked so beautiful. The staff were warm, friendly, helpful, attentive and very professional. A credit to the establishment every one of them. The evening meals on both nights were outstanding. On our deal we had a 4 course fixed menu. The only negative for me was that I didn't find a second main course that I fancied on the menu so ended up having the amazing chicken curry on both nights. I would have liked the steak on the second night but unfortunately you can't just pay a supplement (as is usual) and have to pay full price, which defeats the object of a bargain get away. It would be nice if Groes Inn offered this as an alternative. That said, the food we had was amazing.

The breakfasts on both mornings were tasty and well presented. We ate in a beautiful conservatory under a magnificent vine tree.The lady who served us was very attentive and we didn't have to wait for anything. Everything we had was cooked to perfection. The only thing that we were not impressed with was the supplement for having an espresso, cappuccino or latte coffee, the supplement was £2.95! Again, we decided to stick to ordinary coffee as we do like a couple with our breakfast and this would have proved very costly. We feel that for the amount people are paying for bed and breakfast there should be no supplements for different coffees.

We would have liked to give Goes Inn 'excellent' but felt just a couple of things let it down.

We would most certainly stay there again and are recommending it to friends without hesitation.

It is easy to find, and handy for Bodnant Gardens which is only about an 8 minute drive away. Llandudno is definitely worth a visit and is about a 10 minute drive away as is Conwy which has a wonderful castle.

Room Tip: Room 8 has it's own balcony with views over Snowdonia. It's nice and quiet. It has an enormo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyn-y-Groes
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
19.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
11.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groes Inn

Property: Groes Inn
Address: Tyn-y-Groes LL32 8TN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Tyn-y-Groes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tyn-y-Groes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Groes Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful North Wales countryside, The Groes is a wonderful example of a traditional British Inn. Blending the warm welcome of a local pub with delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable bed, this historic Inn has been welcoming visitors for over four centuries. With fourteen luxurious bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant, The Groes Inn is the perfect place to visit for a week, a weekend, a special night away or simply a meal and a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Groes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groes Hotel Tyn-y-Groes
Groes Inn Tyn-y-Groes, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing