We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”
Review of The Palmyrah House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palmyrah House
Ranked #1 of 14 Mannar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As said before it's a great place in the middle of nowhere. We and our kids had a lovely time, bit of an adventure to take our 4x4 to the first island of Adam,s bridge thanx to the manager who was our guide! And the food is superb.. But .. Choose the "local" option. Enjoy the scenery!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank 803henks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmyrah House and taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcome you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at the Palmyrah House during the first week of July 2014, and found it to be a very pleasant and charming place to stay. The staff is friendly and the manager Charith and his staff really goes out of their way to make sure their guests are well taken care of. They have several modern and stylishly decorated air-conditioners rooms with all of them having, hot water showers and access to hi-speed internet. Eating at the Palmyrah House is a huge treat to the pallet with local cuisines, especially seafood ( freshly caught) regularly on offer and stunningly presented . They have a massive aesthetically pleasing designed swimming pool that is just a delight to use during the hot summer afternoons.

The Palmyrah House is located on Mannar Island with plenty of beautiful beaches and small fishing villages not too far away. I would defiantly recommend this place to any traveller wanting to visit Mannar Island.
William

Room Tip: The top rooms have a better view of the pool and is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Boldtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was our first trip to Mannar and wow it was amazing! Decision to stay at ‘The Palmyrah House’ instantly made this trip indeed an awesome one.

‘The Palmyrah House’ is, one of the most tranquil and calming private Eco properties which is beautifully laid out. It is luxurious, but in a simplistic, harmonious way that manages to balance nature with guest comforts. Stunning swimming pool! Fabulous local food! Every meal was plentiful and delicious. What a crab feed we got!

We loved our cycling excursions in the area, apart from driving around exploring this amazing little island in the northern district.

Thank you ‘Charith’ (The manager, who's on top of everything) for your excellent service and all your wonderful staff, especially Vimal, for his attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble for any of you.

We truly had an amazing stay, and highly recommend Palmyrah House. Expect to be back real soon!

Keep up your awesome attitude towards excellent service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepthi_Peiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmyrah House and taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Hope to see you again in Palmyrah House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was surprised to find this beautiful place in middle of Mannar. Rooms were spacious and nicely designed. Food was awesome and had lots of variety. Surrounding was breathtaking. We had a relaxing holiday here since we were the only people in here. We had a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinithi_Peiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmyrah House and taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to welcome you again !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were unable to stay at this very beautifully laid out boutique hotel as it was fully booked but did drop by in the evening to see the place. It was absolutely fabulous. We met the Manager Charith Mendis who was extremely friendly & well suited for the job. He welcomed us with a drink & had a friendly chat with us. Of course we met "Poncho" the resident donkey as well before we left promising to be back for lunch. The surroundings the next day was even more breathtaking. The landscape was stunning & it was soooo very tranquil. Lunch was crab curry which was out of this world & wasn't that something to rave about. Highly recommend the house but make sure you book early to avoid disappointment!! No doubt we will return - this time to spend a few days!!! Do continue to keep up the very high standard & we wish you everything of the best!!!!

Room Tip: Didn't spend a night hence can't comment. However, it should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.

Hope to see you again in Palmyrah House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The moment we arrived the experience was incredible. We were highly impressed by the peaceful and natural setting enhanced by beautiful landscape. Food was sumptuous. Our bedroom and bathroom was specious and well appointed. Whole experience was complemented by excellent service. We would highly recommend to everyone who seeks traditional Sri Lankan food and hospitality. Splendid experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at this beautiful house for 2 nights and really enjoyed the experience. The house and gardens with pool are stunning. Our room and bathroom were beautiful and well laid out. Our room led onto the dining area at ground floor level where we enjoyed fabulous Sri Lankan food. The team at the house were very attentive and helpful. We would loved to have stayed longer and will definitely return.
Fabulous!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parky108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyrah_House, Guest Relations Manager at The Palmyrah House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Palmyrah House and taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Hope to see you again in Palmyrah House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mannar
0 mi away
Blue Whale Hotel
Blue Whale Hotel
#6 of 9 in Jaffna
19 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shell Coast Resort
Shell Coast Resort
#9 of 14 in Mannar
47 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Agape
Hotel Agape
#2 of 14 in Mannar
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mannar Guest House
Mannar Guest House
#6 of 14 in Mannar
37 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Juli Reception
Hotel Juli Reception
#2 of 4 in Mannar
10 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Inn Mannar
#3 of 4 in Mannar
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palmyrah House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmyrah House

Address: Thalaimannar Road | Karisal, Mannar 41000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Northern Province > Mannar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mannar
Price Range: £97 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palmyrah House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palmyrah House is the first of its kind on the island and offers travellers five very comfortable en suite and air conditioned guestrooms. The style is simple and welcoming and uses local resources and artisans where possible. Guests are encouraged to meet and join each other on the verandahs for meals where local specialties are the pride of the house. A separate Games pavilion is the perfect place for an evening game of pool, carom and family board games or to catch up with the latest sports results or DVD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Palmyrah House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing