We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mendham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we have just come back after a 2 night stay..hotel was all we needed and clean too..the manager and staff couldnt have been more helpful and made our stay a welcome one..we would def recommend a stay here..we ate in the restaurant on the 1st evening and the food was amazing infact the best we have ever had while away we ate the 2nd night and didnt think it could get any better but it did...the chef is an outstanding one with nothing to much trouble..and breakfast very enjoyable.the young lady and young man who worked on sat night were so helpful and polite aswell and very chatty..great value for money...would score this hotel 9-10 nothing is ever perfect...we will def go back again really worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlton_warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Really enjoyed my two nights here. Nothing was too much trouble for Mark and his friendly team; great accommodation, lovely atmosphere, excellent breakfast and extremely well-kept beer.

I had to check in very late, with no clear idea of what time that would be; again, Mark just takes all that in his stride and rustled up a mean sandwich as well.

Thank-you; I hope to be in the area again, and you'll be the first place I look to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR_Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed one night in the Munnings, having known it from my youth in the 1980s but not been there since! Mark is a great, solicitous and helpful host. The room was comfortable and clean and excellent value for money. The location is wonderful - if you like peace and quiet! what a pretty place. My friend and i dined on delicious Mendham beef in the restaurant and relaxed in the cosy bar area with drinks and coffee. I shall be back - I encourage anyone to visit this proper olde worlde hostelry with excellent food and amenities. Oh and breakfast! yum yum!

Room Tip: it's a really old building and if you are tall you'll need to duck! understand the limitatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbiehelencarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Nothing better after a 5 mile walk to be greeted by friendly staff, good beer and very good food.
The pub fare was better than the usual standard and extremely good value.
The service was pleasant coping efficiently with our party of 16 thirsty and hungry walkers.
Certainly a place to aim for if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a Monday lunch party with six people in this pub/Hotel and were suitably impressed. There are not a lot of pubs open on a Monday for a start and so this may not have been our first choice, but we were happy after arriving and being seated. There were quite a few people eating here and the restaurant was warm and welcoming with lots of prints by Alfred Munnings the artist on the walls - which are very pleasant to look at. The food is unbelievably good value for money and I found myself having a starter too which is unusual for me a lunchtime. Their Chicken Liver Pate was excellent and definitely home made served with sliced french bread...the trouble was I was then quite full when the Fish and Chips arrived. This was nicely cooked and presented, could have been a little less greasy if that is possible with Fish and Chips but perfectly nice. They have a good selection of beer etc. Cafe Latte at the end was good - no one had pudding as we were all extremely satisfied. Value for money gives this restaurant 10 out of 10 no question!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank izzyhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We found the hotel by chance and spent two delightful evenings staying and enjoying supper. The hotel places emphasis on its past history as an old/pub shop and our room was extremely comfortable and well furnished with old beams and appropriate furniture. The meals were excellent - a pub meal one night which surpassed any other we have had( a huge hamburger with real beef inside, thick and juicy and a proper home made lasagne ) and an excellent restaurant meal the next - with a fantastic, tasty and nourishing pork dish, and a beautifully cooked chicken. Puddings were very special - if you had space for them! Mark sources locally and the meat and veg were fresh.
Fabulous catering, lovely quiet hotel and charming assistance. Medham itself is quaint and worth visiting. Well done Mark and co - we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The room seemed well sound proofed and I expect they all are. A back room probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My family enjoyed an excellent Christmas Day Dinner at this hotel, the food was delicious, the staff friendly and efficient and the atmosphere relaxed and delightful. It made for a really pleasant Christmas Day experience which lasted all afternoon. Little touches like the individual boxes of chocolates for each customer made it more special. Will definitely hoping to book again for next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendham
1.6 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
97 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
25.0 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
324 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
480 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#4 of 6 in Harleston
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel

Address: The Street, Mendham IP20 0NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mendham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mendham
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Alfred Munnings Hotel Mendham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing