We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor facilities”
Review of The Palmyrah House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palmyrah House
Ranked #1 of 14 Mannar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor facilities”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Palmyrah house in Dec 2013. Sold as a bird watching paradise but there was no guide and no maps or direction! It is the only location in Sri Lanka to see flamingos but these had left the lagoon 2 weeks before we booked (in Colombo) but we were not told. Nor were we told that another highlight, a boat trip to Adam's bridge had been cancelled some weeks before we left. The Colombo Agent (Little Adventures) had never visited this hotel.
No alcohol served and beer could be bought 5km away. Rooms not cleaned unless requested but we were not told! Room well furnished but no windows.
Food was good

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDS243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you very much for your reviews & comments are carefully noted.
Wish to once again explain the reason for your comments.

* Our Guest House Manager as a practice, had brief you with regard to all possible bird watching areas in Mannar and also had offered you a person working in the hotel to accompany you but you had not responded positively.

* We are surprised to hear your comments of Flamingos as Flamingos are even now could be seeing in Mannar. But as our Guest House Manager explained to you, they changed their places on and off from saltons to causeway or to the Pooneryn road lagoons.

* Regarding the boat trip we have duly informed the Travel Agent.

* You may please refer our website carefully for our comments regarding alcohol.

* Rooms are cleaned daily basis unless it is told not to clean. But in your case, DO NOT DISTURB board was hung since was the confusion. Regret for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    26
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
25
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Conveniently located next to the 97km sign on the main road, we were easily able to locate The Palymarah House after our lengthy drive from Colombo.

Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Poncho, the hotel's pet Donkey, and a glass of fresh tropical fruit juice.

The rooms were well equipped; from toiletries to torches, we had everything we needed. Contrary to other opinions, I felt that the absence of a TV was a refreshing touch, reflecting the fact that there is more to visiting such a beautiful location than being cooped up watching the news.

We had access to great facilities including the pool, bikes and games room. Within a walkable distance was also the beach which was unbelievable come sunrise and sunset.

The manager and staff were extremely friendly and hospitable. We felt so spoilt as they waited on us hand and foot.

Now to the most important part; THE FOOD.
I would have paid this amount just for the meals. The Palymarah House provides 3 full meals each day, catering to any dietary requirements. The food is served family style and is not just your average bread and butter.
The produce could not have been fresher, the menu could not have been more unique and my taste buds could not have been more satisfied.
Seafood, BBQ nights, traditional Sri Lankan food and gourmet desserts; you name it and their skilled chef has probably taken it and transformed it into a dish like no other.

Thank you to all at The Palymarah House for a great stay. We love this place and can't wait to see what's in store for our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita_Loganathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for staying at the Palmyrah House and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Palmyrah House is such a beautiful place. The hospitality extended was beyond words. Food was fantastic, a five star quality. The cook made all the necessary vegetarian dishes that was really delicious. The manager, Charith, was very informative about Mannar. Sadly, we only stayed for one night but this was enough to make a lasting impression on us. There are bicycles for us to use at the Hotel. Pancho, the hotel Donkey, gave us a good welcome. For those who loves birds, there is a bird watching path next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the upper floor. The view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baskaranoyyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmyrah House and taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for appreciating our service and food.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I went to the booking office at Colombo to book the hotel . They said there will be boat service operated by a third party to see the Adams bridge, but when we visited the hotel we came to know that the service had been suspended due to some reason. This shows the lack of communication between the Colombo office and the site. Therefore it is advised to contact the hotel and get the real information before booking to avoid disappointment.

The hotel gate should be at least the painted with the hotel logo to find the location with ease.

The hotel is well maintained and consists three rooms and one dining table in the upper floor and two rooms and two dining tables in the ground floor. There in no TV in the room to see the news at least. When you see the cost involvement for a TV it is not a difficult task for a expensive hotel like this to have a have TV in the room rather than a common TV room.

The quality of food is good. The manager and staff did their part very well.

Room Tip: Select a upper floor room to have a nice view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for staying at the Palmyrah House and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Boat ride to the Adam's bridge is not organizing by Palmyrah House. It is operated by Sri Lankan Navy and they are providing this service only when the sea is safe for their customers.

We do not have TV in room because Palmyrah House is always trying to maintain a peaceful environment for the guest and we feel that having a TV in the room would disturb guest who are occupying the other rooms. Therefore we have provided a Large Screen TV in the Games Pavilion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

its such an amazing place that ticks all my boxes
from the reservation onwards everything was well handled
Thank you Michel at the main office and Charith the Manager of the property
The cooks are amazing. they will fatten you for sure and boy do they dish out a good spread
Clean, neat tidy rooms and with Niroshan the waiter at your beck and call
The staff is superb and very will ensure a comfortable stay
Ensure you pet "Poncho" the resident pet :)

Room Tip: food ; let the cook decide what he should serve you and you'll be amazed. asked directions to 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for staying at the Palmyrah House and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked Palmyrah House after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. I had very high expectations after reading all the glowing accolades. Everything that is said about this place is absolutely true. This is a true oasis in the dessert.

I have just finished the most wonderful dinner and I am writing this review seated in the upstairs lounge listening to the chirping of crickets and the occasional bray of a donkey. I can stay here all night it is so very peaceful.

It was a long journey from Jaffna on road that is still been constructed (A32). After arriving in Mannar we had to drive about another 15 -20mins along the Thalaimannar highway searching for the little white 97km sign post on the right side of the road. The entrance to the hotel is not sign posted but the two flag poles are an indication that it is the right place.

"Pancho" came running to great us at the gate and we immediately fell in love with the friendly donkey. The welcome drink is another story and I can drink a barrel of it and still want more. The food and the service is excellent. I wish I could take the chef with me to Australia to cook for me every day. My family thoroughly enjoyed the crabs and I was amazed by the variety of food that was served.

The rooms are perfect and looks beautiful. There are power shortages in the island from time to time but at Palmyrah they have their own generators. The TV room, the pool table, the floating table in the middle of the pond and the variety of trees kept us entertained for hours. We even found a Biobab tree in the garden.

Bird life is plentiful in the surrounding area. We photographed many birds including a number of eagles. I am told the best season to bird watch is around December. It has been raining here in the night so the weather is pleasant and not too hot.

I am off to bed now but this a place that one must stay at least for a couple of nights if visiting manner.

Room Tip: Rooms up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmyrah House and taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for appreciating our service and food.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

PALMYRA HOUSE – MANNAR

A boutique hotel well worth a stay. It is conveniently located between Thalai - Mannar and Mannar. We were paying homage to the Shrine of Our Lady of Madu and selected Palmyra House to stay over night.

The General Manager Mr.Mendis was very accommodating and went out of his way to assist us. All the staff at the hotel were a pleasure to see. They were all friendly and looked after us extremely well.

The hotel is well designed with all the amenities and so were the recreation areas. We felt most comfortable.

The chef deserves a lot of credit for turning out authentic “Jaffna” food that was delicious, wholesome, nourishing and as much as we wanted to consume.

We saw evidence of no less than 56 migrating birds visiting the area during the months of October to March. This would be a paradise for the keen bird watchers, those who love to taste genuine, authentic “Jaffna” style food, peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Two luxury doubles and two luxury triples. Well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANKSILVAGMGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Hope to see you at Palmyrah House again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannar hotels
1.7 mi away
Shell Coast Resort
Shell Coast Resort
#6 of 14 in Mannar
45 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mannar Guest House
Mannar Guest House
#7 of 14 in Mannar
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Juli Reception
Hotel Juli Reception
#2 of 4 in Mannar
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Ahash
Hotel Ahash
#9 of 14 in Mannar
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agape
Hotel Agape
#3 of 14 in Mannar
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Rest
#5 of 14 in Mannar
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmyrah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmyrah House

Property: The Palmyrah House
Address: Thalaimannar Road | Karisal, Mannar 41000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Mannar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mannar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palmyrah House is the first of its kind on the island and offers travellers five very comfortable en suite and air conditioned guestrooms. The style is simple and welcoming and uses local resources and artisans where possible. Guests are encouraged to meet and join each other on the verandahs for meals where local specialties are the pride of the house. A separate Games pavilion is the perfect place for an evening game of pool, carom and family board games or to catch up with the latest sports results or DVD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Palmyrah House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing