We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistlewood go again”
Review of The Thistlewood

The Thistlewood
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thistlewood
Ranked #1 of 2 Stretford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Thistlewood go again”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Warm clean and friendly with an excellent breakfast this hotel offers some character in the building so sorely lacking in the competitor chains. I was here for a few nights over Christmas but was pleased by the room and staff

Room Tip: have a look at the rooms - they have loads of quirky shapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alastairrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
17
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyldesley MANCHESTER
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at The Thistlewood Hotel after attending a friends wedding reception in Stretford. Very impressed with the hotel on arrival, very large semi detached property, car park at the back of the property, friendly staff, nice room - TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, nicely decorated and fairly, only negative was bathroom was down two steps through a low door so could easily bang your head hence the sign in the room "mind your head" and the lack of curtains at the window, there were only blinds which let in the light. Breakfast was EXCELLENT freshly cooked to order with a choice of what to have. Would definitely stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaFanatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The owners were warm and friendly people, helpful too. Breakfast hot and tasty, very clean room. Car park to rear of property. The only downside the hotel is very dated and nothing matched in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNNEG262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from a nights stay (to watch man utd play) and found the place to be quite, easy going, nice free car park, and around 40 min walk to the ground. And the breakfast is lovely, will definitely return next time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Thank you Thistlewood,
what a Lovely stay! Very homely and comfortable relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was brilliant i had far too many? it was hot, freshly prepared and more than enough for the biggest appetite , I was able to study in the quite living area without any disturbance and the hosts Were always very friendly and welcoming,

Highly recommended for its peacful, clean rooms and last but not least the hearty breakfast.

thank you for a great stay

Carl

Room Tip: safe car parking facility's
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carl r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Unfortunately the weekend we were visiting Manchester we had real problems trying to find a central hotel due to the Ricky Hatton comeback at the MEN: everywhere was booked solid, so we chose the Thistlewood instead for availability.

It's a Victorian house near to Old Trafford, so it's good for the football and cricket. However, it is quite a way from the centre - the traffic was really bad after the Man U-QPR match and well into the evening, and it took us nearly an hour each way on the 255 and 15 buses to get both in and out of town.

The property is a charming Victorian period house and comfortable. We had a lovely view from our room over the gardens and surrounding countryside.

Just two things - our double room was quite small and could have been arranged effectively for more space. Also, the shower was the oldest Mira electric contraption I've ever seen, with a tiny shower head. The sink took ages to draw up hot water as well. These days if you're competing with budget hotels in the same price bracket, you need to put in decent bathroom facilities. Also, the vertical blinds were ok in the winter due to the late sunrise, but in summer they'd let in a serious amount of light at dawn - if you tend to be woken by sunlight then it would be a problem. Curtains or good blackout blinds are needed instead.

Other than that, it was fine. Great breakfast, welcoming staff. I'd recommend the place if you need to be in the area, but next time I will be looking to book a hotel in central Manchester as it's more convenient. Generally I'm not a fan of B&Bs and prefer the standards and flexibility offered by hotels, so it's only fair to disclose this fact in order to balance this review.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewjunkies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

stayed in room 7.comfy sprung mattress.Zandra Rhodes bedding & a real duvet.We opened the door to find a small landing with on-suite straight ahead,Bedroom to the right,Full length mirror on the wall.(very good for checking your party clothes.There is also a tea tray in the cupboard ,wardrobe,plus TV.Breakfast is substantial,with an 8 cup cafetiere just for us.(needed following party previous night)Good bright lighting & 4 mirrors,so no jostling to look into them.Will stay here again.Only small downside,as it's on the top floor ,hot tap takes a while to draw up the hot water from the boiler.But shower is an electris ,so no problem there...highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plmusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretford
2.0 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - TRAFFORDCITY
1.8 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
1.5 mi away
The Lennox Lea Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Sale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistlewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistlewood

Property: The Thistlewood
Address: 203 Urmston Lane, Stretford, Trafford M32 9EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Stretford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stretford
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistlewood 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thistlewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistlewood Stretford, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing