We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming break”

Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mendham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Fantastic country pub and hotel. Room very comfortable and clean and nice and quiet. Huge king size bed which was very comfortable. Lovely traditional country pub with lovely staff and a manager that couldn't of been more attentive. I stayed just the one night after visiting friends earlier in the day nearby. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant in the evening which was of superb quality and plenty of it too. Lovely digital shower in the ensuite room I had which was lovely and powerful. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Excellent weekend away. Thanks to all

Room Tip: i had room 4 which i would thoroughly recommend
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Five of us stayed here in three rooms overnight while attending a wedding nearby. Rooms were clean, bright and comfortable and in keeping with this traditional country inn. The staff were very obliging and friendly, making for a very relaxed stay. Breakfast was very good with a plentiful supply of strong real coffee and toast and marmalade to accompany the cooked breakfast.
Value for money 10/10.

Room Tip: Room 1 was quiet with and excellent shower and fully opening windows
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wherry_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed two nights on a Groupon deal. The room was comfortable, very clean and quiet - not too sure about the black sheets and red satin embroidered cover but thats just personal taste. Could do with a couple of extra lamps as the room was quite dark and curtain nets up at the window and over the glass panelled bathroom door.Plenty of coffee and tea on the refreshment tray . Decent digital roomy shower and fresh towels on our second day.
The cooked breakfasts were wonderful and we ate in the restaurant both nights - fully recommend the roast dinner (pork) which was an absolute bargain for the amount you received, the steak and ale pie (huge!), the steak which was perfectly cooked as were the fresh cabbage and carrots. No room for desserts - I did think about asking if I could have the home baked lemon curd cheesecake for breakfast!!!! Delightful young waitresses and a friendly manager .
An absolute bargain break which we both thoroughly enjoyed. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed one night, attending a wedding nearby. We had a lovely lunch before we left for the wedding and Mark and staff could not have been more attentive. The room was comfortable and not too hot or noisy considering it was over the pub. We enjoyed a restorative breakfast with endless, very good, much needed, coffee. Thank you Mark; for what was supposed to be just somewhere to sleep we felt like we'd had a lovely country weekend away.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kitty1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We came across this village pub while out walking on a hot summer's day. They very kindly served us with a bowl of ice cream with our drinks and supplied a fresh bowl of water for our dog. We liked it so much we went back for dinner that night! Nothing was too much trouble for Mark the manager and we both really enjoyed our well-deserved roast dinner. Being stuck out in the sticks the pub was mostly full of locals but it also has accommodation which my husband would have no problem using next time he's in Suffolk on business. After dinner we relaxed in the armchairs and watched a bit of the Olympic closing ceremony on the TV which was on in a quiet corner of the pub. Would recommend this pub. Thanks Mark.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tigger2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed one night as we had a local wedding to attend, we stayed courtesy of Groupon and have to say that the Sir Alfred Munnings fitted the bill for us. Attentive staff, a good lunch before the off to the wedding, a very nice breakfast the next morning. The room was clean and roomy enough with a nice digital shower.
Mark, the manager was extremely helpful, even sourcing wedding confetti for us whilst we had lunch, I can only speak for us as a group of friends and we reallyn enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Useful for trips to Mendham, Harleston and Alburgh
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just returned from a one night stay courtesy of Groupon. Mark, the manager was extremely helpful and friendly, as were all the staff we met. The pub was very cozy and the evening meal was very tasty. The full English breakfast was the best we have had for a while. The room was very clean and recently refurbished and was very quiet even though above the pub. Would definitely recommend. Just wish we had booked at least another night. Had a lovely walk around surrounding village which was very pretty, and when we asked Mark why it was called the Sir Alfred Munnings we had a very informative account of its origins. Book today you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendham
1.6 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
97 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
323 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
806 reviews
25.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel

Address: The Street, Mendham IP20 0NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mendham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mendham
Price Range: £63 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel Mendham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing