We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterfalls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfalls Lodge
Dickson, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were at the Waterfalls Lodge for 5 night and 4 days August 2014. The accomodations were very good. We stayed in Cabin 18. It was like new. The view of the lake was wonderful. The cabin was a little short on cooking pots and pans. Not sure you will care when you eat at the restaurant at the lodge. The food was great and you got plenty of it. Rob and Kathy were wonderful hosts and tried to make sure you had everything you needed. We went on the remote ATV trip and had a great time. Jerome was a very good guide and put us on alot of fish. The lakes are deep and the scenery is awesome. We will return to this lodge in the future.

Room Tip: All cabins are clean. Some are newer than others. Really depends on what the person is needing, sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfields1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a well maintained lodge with excellent accommodations and very friendly owners and staff.The cabins although not new were exceptionally clean and well maintained.Nice beach for swimming with kayaks and water bikes provided at no cost. They even provide a free shore lunch one day. The only downfalls were that you had to work to catch fish. We were able to catch some decent smallmouth and a couple 24-28" pike but only caught 1 walleye. On the weekends there also seemed to be a lot of boat traffic. There are @100 houses on the 4 lakes. Overall excellent place to take family on vacation but there may be better places to go if looking for an outback Canada fishing trip. Did not eat at the lodge but other people said it was great.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank daleho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I traveled with Michael D and read his review. I concur wholeheartedly!!! I have taken many fishing trips over the years, and my experience at Waterfalls Lodge was by far the best. My past trips were always enjoyable. So, why was Waterfalls the best? Upon reflection, I realized that the lodge was neat and well maintained, the scenery was beautiful, the food was tremendous, the fishing was fun and the catching was plentiful, the shore lunch was an experience to put on the bucket list and the remote lake ATV ride with Jerome was like spending time with family. But, despite all those things, what made the trip the best I have taken was that Rob and Kathy and the entire staff at Waterfalls Lodge communicated in every way they could that they actually cared about me! Upon leaving, I actually missed them. And, that, in my book, is the definition of a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Review the website for room locations and pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My friend and I had not been on a Canadian Fishing trip in 19 years, so we were looking forward to it. Waterfalls Lodge did not disappoint. The hospitality and service are really something to experience. Rob and Kathy are wonderful, sincerely friendly people and it shows. The rest of the staff are the same way. Rob, Kathy and all the staff cared that you were enjoying yourself. The place is quality defined! It is easy to get to. The grounds are neat. We were in cabin 3 and it was very comfortable. The view was picturesque. The food is truly incredible and all home-cooked. The boats performed flawlessly and are comfortable; perfect for fishing/exploring with swivel seats, nets, paddles, safety gear, running lights etc. We did not rent a trolling motor and it was not necessary as the engine could handle the low speeds necessary for that. Fishing was a little slow in the main lakes but it improved later in the week. The lakes themselves are beautiful. There are several islands where you can stop and have lunch. On Wednesdays, Rob and Kathy host a shore lunch on one of the islands and that is a great treat. It's a great way to relax and meet new friends. There is little boat traffic on the lake. There are no other lodges but there are private cabins and homes. We went with the All Inclusive Trophy package which included, in our case, two trips to Horseshoe Lake. The fishing was so good, we added an extra trip out. Our guide, Jerome, was great. He is a very friendly guy and we got along with him well. It was like fishing with an old friend. The trip out to the lakes was almost as much fun as the fishing itself. If you have an ATV, or like to ride them (they are provided), you will enjoy this part of the trip. Rob was talking about expanding on the number of remote lakes to fish. I REALLY hope he does that as it enhanced the entire trip experience. In the future, I'd like to try some of the other remote lakes we discussed or the Spanish River. I highly recommend this lodge and will plan another trip back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went to Waterfalls Lodge for a fishing vacation and took the "Deluxe" cabin even though we were only 2 people. We did this because I need the air conditioning & wanted satellite TV. It was worth every cent..... well furnished kitchen, comfortable beds, huge deck overlooking one the lakes and the A/C kept us delightfully cool in the heat of the first few days we spent there.
We were on the dining plan. Don't expect haute cuisine but the charming dining hall, friendly staff & a perpetually ebullient owner (Kathy) made each meal a delight. Portions tended to be huge and meals are best described as "hearty." My wife is something of a picky eater but the staff cheerfully accommodated all her requests for alternate entrees.
The amount of work Rob & Kathy put into keeping the grounds in beautiful condition is self-evident.
For fisherman, the 20hp boats are adequate for navigating the 4 lakes in the main chain. It took us 30-40 min. to get to the farthest end of the farthest lake. Each boat has a fish finder & 2 swivel casting chairs although I saw a mount where a 3rd chair might also go. Each boat could probably accommodate up to 4 people with fishing gear (and more if you were just boating around). The lakes are beautiful I've never seen so many beaver lodges in my life & I've been fishing in Canada for about 55 years. In one spot alone, we counted 7.
The only downside was that the fish weren't biting very well during the week we were there. We probably should have availed ourselves of a guide to go to even more remote lakes but for various reasons we did not do that. We caught a fair number of northern pike & some smallmouth bass but nothing impressive. Kids would have had a blast here as rock bass & little smallmouth were certainly plentiful.
I shouldn't neglect a mention of Rob who (among a thousand other duties) oversees the staff that keeps the boats in perfect condition and who responds to requests for almost anything with a quiet, smiling affirmative response. It may be the nicest fisjing/wilderness lodge we've ever patronized.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epollak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for the second year at Waterfalls Lodge what a week. Where to start first the new cabin we stayed in was beautiful cabin 19 what a place great view of the lake a two bedroom with king beds full kitchen living room with satellite tv HUGH deck with a gazebo which was great to sit out in because Canada has killer mosquitoes up there!
The fishing was so much fun big fish great action even in the rain. The boats are fully equipped and clean. It was a very easy drive from the states and easy to find they have good signs along the way.
Now for the staff you could not ask for better service from them from the girls in the store to the fun bartender and all the guys were very helpful if we needed anything. Rob and Kathy the owners make you feel like family. We just had a all round great week.

Room Tip: If you get a chance stay in Cabin 19 and as I understand 17 & 18 are just a great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisco1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Imagine having your own family cottage where you can go with the whole family (grandkids included), and have a great getaway. It is so clean- complete with comfy beds and fresh smelling linens, well maintained, the grass is cut, the boats are in excellent order, the gas tanks are full and someone is at your beck and call to fill any of your needs (that's you Rob!!).
So nice not to have to do a thing regarding maintenance. If that sounds good to you, then this is the place for you to spend a long weekend, if not a week.
Rob is very prompt with any requests ( wood for the amazing sauna, fixing any boating issues or just to provide advice)
We returned for a second time this year and loved it.
We were in cabin # 1 and for 6 of us, it was roomy and spacious but it also sleeps 8 comfortably.
There was a large, open living room with leather sofas and an outdoor deck with beautiful view, new table and chairs and a big barbeque.
The kitchen is well stocked with all cooking utensils and supplies. The nice thing is, if you bring extra (coffee filters, detergent etc...just leave it for the next people who will appreciate it).
The bathroom had just been redone in lovely smelling pine paneling and a beautiful shower.
The beach is fun, with all kinds of toys - trampoline, water bikes, canoe and kayaks that are suitable for kids of all ages.
There is WiFi, although spotty so you need to go to areas where it is stronger. There is satellite TV in the restaurant if you really NEED to watch something.
We did the ATV day trip and fishing was great as were shore lunches.
We feel very much at home here and it is a nice retreat from busy city life.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needles4ewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spanish
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
10.6 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
24.7 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Dunlop Lake Lodge
Dunlop Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Elliot Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Waterfalls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfalls Lodge

Property: Waterfalls Lodge
Address: 432 Waterfalls Road, Spanish, Ontario P0P 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Spanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Spanish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfalls Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic Food + superb accommodations + spectacular scenery + super hospitality + fabulous fishing = A GREAT VACATION. Trophy Smallmouth Bass. Selected as one of North America’s top 12 Walleye hotspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfalls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing