We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a romantic hideaway ....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Groes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Groes Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tyn-y-Groes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a romantic hideaway ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Every year we go away for our wedding anniversary generally to a European city however we decided to stay closer to home this year
The high cabin was recommended to us. I gave the couple who.recommended it a.bottle of champagne it was a fabulous hideaway in pure luxury we really didn't want to go out, in fact you didn't need too as long as you had all your supplies need and wine there really want not.nee..to.leave. I had the most amazing sleep some 12 hours which is double what I normally have because it is so peaceful.the cabin has wooden shutters to.keep out the early mornin light. We both have very stressful jobs and this completely relaxed us, it also have had something to do with no signal so we were not on our blackberry! Will definitely be back for our solve wedding next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb372013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    106
    66
    25
    6
See reviews for
53
310
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Really lovely stay. So nice to have a hotel room that was just that little bit different from the normal hotel accommodation. Decorated with colour and thought, whilst some may say old fashioned, the ambience of the rooms is tasteful and comfortable.
Staff helpful and friendly and the food very enjoyable. Still very much a waitress/ordering system and at breakfast it's sometimes nice to help yourself to the first course, the food itself was top quality.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsDHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
850 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The Groes Inn is an old roadside inn (pub/restaurant and hotel) - the oldest licensed premises in Wales. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable, the shower was good (high pressure and lots of hot water), though we could hear footsteps and creaky floorboards of the room above us, so that's the only negative comment regarding the room. The breakfasts were tasty but service was very slow. Dinner in the restaurant was tasty and service was good, though it wasn't particularly good value - which is my key comment about the Groes - it's expensive for what it is. Otherwise overall reasonably good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I just recently stayed at The High Cabin in Wales, one of the accommodation types available through the Groes Inn. I can not recommend this place highly enough. It is a tranquil piece of heaven. The cabin is furnished to a high specification, yet is comfy. Amazing views of the countryside and mountains and an abundance of wildlife is t your doorstep. Lovely and warm and the hot tub is fabulous, again with amazing views.

If you want to be left alone in peace, and still feel 5 star comfort, this is the only place to stay. We will definitely b back and for longer next time.

Room Tip: Stay at the High Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CondeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I loved my brief stay here.
friendly helpful staff.
fabulous room, great view, beautiful location
breakfast was excellent.
big fluffly towels, quality products.
comfy bed, nice decor.
great value for the price charged.

Room Tip: room 4, overlooks fields, spacious, has a patio. big bathroom huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane1212604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked this as a surprise Valentines weekend away for my boyfriend! We stayed at Number 14 the Groes Inn cottage in Conway town. It is a fair distance from the Inn itself but it is set in a lovely location close to all local attractions, i.e. the castle, the smallest house etc.

The cottage itself was stunning, very modern with a great facilities - fully fitted kitchen, steam seated shower, hot tub plus luxury Molton Brown toiletries!

We had a meal at the Groes Inn on Valentines evening the food was perfect and the evening was that extra special as it was valentines! :-)

The stay was fairly expensive (£450) but worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay at the Groes and have left quite frustrated, let me explain..

The inn is in a beautiful location though on a fast road. This wasn't an issue when in the room as we were set back with outstanding views and a private garden. The room was excellent - spacious, comfortable, bright, stunning views, private and very relaxing.

Based upon the price and AA accolades we were very much looking forward to some good pub grub. Both myself and other half had steak and soup to start. The soup was under seasoned and a bit tasteless, the steak was average at best. For £17 each steak, we really thought it would be better. My other half had the waffle for pudding which was not good and I had cheese and biscuits. At £9, I would of expected nice crackers not five Jacobs ones (the cheese was good though but the chutney was vile).

The second night, after a long day trekking Snowdon we decided to give the food another chance..mostly as I was too tired to be bothered driving out. I had chicken curry and he had a burger. I must admit it was better than the first night but 6/10 is still poor for the cost of the accommodation and food.

I'm so frustrated for them as the service was spot on, the staff very friendly, the location is lovely and the rooms fabulous. If the food was better this place would be sensational.

Sadly we won't be back..unless we hear the foods improved.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireylou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyn-y-Groes
2.2 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
19.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
11.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groes Inn

Property: Groes Inn
Address: Tyn-y-Groes LL32 8TN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Tyn-y-Groes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tyn-y-Groes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Groes Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful North Wales countryside, The Groes is a wonderful example of a traditional British Inn. Blending the warm welcome of a local pub with delicious food, excellent service and a comfortable bed, this historic Inn has been welcoming visitors for over four centuries. With fourteen luxurious bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant, The Groes Inn is the perfect place to visit for a week, a weekend, a special night away or simply a meal and a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Groes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groes Hotel Tyn-y-Groes
Groes Inn Tyn-y-Groes, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing